Research Guides: Survey of American Film (Prof. Valasek)

Bookmark and Share
Databases
American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Reference database for primary sources, informational articles, timelines, images and more.

American Indian History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Reference database for primary sources, informational articles, timelines, images and more.

American Women's History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Reference database for primary sources, informational articles, timelines, images and more.

Communication & Mass Media Restricted Resource Some full text available
Database for articles related to film studies.

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Multidisciplinary database for newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles related to a wide variety of topics.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Database for scholarly journal articles in many subject areas, including history and cultural studies.
 
RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Reference & Circulating Book Sources
Reference Books:
  • Must be used in the library or photocopied
  • Provide brief snippets of factual information
  • Great for explanations of historical events, timelines, definitions, encyclopedic information
  • Search Catalog tab on library hompage or Book Search box below for a very general keyword (e.g. Native Americans; Mafia; Gangsters)

Circulating Books:
  • Take them home and curl up in bed with them
  • More detailed analysis
  • You probably don't need to read the whole book; check the Table of Contents or Index for relevant chapters and sections
  • Find books related to film studies or related to the aspect of American culture you are analyzing (e.g. Native Americans on Film or This Land Was Theirs: A Study of Native North Americans)
  • Search Catalog tab on library hompage or Book Search box below for specific keywords (e.g. "native americans and film;" "mafia and New York City")
Book Search
Citation Examples
MLA Format

DVD:
The Godfather . Dir. Francis Ford Coppola. Perf. Marlon Brando and Al Pacino. 1972. Paramount, 2001. DVD.

In-text Citation:
When the American justice system fails his family, Bonasera asks for Don Corleone’s help (The Godfather).



Scholarly Article from database – pages indicated:

Larson, Thomas. "In Spite of Everything: The Definitive Indefinite Anne Frank." The Antioch Review 58.1 (2000): 40-54. OmniFullTextMega . Web. 9 December 2000.

In-text Citation:
"Anne’s final power comes in realizing not her goodness but her regret" (Larson 51-52).



On-line encyclopedia:

Reill, Peter Hanns, and Ellen Judy Wilson. "Absolutism." Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment , rev. ed. New York: Facts On File, Inc., 2004. Modern World History Online . Web. 7 May 2009.

In-Text Citation:
The absolutist form of government that was popular in the 17th Century was gradually replaced by limited monarchies (Reill and Wilson).



Specialized Reference Source:

"Karma." The International Dictionary of Religion . Ed. Richard Kennedy. New York : Crossroad, 1984. Print.

In-text Citation:
According to the idea of "Karma," church volunteers will be rewarded later in their lives.



Book:

Boyer, Ernest L. College: The Undergraduate Experience in America . New York: Harper & Row, 1987. Print.

In-text citation:
Students' beliefs about college differ from those of their parents (Boyer 12).




Chapter in an anthology (each chapter has a different author):
Naylor, Gloria. "The Two." Literature for Composition . 6th ed. Ed. Sylvan Barnet, William Burto, William E. Cain and Marcia Stubbes. New York: Longman, 2003. 740-745. Print.

In-Text citation:
"It was becoming a drain to be continually called upon for this nurturing and support that she just didn’t understand" (Naylor 743).






APA Format

 

Motion Picture:
Harris, M.J. (Director) & Dench, J. (Performer). (2000). Into the arms of strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport [Motion picture]. Australia: Warner Brothers.

In-text Citation:
Approximately 10,000 children traveled to England via the Kindertransport to escape the Holocaust (Harris & Dench, 2000).


Scholarly Article:

Browne-Krimsley, V. (2004). Lessons learned: Providing culturally competent care in a nurse-managed center. ABNF Journal, 15(4), 71-74. Retrieved from http://galenet.galegroup.com.

In-text Citation:
In this case study, nursing students were given the opportunity to work within the cultural and economic framework of a particular community (Browne-Krimsley, 2004).




Book:

Watson, J. D. (1968). The double helix. New York: Atheneum.

In-text Citation:
Watson (1968) recalls that "much more difficulty came from the necessity to fabricate representations of the inorganic icons" (p. 85).




Book with Multiple Authors:
Campbell, C.T. & Campbell T.M. (2006). The China study. Dallas, TX: Benbella.

In-text Citation:
Campbell & Campbell (2006) concluded that "one of the strongest predictors of Western diseases was blood cholesterol" (p. 77).


Article or chapter in a book (each chapter has a different author)
Catalano, R., & Pickett, K. E. (2000). Taxonomy of research concerned with place and health. In G. L. Albrecht, R. Fitzpatrick & S. C. Scrimshaw (Eds.), The handbook of social studies in health and medicine (pp. 64-83). London: Sage Publications.

In-text Citation:
The economics of a community is a strong determinant of the overall health of its population (Catalano & Pickett, 2000).

 

 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
mdempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412
Office Hours / More Info

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Sampling of Book Sources - Native Americans