Research Guides: Academy for Health & Medical Sciences (Tokarsky-Unda)

Bookmark and Share
Beginning research with Reference Databases
These databases will help you find explanatory information and historical context for a topic. It is important to explore these databases at the beginning of your research to be sure you fully understand your topic. 

Best Choice for History:
Facts on File Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History, Education, Geography, Science, Medicine, Literature
  • Collection of several databases for the subjects above
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Includes: African-American History Online; American History Online; American Indian History Online; Ancient and Medieval History Online; Modern World History Online; Bloom's Literature; Health Reference Center; World Geography & Culture Online; Curriculum Resource Center; Science Online; and Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
  • Facts on File search interface


Good for all topics:
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text


Health:
Health and Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Medicine
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Magazines, Pamphlets, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Websites  
  • Mostly full-text; some citations to journal articles
  • Publications include Gale medical encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary, Medical Health Information Directory, and many more


Science
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Science
  • Encyclopedias, Biographies, Diagrams, Dictionary, Experiments, Multimedia
  • Publications include Biomes of the Earth, Chronology of Science, Essential Chemistry, Frontiers in Space, Science and Society, and many more


Information and statistics on countries
World Data Analyst Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Economics, Geography, History
  • Encyclopedia, Graphs, Statistics
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Current and historical information available for most countries
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Use these databases to find scholarly articles from peer reviewed journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface


Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files