Research Guides: Women & Gender

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Women's History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years 
  • Facts on File Interface

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Literature
  • Literary Criticism, Scholarly Journals, Biographies, Magazines, Encyclopedias, Book Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and many more

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 E49 2007
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of British Women's Writing, 1900-1950
Print Location: PR111.E55 2006
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers
Print Location: PN481.E5 1991
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Print Location: HV6017.E524 2002
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
Print Location: HV6626.E534 2007
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Family Life
Print Location: HQ534.E53 1999
Reference Collection
3 Volumes
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
Print Location: PN471.S58 2006
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Marriage & the Family
Print Location: HQ9.E52
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities
Print Location: HV9471.E427 2005
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Print Location: HV6046 .E56 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Print Location: HQ1410.C85 2000
Reference Collection
Feminist Writers
Print Location: Z5304 .A8 F46 1996
Reference Collection
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage
Print Location: JF851.H28 2000
Reference Collection
Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Print Location: GN480.B76 1994
Reference Collection
Modern American Women Writers
Print Location: PS151 .M54

Parenthood in America : An Encyclopedia
Print Location: HQ755.8.P3783 2001
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues
Print Location: HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998
Reference Collection
Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism
Print Location: HQ1115.W644 2006
Reference Collection
Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Print Location: HQ1115.W645 1999
Reference Collection
3 volumes
Writing African American Women : an Encyclopedia of Literature by and About Women of Color
Print Location: PS153.N5 W756 2006
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Feminism
Print Location: HQ1115.B65
Reference Collection
Wimmin, Wimps & Wallflowers: an Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Gender and Sexual Orientation Bias in the United States
Print Location: HQ76.45.U5 H47 2001
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond : Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1950
Print Location: PS153.N5R65 1990
Reference Collection
Battleground : Women, Gender, and Sexuality
Print Location: HQ1115.B38 2008
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature
Print Location: PN471 .B57 1992
Reference Collection
Columbia Guide to American Women in the Nineteenth Century
Print Location: HQ1418.C58 2000
Reference Collection
Feminist Companion to Literature in English : Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
Print Location: PR111.F45 1990
Reference Collection
History of Women in the West
Print Location: HQ1121.S79513 1992
Reference Collection
3 volumes
Past and Promise : Lives of New Jersey Women
Print Location: HQ1438.N5 P37 1997
Reference Collection
Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook
Print Location: HV6556 .P78 1999
Reference Collection
Sourcebook on Violence Against Women
Print Location: HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001
Reference Collection
Wilson Chronology of Women's Achievements: a Record of Women's Achievements from Ancient Times to Present
Print Location: HQ1121 .F65 1998
Reference Collection
Women in Early America: Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a New World
Print Location: HQ1416.M395 2004
Reference Collection
Women's Rights in the United States: A Documentary History
Print Location: HQ1236.5.U6 W68
Reference Collection
Women’s Chronology: a Year-by-Year Record from Prehistory to the Present
Print Location: HQ1122.T73
Reference Collection

Websites

Celebration of Women Writers
Source: Upenn Digital Library Project 
Provides easy access to available on-line information, works and resources about and by women writers.
American Women
Source: Library of Congress
A gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States.
Census - Women in the United States
Source: U.S. Census
Provides the latest statistical information about women in the United States.
Early Modern Women Database
Source: University of Maryland
Provides links to web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas (ca. 1500 to ca. 1800).
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Source: Haverford College
An index (not full text) of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Feminism and Women’s Studies
Source: Eserver & Carnegie Mellon University
Links to websites, programs, organizations and articles related to feminism and women’s studies.
Gender Inn
Source: University of Cologne (Germany)
A searchable database providing access to over 8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.
Gender Stats
Source: Worldbank
Provides gender statistics at the country level.
National Council for Research on Women
Source: National Council for Research on Women
A network of more than 100 leading U.S. research, advocacy, and policy centers with a growing global reach. The Council harnesses the resources of its network to ensure fully informed debate, policies, and practices to build a more inclusive and equitable world for women and girls.
National Women’s History Project
Source: National Women's History Project
Founded in 1980, is an educational nonprofit organization. Their mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
New Jersey Women's History Project
Source: Rutgers University Scholarly Communication Center
A resource for students, teachers, and all interested people who want to know more about the history of women in New Jersey.
Other Women's Voices
Source: Dorothy Disse 
Makes translations of women's writing before 1700 available for research.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Source: University of Michigan
This award-winning site from the University of Michigan allows key word searching for tailored results. Offers statistics about women and gender in all aspects of life.
Websites on Women
Source: International Information Centre and Archives for the Women's Movement (Netherlands)
Contains descriptions of and links to websites with information on the position of women and on women's studies, made accessible by subject and category.
Women's Justice Center
Source: Pace Law School
Dedicated to eradicating domestic violence and furthering the legal rights of women, children and the elderly through the skillful and innovative use of the law.
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
Source: Joan Korenman, UMBC
A selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program
WomenWatch
Source: United Nations -- United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality.
Women’s Studies Programs, Departments & Research Centers
Source: Maintained by Joan Korenman, Founding Director of the Center for Women and Information Technology, Professor Emerita of English, and Affiliate Professor Emerita of Women's Studies at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).
List of links to Women’s studies programs across the United States.
WSSLinks Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Source: Association of College & Research Libraries / American Library Association
A portal to online resources for women and gender studies.

Organizations

National Organization for Women
Source: NOW
NOW sponsores a body image campaign. Click on "Love Your Body Day" on the left to view research, articles, ways to get involved, and positive and negative ads that appear in the media.

Primary Sources

Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture Resource contains images
Source: Duke University Libraries
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Statistics

Gender Stats
Source: Worldbank
Provides gender statistics at the country level.

DVD

Generation M: Misogyny in Media and Culture
Print Location: HQ1233.G46 2008 Resource contains video
2008
Killing Us Softly 4: Advertisings Image of Women
Print Location: HF5822.K4784 2010 Restricted Resource Resource contains video
In-library use only.
2010
The Codes of Gender: Identity & Performance in Popular Culture
Print Location: HF5827.85.C63 2009 Restricted Resource Resource contains video
In-library use only.
2009
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
mdempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412
Office Hours / More Info

Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Browse the Collection
  • HQ1-2044 -- The Family. Marriage. Women.
  • HV6001 - 7220.5 -- Criminology
  • PN441-1009.5 -- Literary history
  • PR111-116 -- English literature -- Women authors
  • PS147-152 -- American literature -- Women authors
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files