Research Guides: U.S. Foreign Policy

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • U.S. & International Newspapers, Magazines, State & Federal Cases, Company Reports, Country Information
  • All Full-text
  • Publications include Business World, The Guardian, The Independent, New York Times, Moscow News, Wall Street Journal Abstracts, and many more
  • Coverage from 1980 to present

New York Times - Current Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events, Popular Culture, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Mostly full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Coverage includes articles from 2005 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

World Geography and Culture Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Geography, History, Current Events, Cultural Studies
  • Maps, Statistics, Images, News
  • All full-text

Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Print Location: JA61.B57 1987
Reference Collection
Concise Encyclopedia of Democracy
Print Location: JC423.C667 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Print Location: E183.7.H28 2004
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American Government
Print Location: JK9 .E52 1998
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American History
Print Location: E174.5.E52
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American Political History
Print Location: E183.E48 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Print Location: JK511.E53 1994
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Clinton Presidency
Print Location: E885 .L48 2002
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Cold War
Print Location: D843.A668 1994
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Reagan-Bush Years
Print Location: JK511.L48 1996
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
Print Location: E740.7.E53
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, & military history
Print Location: DS557.7.E53 1998
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
Print Location: E183.7.E53 1997
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: D1051.E873 2001
Reference Collection
Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues 1945-2000
Print Location: KZ4968 .G67 2001
Reference Collection
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (3 volumes)
Print Location: G63.W67 2001
Reference Collection
3 volumes

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs
Print Location: E183.7.F58 1993
Reference Collection
Dictionary of American History
Print Location: E174 .D52 2003
Reference Collection
10 vols.
Penguin Dictionary of International Relations
Print Location: JZ 1161.E93 1998
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Chronological History of United States Foreign Relations, 1776 to January 20, 1981
Print Location: E183.7.B745 1985
Reference Collection
Cold War, 1945-1991
Print Location: D839.5 C65 1992
Reference Collection
Documents of American Diplomacy : from the American Revolution to the Present
Print Location: E183.7.D63 2002
Reference Collection
Facts about the American Wars
Print Location: E181.F28 1998
Reference Collection
Longman Companion to Cold War and Detente, 1941-1991
Print Location: D840.Y68 1993
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Print Location: JA61.O95 2001
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to United States History
Print Location: E174.O94 2001
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to World War II
Print Location: D740.094 1995
Reference Collection
Third World Handbook
Print Location: D883.A76
Reference Collection
U.S. Department of State: a Reference History
Print Location: JZ1480.A4 1999
Reference Collection

Newspapers

New York Times
Print Location: Magazine Lounge
Current news is readily available. Some archives are searchable but may require subscription service. For back issues of The New York Times, use the New York Times Database, available from the databases list on the library homepage.

Websites

Amnesty International
Source: Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.
Center for Security Policy
Source: Center for Security Policy
The Center for Security Policy is a non-profit, non-partisan national security organization that specializes in identifying policies, actions, and resource needs that are vital to American security and then ensures that such issues are the subject of both focused, principled examination and effective action by recognized policy experts, appropriate officials, opinion leaders, and the general public.
Human Rights Watch
Source: Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide. They are dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
International Chamber of Commerce
Source: International Chamber of Commerce
The International Chamber of Commerce was founded in 1919 with an overriding aim that remains unchanged: to serve world business by promoting trade and investment, open markets for goods and services, and the free flow of capital.
International Energy Agency
Source: International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an intergovernmental organization which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
Source: North Atlantic Treaty Organization
The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an alliance of 26 countries from North America and Europe committed to fulfilling the goals of the North Atlantic Treaty signed on 4 April 1949. In accordance with the Treaty, the fundamental role of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of its member countries by political and military means. NATO is playing an increasingly important role in crisis management and peacekeeping.
United Nations Environment Program
Source: United Nations
UNEP is the United Nations system’s designated entity for addressing environmental issues at the global and regional level.
United Nations Security Council
Source: United Nations
This organization functions to maintain international peace and security in accordance with the principles and purposes of the United Nations.
World Security Institute
The World Security Institute is a non-profit organization committed to independent research and journalism on global affairs and security.
World Trade Organization
Source: World Trade Organization
The WTO provides a forum for negotiating agreements aimed at reducing obstacles to international trade and ensuring a level playing field for all, thus contributing to economic growth and development. The WTO also provides a legal and institutional framework for the implementation and monitoring of these agreements, as well as for settling disputes arising from their interpretation and application.

Organizations

Academic Council on the United Nations System
The Academic Council on the United Nations System (ACUNS) is an international institution with a distinguished membership of nearly a thousand scholars, teachers, practitioners and others active in the work and study of the United Nations System and other international organizations
American Political Science Association (APSA)
The American Political Science Association is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 15,000 members in over 80 countries.
Carnegie Council on Ethics and International Affairs
The Council is the world's premier forum for research and education in ethics and international policy. They provide a home for those who explore the ethical dilemmas posed by issues such as deadly conflict, human rights violations, environmental protection, global economic disparities, and the politics of reconciliation.
Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
The Council is a nonpartisan and independent membership organization that promotes understanding of foreign policy and America’s role in the world. The homepage links to primary documents like treaties, UN resolutions, speeches, communiqués, etc. as well as probing interviews with experts; brief “explainers” reported and written by the editorial staff of cfr.org that delve deeply into an issue; and reports from the Council, other institutions, and government agencies. Also has links to news coverage from media sources around the world.
Foreign Policy Association (FPA)
The Foreign Policy Association (FPA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to inspiring the American public to learn more about the world. The site allows exploration by issue or region.
International Studies Association (ISA)
The ISA promotes research and education about international affairs. With well over three thousand members in North America and around the world, ISA is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. They cooperate with 53 international studies organizations in 32 countries, are a member of the International Social Science Council, and have nongovernmental consultative status with the United Nations.
Policy Library
Policy Library is a social, economic and foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events. Policy Library members reach an audience of hundreds of thousands of policy makers, politicians, academics and students.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
The task of the Institute is to conduct research on questions of conflict and cooperation of importance for international peace and security, with the aim of contributing to an understanding of the conditions for peaceful solutions of international conflicts and for a stable peace.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: JK271.B343
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Browse the Collection
  • E183.7-183.9 -- Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations.
  • E183.8 -- Relations with individual countries
  • JA -- Political science (General)
  • JK1-9993 -- United States political institutions and public administration
  • JZ5-6530 -- International relations
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files