Research Guides: Introduction to Social Work

Bookmark and Share
Introduction to Social Work
General Reference
A Dictionary of Social Work & Social Care
Ref. HV12.H37 2013

American Social Leaders & Activists
Ref. HV27.H345 2002

Social Workers Desk Reference
Ref. HV40.S6464 2009 

The Sage Handbook of Social Work
Ref. HV40.S24 2012

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Ref. HF12.E53 2008 v.1 - 4

Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity
Ref. HV95.E58 2014 v. 1-3

 
Careers in Social Work
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Ref.HF5382.5.U5 O23 2011

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online
http://www.bls.gov/ooh/

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
http://www.fofweb.com/Careers/default.asp

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

Guidebook to Human Service Professions
HV10.5 .I4 2009

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services / Careers
Background Information
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 


Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers, Magazines, Multimedia, Pamphlets
  • All full-text


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text


Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedia, Dictionary, Biography,
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, and Britannica Book of the Year

 
Magazines and Journals
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface


Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface


SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface


GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

 
Demographics
These websites offer statistical and demographic information
about a variety of ethnic and social groups:

USA.GOV

USA.GOV -- Culture and Ethnic Groups

U.S. Bureau of the Census

American Factfinder
LGBT Resources
LGBT Resources

World Voices for Equality. LGBT Census
http://www.lgbt2012census.com/

UCLA Law School. Williams Institute. Census and LGBT Demographic Studies
http://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/category/research/census-lgbt-demographics-studies/

PRISM. Population Research in Sexual Minority Health Data Archive
​http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/FENWAY/datasets/

A Survey of LGBT Americans:
  Attitudes, Experiences and Values in Changing Times
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2013/06/13/a-survey-of-lgbt-americans/



 
AIDS/HIV Resources
AIDS/HIV Resources

HIV/AIDS Profile from the CDC
http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/default.html
 
NYC HIV/AIDS Services Administration
http://www.nyc.gov/html/hra/html/services/hasa.shtml
 
aids.gov
http://aids.gov/hiv-aids-basics/hiv-aids-101/statistics/
Hispanic / Latin American Resources
HISPANIC / LATIN AMERICAN RESOURCES

Hispanic or Latino Self Description
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2012/04/04/hispanic-latino-or/
 
Maps and Data about the Hispanic Population
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2012/03/19/maps-and-data-about-the-hispanic-population/
 
Census Data on Hispanic Voters
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2011/04/26/census-data-on-hispanic-voters/
 
Counts and Characteristics of Hispanics in Large Metros
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2012/09/19/counts-and-characteristics-of-hispanics-in-large-metros/
 
Asian-American Resources
ASIAN AMERICAN RESOURCES

The Rise of Asian Americans
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2012/06/19/the-rise-of-asian-americans/
 
Critical Issues Facing Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
 http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop/aapi/data/critical-issues
 
Asian American Federation
http://www.aafny.org/index.asp
 
Asian-American Experience, Issues, and Resources from Ithaca College.
http://www.ithaca.edu/wise/asian_american/
Homelessness Resources
HOMELESS RESOURCES

PBS: Facts and Figures on the Homeless
http://www.pbs.org/now/shows/526/homeless-facts.html
 
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov/homeless/index.html
 
MUSLIM AMERICAN
Muslim Americans: Middle Class and Mostly Mainstream
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2007/05/22/muslim-americans-middle-class-and-mostly-mainstream/
 
Muslims in the United States from the Council on Foreign Relations
http://www.cfr.org/united-states/muslims-united-states/p25927
 
PBS: Portraits of Ordinary Muslims
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/muslims/portraits/us.html
RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
robert.egan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300