Research Guides: Psychology

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

PsycArticles Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Psychology
  • Scholarly Journals
  • All full-text
  • Content from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association)

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Wiley Library Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, E-books, Manuals
  • Some full-text articles; some articles have citation information only

Encyclopedias

Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
Print Location: HM136 .L46
Reference Collection
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Print Location: HM251 .B476
Reference Collection
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Print Location: BF31.E52 2004
Reference Collection
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Print Location: BF31.E52 2010
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Print Location: BF636.E52 2004
Reference Collection 
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions
Print Location: BF531 .E55 1999
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Print Location: RC437.K34 2008
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Print Location: GN502.E63 2006
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders
Print Location: RC552.E18 C37 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties
Print Location: RC535.D63 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and other Psychotic Disorders
Print Location: RC514.N63 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Print Location: LB1027.55.E523 2005
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming
Print Location: BF1078 .E63 1993
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders
Print Location: RC547.Y34 2001
Reference Collection
Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: HQ9 .H846 1994
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Print Location: BF31.A65 2007

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Print Location: BF109.A1 B56 1997
Reference Collection
Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary
Print Location: RC437.H5 2004
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Cognitive Science
Print Location: BF311.V56713 2004
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Psychology
Print Location: BF31.C65 2006
Reference Collection
Psychoanalytic Terms & Concepts
Print Location: RC501.4.P79 1990
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

American Psychiatric Press Textbook of Psychiatry
Print Location: RC454 .A419 1999
Reference Collection
Child Maltreatment: Photographic Reference
Print Location: RA1122.5 .C49 1998
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Child Psychology : A Handbook of Contemporary Issues
Print Location: BF721.C5155 2006
Reference Collection
Comparative Psychology: A Handbook
Print Location: BF671 .C615 1998
Reference Collection
Cross-Cultural Psychology: Research and Applications
Print Location: GN502 .C76 1992
Reference Collection
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5
Print Location: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
Reference Collection
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV
Print Location: RC455.2.C4.D54 1994
Reference Collection
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR
Print Location: RC455.2.C4.D536 2000
Reference Collection
Great Psychologists and their Times
Print Location: BF109.A1 S56 2002
Reference Collection
Handbook of Emotions, 2nd. ed
Print Location: BF561 .H35 2000
Reference Collection
Handbook of Forensic Psychology : Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
Print Location: RA1148 .H362 2004
Reference Collection
Handbook of International Psychology
Print Location: BF121.H2115 2004
Reference Collection
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling
Print Location: BF637 .C6 H3174
Reference Collection
Handbook of Personality Disorders :Theory, Research, and Treatment
Print Location: RC554 .H36 2001
Reference Collection
Handbook of Psychology (Forensic Psychology) v.11
Print Location: BF121.H1955 2003
Reference Collection
Handbook of Social and Clinical Psychology: The Health Perspective
Print Location: RC467 .H29 1990
Reference Collection
Handbook of Social Psychology
Print Location: HM1011.H37 2010
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Handbook of Stress, Coping, and Health
Print Location: QP82.2 .S8 .H357 2000
Reference Collection
Human Growth and Development
Print Location: QP84 .C26 1998
Reference Collection
Mental Disorders of the New Millennium
Print Location: RC454 .M462 2006
Reference Collection
3 volumes
Oxford Companion to Emotion and the Affective Sciences
Print Location: BF531.O94 2009
Reference Collection
Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook
Print Location: HV6556 .P78 1999
Reference Collection
Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles
Print Location: HM251 .S6743
Reference Collection
Women in Psychology: a Bio-Bibliographic Sourcebook
Print Location: BF109.A1W65
Reference Collection

Magazines

Psychology Today
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Websites

Classics in the History of Psychology
Source: York University, Toronto, Canada -- links to articles by pioneers in psychology. Documents sorted by topic and author.
Cognitive Development and Intelligence
Source: Adam Winsler, PhD., George Mason University -- contains articles and related links to information and research on the following topics: Piaget, Vygotsky, intelligence and information processing.
Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Source: Advameg, Inc., (also listed on Rutgers University Psychology Subject Directory) -- searchable encyclopedia of psychological disorders.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Source: Jacksonville State University, Dept. of Psychology -- a subject directory in psychology related topics.
Healthy Minds. Health Lives.
Source: American Psychiatric Association -- includes a comprehensive list of resources and fact sheets on mental health topics.
Human Intelligence
Source: Indiana University, Dr. Jonathan Plucker -- includes biographical profiles of people who have influenced the development of intelligence theory and testing, in-depth articles exploring current controversies related to human intelligence, and resources for teachers. Recognized by Psychology Today magazine.
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Source: Society for the Experimental Analysis of Behavior, Inc. -- links to academic articles in the field of experimental behavioral analysis. Free access to articles through PubMed Central six months after journal publication.
National Institute of Mental Health
Source: US Government, National Institutes of Health -- the largest scientific organization in the world dedicated to research focused on the understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders and the promotion of mental health.
Psych Central
Source: John M. Grohol, Psy.D -- independent mental health social network created and run by mental health professionals. One of Time Magazine’s Top 50 Best Websites of 2008.
Psychology Today Website
Source: Psychology Today Magazine
Online component of popular magazine.
Science Odyssey, People and Discoveries: Human Behavior
Source: PBS -- biographies of pioneers in the field of behavioral science and descriptions of treatments and therapies
Social Psychology Network
Source: Scott Pious, PhD. -- Social Psychology Network is an educational website with links to additional sources, open access journals, news articles and more. Dr. Scott Pious who holds a PhD. in psychology from Stanford University founded the site. It is supported by more than 1,500 members including the National Science Foundation, McGraw Hill and the America Psychological Association.

Organizations

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Browse the Collection
  • BF -- Psychology
  • HM1001-1281 -- Social psychology
  • HQ19-30.7 -- Sexual behavior and attitudes. Sexuality
  • LB1050.9-1091 -- Educational psychology
  • RC435 - 571 -- Psychiatry
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files