Research Guides: Psychiatric Nursing

Bookmark and Share
APA Formatting
Please watch the screencast below for information on formatting your paper in APA style.


More details for formatting your paper in APA:
RVCC Library APA Style Guide (you will find the link to the printable APA PDF from this website)
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA Style Guide
Library Resources

Databases

CINAHL Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • 1981 to present; embargos on some publications
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Medcom Trainex Restricted Resource
  • Nursing videos
  • Nursing

Nursing and Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Evidence-Based Research, Trade Journals, Dissertations and Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract  information only
  • ProQuest search interface

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Medicine
  • Scholarly Journals, Reports, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include CareNotesConsumer LabDrugNotesGale Encyclopedia of Medicine,Harvard Special Health Report, and many more

PubMed Restricted Resource
  • Medicine
  • Mostly citations; some citations link to full-text
  • Content from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) 

Handbooks & Guides

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5
Print Location: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
Reference Collection
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV
Print Location: RC455.2.C4.D54 1994
Reference Collection
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR
Print Location: RC455.2.C4.D536 2000
Reference Collection

Organizations

Appraisal Questions
Appraisal questions were derived from:
Questions for evaluating case studies/ clinical research:
 
What is the purpose and/or rationale for the study?
Are the aims of the study clearly stated?
How significant is the need for research?
Does the research look at data gathered previously?
 
Where was the article published?
Who funded the study?
Who conducted the study?
Is credibility of the researchers established?
 
How was the study conducted?
Were participants in the study randomly assigned?
What were the characteristics of the people who participated in the study?
How many people were tested?
Is the study's sampling strategy appropriate to address the aims?
Was there a control group?
 
How long was the study?
Did the research follow a group over time?
How many completed the study?
Do the researchers consider the effects on the study of the relationship between themselves and the informants?
 
How was the data collected?
Are the study's data collection strategies appropriate?
Was the data gathered descriptive or quantitative?
 
Was the data analyzed? How?
Does the article analyze one study or multiple studies?
If the article discusses multiple studies, what types of studies were included?
Is there a rigorous process of data analysis evident?
 
Have the results of the study been repeated by other investigators?
Are the findings confirmable?
Are the findings analyzed based on the purpose and research question?
Are the findings of the study logically transferable to other groups of patients? 
 
 
Are the findings clear and easy to understand?
Do the researchers justify the data interpretation used in the analysis?
How relevant and useful is the article to a patient/clinical problem/clinical scenario or a practitioner?
How important are the findings?
Do they directly suggest specific further research?
Critical Analysis Research Paper Bibliography
RVCC Electronic resources (scholarly articles):
  • Beck, C. (2009). Critiquing qualitative research. AORN Journal, 90(4), 543-554. doi:10.1016/j.aorn.2008.12.023
  • Dale, J.  (2005). Critiquing research for use in practice. Journal of Pediatric Health Care 19(3), 183-186.
  • Marshall, G. (2005). Critiquing a research article. Radiography, 11(1), 55-59.

RVCC Print materials:
  • LoBiondo-Wood, G. & Haber, J. (2006). Nursing research: Methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice. St. Louis, MO: Mosby Elsevier. 
    (Location: RVCC RESERVES COLLECTION Call Number: NEV 002)
  • Riegelman, R. K. (2000). Studying a study and testing a test: How to read the medical evidence. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, WIlliams & Wilkins.
    (Location: RVCC CIRCULATING BOOKS Call Number: R118.6 .R537 2000
RVCC E-books: Websites/Online: Terms to include in search statements:
  • Case studies
  • Method*
  • Research - Methodology
  • Participants
  • Qualitative research
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
alyssa.valenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351

Formatting a Running Head in MS Word
Related Guides
RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Browse the Collection
  • RA790 - 790.95 -- Mental health
  • RC435 - 571 -- Psychiatry
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files