Research Guides: Primary Sources

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Indian History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Women's History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years 
  • Facts on File Interface

Ancient and Medieval History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Battles that Changed the World, Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World, Mythology A to Z, World Leaders Past and Present, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from prehistory to 1500s
  • Facts on File search interface

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Literature
  • Literary Criticism, Scholarly Journals, Biographies, Magazines, Encyclopedias, Book Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and many more

Modern World History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Biographical Dictionary of Modern World Leaders, Dictators & Tyrants: Absolute Rulers and Would-Be Rulers in World History, Encyclopedia of World War I, Speeches in World History, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from the 15th century to present

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Print Location: HF5353.E9
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Biography
Print Location: E176.D563
Reference Collection
10 volumes + supplements

Handbooks & Guides

Oxford Guide to Library Research
Print Location: Z710.M23 2005

Document-based Activities on the Holocaust …Using Primary Sources
Print Location: D 810 .J4 K67 2001
Hirsch Collection
Information-Literate Historian : a Guide to Research for History Students
Print Location: D16.2.P715 2007

Library of Congress Illustrated Timeline of the Civil War
Print Location: E468.3.W34 2011
Reference Collection
Milestone Documents in American History : Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America
Print Location: E173.M62 2008
Reference Collection
3 vols.
Milestone Documents in World History: Exploring the Primary Sources that shaped the world
Print Location: D5.M54 2010
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Teaching with Documents: Using Primary Resources from the National Archives
Print Location: E175.8 .T43 1989

Websites

Avalon Project
Source:  Yale Law School
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. 
Chronicling America
Source:  National Endowment for the Humanities  and the Library of Congress.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress.
Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians Resource contains images
Source: The British Library
Discover 1,200 Romantic and Victorian literary treasures, new insights by 60 experts, 25 documentary films, 30 inspirational teachers’ notes and more. Includes a wealth of original sources spanning the Romantic and Victorian periods, including literary treasures such as original manuscripts, first editions and rare illustrations, alongside historical material such as newspapers, diaries, letters, photographs, and maps. Materials are organized by themes, authors and works and the site is searchable.
 
EuroDocs
Source: Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, Brigham Young University
These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. The links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light within the respective countries over a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible, and may include video or sound files, maps, databases, and other documentation
Gallica Bibliotheque Numerique
Source: National Library of France
Digital Library of the National Library of France. You can choose your language.
 
Kean University New Jersey History Project
Source: Trevar Riley-Reid, a Rutgers MLS student working at the Kean University Library
A collection within the HathiTrust Digital Library which contains the full text of documents on the history of the state of New Jersey. To access these documents, users can also navigate to http://www.hathitrust.org, click on the Public Collections tab and scroll down to the Kean Univ NJ History Project. 
Library of Congress (for Teachers)
Source: Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
http://www.loc.gov/teachers/usingprimarysources/finding.html
 
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
Source: Library of Congress
Includes access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services, e.g., American History and Culture, Historic Newspapers, International Articles, Legislative Information, Collection Content Available Online, Preforming Arts, Prints and Photographs, Veterans’ History, Early Sound Recordings, Website Archives, and more.
 
Making of America
Source: University of Michigan
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
New Jersey Digital Highway
Source: New Jersey Digital Highway
Beginning in February 2011, the former Electronic New Jersey website is now the centerpiece of the New Jersey Digital Highway's Educators Portal. Containing 23 curriculum units about New Jersey history and its relationship to major themes in U. S. and Global History, Electronic New Jersey provides students and teachers with access to content, instructional activities and assessments using source materials drawn primarily from the Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives, along with other New Jersey repositories and containing links to selected high quality online learning sites, such as the National Archives and the American Memory project of the Library of Congress.
New York Public Library
Source: New York Public Library
Included on this page are: Digital Gallery, NYPL Labs, Digital Projects, Manuscripts and Archives, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Preservation of NYPL Collections and Get Copies.
Princeton University Genealogy Digital Libraries
Source: Princeton University
This collection of genealogy digital Libraries includes Indexes by state or region, as well as other genealogy resources
Records Project
Source: recordsproject.com
A public record is a blanket term used to describe any publicly available information kept on file by a local, state or federal government. Recent laws such as the well-known U.S. Freedom of Information Act have put more of the records held by the U.S. Government into more-accessible forums such as the National Archives where private citizens can access these records and use them for a variety of purposes. Most records made public are kept to track changes in the population, such as births, deaths, marriages and domestic partnerships. U.S. Census data and other pieces of interesting data are typically available on a county-by-county basis or at the state level. The type of record for which you are searching typically determines where you should begin your search.
Records project, New Jersey   http://recordsproject.com/public/new-jersey.asp
Records Project, Somerset County http://recordsproject.com/county/new-jersey/somerset.asp
Records Project, Hunterdon County  http://recordsproject.com/county/new-jersey/hunterdon.asp
Rutgers Digital Library Projects
Source: Rutgers University
This site includes several digital Library projects, Open Access Journals, and Digital Centers.

Organizations

ALCTS -Association for Library Collections and Technical Services
Division of the American Libaray Association
IRIG, subcommittee of ACRL – Association of College and Research Libraries
Division of the American Library Association (Image Resources Interest Group)                  

Primary Sources

America Under Attack: Primary Sources
Print Location: HV6432.A52 2002
Hirsch Collection 
Youth 
Courageous Teen Resisters: Primary Sources from the Holocaust
Print Location: D804.48.B946 2010
Hirsh Collection
Youth
Documents of American Diplomacy
Print Location: E183.7 .D63 2002
Reference Collection
English Historical Documents
Print Location: DA26 .E55
Reference Collection
8 volumes
Liberation: Stories of Survival from the Holocaust
Print Location: D804.195.H64 2012
Hirsch Collection
Youth 
Van Gogh: The Life
Print Location: N6953.G3 N35 2011

Words that Make New Jersey History: a Primary Source Reader
Print Location: F134.W59 2006

Statistics

American Factfinder
Source: United States Census Bureau
"Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data come from several censuses and surveys."
 

Bibliographies

General Index to the Documents Relating to the Colonial History of the State of New Jersey, First series, in Ten Volumes
Print Location: F131.R55 1994
Reference Collection
Index to the Magazine New Jersey History
Print Location: F131.S5
Reference Collection

Atlases

Historical Atlas of the North American Railroad
Print Location: HE2751.H39 2010
Reference Collection
Historical Maps on File
Print Location: G1030 .M37 2001
Reference Collection
2 volumes
National Geographic Historical Atlas of the United States
Print Location: G1201.S1 F5 2004
Atlas Stand
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
robert.egan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Suggested Subject Headings
Archival Resources
Archives
Biography
Caricatures and Cartoons
Comic books
Description, pictoral works
Description, travel
Diaries
Early works to 1800
History-Sources
Interviews
Library Resources
Manuscripts
Maps
Notebooks
Sketchbooks
Personal narratives 
Pamphlets
Portraits
Posters
Self portraits
Speeches
Statues
Browse the Collection
  • CD950, CD3021—Archives
  • CT 213 – American Biography
  • E174 -- American history
  • F131 – Diaries, Woman authors
  • G1030 – Historical Maps
  • NC1810 – Posters
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files