Research Guides: Philosophy

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Encyclopedias

Cambridge History of Philosophy 1870-1945
Print Location: B72 .C35 2003
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: B51 .E53 2006
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Print Location: B802.W48
Reference Collection
Oxford companion to philosophy
Print Location: B51.O94 2005

Philosophers and religious leaders
Print Location: B104 .P48 1999
Reference Collection
Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book
Print Location: B105 .W6 K47 1989
Reference Collection
World philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works
Print Location: B29 .W68 1982
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion : Eastern and Western Thought
Print Location: B41 .R43 1980
Reference Collection
Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy
Print Location: B41.L32 2010
Reference Collection

Websites

Beck Center for Electronic Collections Some full text available
Source:  Emory University
Among other offerings, the Beck Center provides access to electronic texts in philosophy including works of Aquinas, Aristotle, Bacon, Descartes, Hume, Locke, Nietzsche, and Plato. Also available in the Beck Center is the "Database of Classical Bibliography," useful in the study of ancient philosophy.
Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base
Source: Danne Polk, Villanova University
Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
Ethics Update
Source: Lawrence M. Hinman, University of San Diego
Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
Noesis
Source:  University of Evansville
Noesis is a limited area search engine for open access, academic philosophy on the Internet. Contains links to Associations, Departments, Faculty Webspaces, Online Journals, and Reference Works.
Philosophy Pages
Source: Garth Kemerling
This site offers helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition. Information includes a dictionary of philosophical terms and names, a survey of the history of Western philosophy, a timeline for the intellectual figures, discussion of several major philosophers, and a generic study guide.
Project Gutenberg Some full text available
Source: Project Gutenberg
Online electronic texts of literature and reference works, available free of charge.

Organizations

American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline.
Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

SPEP is a professional organization devoted to supporting philosophy inspired by continental European traditions. With a membership of over 2500 people, it is one of the largest American philosophical societies, and strives to encourage work not only in the philosophical traditions of phenomenology and existentialism, but also in all those areas commonly associated with ‘continental philosophy,’ such as animal studies, critical theory, cultural studies, deconstruction, environmental philosophy, feminism, German idealism, hermeneutics, philosophy of the Americas, post-colonialism, post-structuralism, psychoanalysis, philosophy of race and queer theory.


Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files