Research Guides: Nursing

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

CINAHL Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • 1981 to present; embargos on some publications
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Health and Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Medicine
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Magazines, Pamphlets, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Websites  
  • Mostly full-text; some citations to journal articles
  • Publications include Gale medical encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary, Medical Health Information Directory, and many more

Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Medicine
  • Scholarly Journals, Reports, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include CareNotesConsumer LabDrugNotesGale Encyclopedia of Medicine,Harvard Special Health Report, and many more

Nursing and Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Evidence-Based Research, Trade Journals, Dissertations and Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract  information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

PubMed Restricted Resource
  • Medicine
  • Mostly citations; some citations link to full-text
  • Content from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) 

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

Handbooks & Guides

Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for the NCLEX-PN Examination
Print Location: RT62.M62 2011

Organizations

Finding Evidence-Based Research Articles
Learning Objective: The learner will be able to use the library database Nursing & Allied Health Source to find evidence-based research articles related to nursing.

 


Using Internet Explorer? View this video at http://www.screencast.com/t/JrhuH1l5Je8S.




Embed code for faculty use in WebStudy

<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/bd50b5d1-22ea-4929-bbbc-1ec56e16a257/embed" height="544" width="680" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 
Writing an APA Style Research Paper
Learning Objective:The learner will be able to format a research paper, including in-text citations and references list, in APA format.

 


Using Internet Explorer? View this video at http://www.screencast.com/t/rSzprEXlNvaY.




Embed code for faculty use in WebStudy:

<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/180a6174-b3cf-480f-a0eb-4023c3d50d5b/embed" height="544" width="680" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 
Finding Books
Books can be found by searching the library catalog from the library's website or using the Book Search box below.
 

Suggested Subject Headings for Nursing:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

  • R -- Medicine (General)
  • RA -- Public aspects of medicine
  • RC -- Internal medicine
  • RM -- Therapeutics. Pharmocology
  • RS -- Pharmacy and materia medica
  • RT -- Nursing




 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
avalenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351
Office Hours / More Info

Formatting a Running Head in MS Word
How to Make a Hanging Indent in MS Word
Book Search