Research Guides: Created Equal: The Loving Story

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
African American Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 A344 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 E49 2007
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Print Location: PS153.N5 O96 1997

Writing African American Women : an Encyclopedia of Literature by and About Women of Color
Print Location: PS153.N5 W756 2006
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Interracial Intimacies: Sex, Marriage, Identity, and Adoption
Print Location: KF511.K46 2004

Interracial Intimacy: the Regulation of Race & Romance
Print Location: KF4757.M667 2001

Loving v. Virginia in a Post-Racial World: Rethinking Race, Sex, and Marriage
Print Location: KF517.L68 2012

Words of Protest, Words of Freedom: Poetry of the American Civil Rights Movement and Era
Print Location: PS595.R32 W549 2012

Tell the Court I Love my Wife: Race, Marriage, and Law: an American History
Print Location: KF511.W35 2002

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.

DVD

Loving Story
Print Location: KF224.L68 L69 2013 Resource contains video

Ebooks

Tell the Court I Love my Wife: Race, Marriage, and Law: an American History
Print Location: KF511.W35 2002

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files