Research Guides: Created Equal: Slavery by Another Name

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
African American Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 A344 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 E49 2007
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Print Location: PS153.N5 O96 1997

Handbooks & Guides

Atlanta, Cradle of the New South: Race and Remebering in the Civil War's Aftermath
Print Location: F294.A89 N4454 2013

Beast in Florida: A History of Anti-Black Violence
Print Location: E185.61.D895 2013

Death Blossoms: Reflections from a Prisoner of Conscience
Print Location: HV8699.U5 A33 1996

Fighting Jim Crow in the County of Kings: The Congress of Racial Equality in Brooklym
Print Location: F129.B7 P87 2013

Invisible Men: Mass Incarceration and the Myth of Black Progress
Print Location: HV9469.P46 2012

Men's College Athletics and the Politics of Racial Equality: Five Pioneer Stories of Black Manliness, White Citizenship, and American Democracy
Print Location: GV351.K35 2012

New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness
Print Location: HV9950.A437 2010

Racism in the Nation's Service: Government Workers and the Color Line in Woodrow Wilson's America
Print Location: JK723.A34 Y45 2013

Sidelined: How American Sports Challenged the Black Freedom Struggle
Print Location: GV706.32.H46 2013

Slavery by Another Name: the Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II
Print Location: E185.2.B545 2009

Under Sentence of Death: Lynching in the South
Print Location: HV6464.U49 1997

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.

DVD

More than a Month
Print Location: E185.M67 2013 Resource contains video

Mumia Abu-Jamal: A Case for Reasonable Doubt?
Print Location: HV8701.M86 2008 Resource contains video

Subject Specialist
Picture: Karen Thomas

Karen Thomas
kthomas@raritanval.edu
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: ext. 8350

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files