Research Guides: Created Equal: The Abolitionists

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
African American Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 A344 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
Print Location: PS153.N5 E49 2007
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Print Location: PS153.N5 O96 1997

Handbooks & Guides

Abraham Lincoln and the Second American Revolution
Print Location: E457.2.M4758 1991

Emancipation Proclamation: Three Views (Social, Political, Iconographic)
Print Location: E453.H645 2006

Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery
Print Location: E457.2.F66 2010

Four Took Freedom: The Lives of Harriet Tubman, Frederick Douglass, Robert Smalls, and Blanche K. Bruce
Print Location: E185.96 .S78

Giants: The Parallel Lives of Federick Douglass & Abraham Lincoln
Print Location: E449.D75 S73 2008

Mightier than the Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for America
Print Location: PS2954.U6 R39 2011

Our Lincoln: New Perspectives on Lincoln and His World
Print Location: E457.O97 2008

Race and Reunion: The Civil War in American Memory
Print Location: E468.9.B58 2001

There Was Once a Slave ... The Heroic Story of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D758

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.
Liberator Files
This website offers a collection of items that appeared in The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's Boston-based abolitionist newspaper that he published from 1831 to 1865. Along with primary documents, the site includes articles about Garrison's life and his relationships with other relevant abolitionists.
Responses to John Brown's Raid at Harper's Ferry
These excerpts from Cincinnati and Chicago newspapers offer their opinions on the Harpers Ferry affair and the looming conflict between free and slave states.

Websites

PBS American Experience: The Abolitionists
Source: PBS
Information about the PBS film on Abolitionist allies Frederick Douglass, William Lloyd Garrison, Harriet Beecher Stowe, John Brown and Angelina Grimké as they turned a despised fringe movement against chattel slavery into a force that literally changed the nation.

Primary Sources

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.
Classic Slave Narratives
Print Location: E444.C63 2002

Emancipation Proclamation
The National Archives hosts this copy of Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation, with a full transcript and scans of the original document.
Greater Sin
This moving letter to a former owner captures the sentiments of a runaway slave.
In Memoriam: Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449.D753 1971

Inconsistencies of Slavery in a Christian Nation
This passage from the autobiographical "Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass" decries the hypocrisy of Christian slaveholders.
Liberator Files
This website offers a collection of items that appeared in The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's Boston-based abolitionist newspaper that he published from 1831 to 1865. Along with primary documents, the site includes articles about Garrison's life and his relationships with other relevant abolitionists.
Life and Times of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D744 1966

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D749

Responses to John Brown's Raid at Harper's Ferry
These excerpts from Cincinnati and Chicago newspapers offer their opinions on the Harpers Ferry affair and the looming conflict between free and slave states.
Results of the Fugitive Slave Act
This selection draws from Harriet Jacobs' Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, in which she describes how the Fugitive Slave Act transformed the lives of black Americans.
Uncle Tom's Cabin
Print Location: PS2954.U5

We Are of Another Race
A sample of Charles Mackay's writing demonstrates the mindset of 19th-century white superiority.

Reports

Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449.D75M374 1990

Frederick Douglass: A Biography
Print Location: E449 .D755

Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Life
Print Location: PS2956.H43 1994

Government Information

Emancipation Proclamation
The National Archives hosts this copy of Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation, with a full transcript and scans of the original document.

Ebooks

John Brown, Abolitionist: The Man who Killed Slavery, Sparked the Civil War, and Seeded Civil Rights
Print Location: E451.R49 2005 Restricted Resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files