Research Guides: RVCC Multiculturalism/ Diversity Initiatives

Bookmark and Share
Visualizing Civil Rights Series

Visualizing Civil Rights:  March on Washington Exhibit, Celebrating the 50th Anniversary
Through September
RVCC Evelyn S. Field Library

Visualizing Civil Rights:  Trayvon Martin
Thursday, September 12, 2013
Conference Center Room C
1:00 - 2:20 pm
The tragic death of a young African American student forced the nation to examine the justice system, racial profiling and civil rights in America.  Join us and our esteemed panelists:  Maria M. DeFilippis, Esq., Coordinator of RVCC Paralegal Studies; Ronald A. Tyson, Department of English; Lisa Tucker, Department of English; Bill Loeffler, Adjunct Professor; Reginald Johnson, Metuchen-Edison Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); and Dr. Alex Gray, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.

Visualizing Civil Rights: “From Slavery to Freedom- The Journey to New York City” - Frederick Douglas Traveling Exhibition
October 15 – November 15, 2013
Evelyn Field Library
Born Frederick Augustus Washington Bailey, c. February 1818 – February 20, 1895, he was an African-American social reformer, orator, writer and statesman. Douglass wrote several autobiographies, eloquently describing his experiences in slavery in his 1845 autobiography, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, which became influential in its support for abolition.
 
Visualizing Civil Rights: The Abolitionists Film
Tuesday, November 5, 2013
Grand Conference Center
6:00 pm
America’s civil rights struggle marks the sesquicentennial of the Emancipation Proclamation with this inspiring film.  Radicals. Agitators. Troublemakers. Liberators.  Called many names, the abolitionists tore the nation apart in order to create a more perfect union. Discussion moderated by Carl Lindskoog, Humanities, Social Science and Education Department

Visualizing Civil Rights: Slavery by Another Name Film
Tuesday, November 5, 2013
Grand Conference Center
6:00 pm
Even as slavery ended after the Civil War, new systems of involuntary servitude kept thousands of African Americans in bondage. Discussion moderated by Barbara Seater, Humanities, Social Science and Education Department.

Visualizing Civil Rights: Graphic Novel Discussion of John Lewis's March: Book 1

Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Robeson Room, Library First Floor
1:00 - 2:30PM
Join us to discuss the graphic novel that depicts Congressman John Lewis's involvement in lunch counter sit-ins and the nonviolent protests against segregation in the South. This visual representation of the civil rights struggle brings new understanding to the strength and courage it took to remain non-violent in the face of racism.
 
Exhibits
Of Rice And Spices:  the Asian American Experience Exhibition
September 6 - October 4, 2013
Art Gallery - College Center Lower Level
Photographs of the internationally renowned New York City –based documentary photographer Corky Lee along with historical material from the Asian/Pacific/American (APA) Institute at New York University are on displays at RVCC Art Gallery. Curator – Yoland Skeete.

Visualizing Civil Right: “From Slavery to Freedom - The Journey to New York City” - Frederick Douglas Traveling Exhibition
October 15 – November 15, 2013
Evelyn Field Library
Born Frederick Augustus Washington Bailey, c. February 1818 – February 20, 1895, he was an African-American social reformer, orator, writer and statesman. Douglass wrote several autobiographies, eloquently describing his experiences in slavery in his 1845 autobiography, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, which became influential in its support for abolition. 

Visualizing Civil Rights:  "Emancipation and Its Legacies" Traveling Exhibition
February 3 - March 3, 2014 

Evelyn Field Library
 
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Indian History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies, History
  • Primary Sources, Biographies, Essays, Images, Laws, Legal Documents
  • All full-text
  • E-book of Great Events from History: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender Events, 1848-2006 (Print copy available in library)

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Modern World History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Biographical Dictionary of Modern World Leaders, Dictators & Tyrants: Absolute Rulers and Would-Be Rulers in World History, Encyclopedia of World War I, Speeches in World History, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from the 15th century to present

Referencia Latina Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinario; Multidisciplinary
  • Publicaciones Académicas, Revistas, Periódicos, Diccionario Español – Inglés, Libros Electrónicos; Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Spanish-English Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, E-books
  • Varios articulos completos, algunos contienen solo referencias bibliográficas o resúmenes; Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Programa que permite hacer busquedas en español; Spanish search interface

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

World Geography and Culture Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Geography, History, Current Events, Cultural Studies
  • Maps, Statistics, Images, News
  • All full-text

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
Arab American Biography
Print Location: E184.A65 H35 1999
Reference Collection
Arab American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E184.A65 A48 2000
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Hispanic Biography
Print Location: CT1343 .D53 1996
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia Latina : History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Print Location: E184.S75 E587 2005
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture and Society in the United States
Print Location: http://catalog.somerset.lib.nj.us/record=b1754053~S9
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
Print Location: E184.A75 E53 2010
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History:
Print Location: E184.J3 E53 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: E184 .A1 G14
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Print Location: GN502.E63 2006
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Irish in America
Print Location: E184.I6 E53 1999
Reference Collection
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: E184.A1 G14
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas
Print Location:
Reference Collection
Mexican American Experience : an Encyclopedia
Print Location: E184.M5 M4535 2003
Reference Collection
Notable Latino Americans
Print Location: E184 .S75 M435 1997
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Arab American Biography
Print Location: E184.A65 H35 1999
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Asian American Almanac
Print Location: E184.O6 A824
Reference Collection
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Print Location: E184.A1A63448 1997
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Chronology of Hispanic-American History
Print Location: E184.S75 C49
Reference Collection
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling
Print Location: BF637 .C6 H3174
Reference Collection
Reference Library of Black America
Print Location: E185 .R435
Reference Collection
5 vols.

Primary Sources

Arab American Voices
Print Location: E184.A65 H36 2000
Reference Collection

Statistics

Black Americans : a Statistical Sourcebook
Print Location: E185 .B57 2001
Reference Collection
Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Print Location: E184.A1 R78 2009
Reference Collection
Statistical Record of Asian Americans
Print Location: E184.O6 S73
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Asians
Print Location: E184.A75 W56 2011
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Blacks
Print Location: E185.615.W46 2011
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Hispanics
Print Location: E184.S75 W525 2011
Reference Collection

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Hispanic-American Almanac : a Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States
Print Location: E184.S75 H557 1993
Reference Collection
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation and Integration
Print Location: JV6450.I5536 2013
Reference Collection
Latinos in the New Millennium : an Almanac of Opinion, Behavior, and Policy Preferences
Print Location: E184.S75 L3695 2012
Reference Collection

Bibliographies

Multicultural Films: A Reference Guide
Print Location: PN1995.9.M56 W45 2005

DVD

White like me [DVD]
Print Location: E185.615.W56 2013 Resource contains video
White Like Me, based on the work of Tim Wise, explores race and racism in the US through the lens of whiteness and white privilege. In a reassessment of the American ideal of meritocracy and claims that we've entered a post-racial society, Wise offers a look back at the race-based white entitlement programs that built the American middle class, and argues that our failure as a society to come to terms with this legacy of white privilege continues to perpetuate racial inequality and race-driven political resentments today.
Tools for Teaching Diversity
Teaching Today's College Students: Widening the Circle of Success
Angela Provitera-McGlynn(Author)
LB2331.P769 2007

 
The Afro-Latin@ Reader: History and Culture in the United States
Miriam Jiménez Román et al.(Editor)
E185.615.A37 2010
 

Putting the Movement Back into Civil Rights Teaching: A Resource Guide for Classrooms and Communities
Alana Murray et al.(Editor)
E185.61.P88 2004

 
Envisioning Equity: Educating and Graduating Low-Income, First-Generation, and Minority College Students
Angela Provitera-McGlynn(Author)
LC1039.5.P76 2011

  
American Antislavery Writings: Colonial Beginnings to Emancipation
James G. Basker(Editor)
E446.A48 2012

  

 
Multicultural Events, Fairs, Festivals
Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Gym
3:00 pm
Jump Start Your Game with Sister to Sister and Brothers Helping Brother
Coach Mark Labos has worked with NBA players from the Miami Heat and Brooklyn Nets helping to perfect their skills.  Learn the secrets to being a superstar on and off the court.
 
Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Outside Courtyard
1:00 -2:20 pm
Convocation/Club Recruitment Day
Keynote presentation by Claudia De La Cruz
 
Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Atrium and Art Gallery
Of Rice and Spices: the Asian American Experience 
4:30 pm - Panel Discussion with photographer Corky Lee
6:00 pm – Opening Reception
Keynote Speaker – Betty Lee Sung
 
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Grand Conference Center
1:00 -2:20 pm
Hispanic Heritage – “Make that Guap: Latin@ on the Move”
Latin@s are leaders in the workplace and in the community.  To be competitive in today’s job market, you must network to create job opportunities and career pathways to success. Learn from the fastest growing ethnic community the secrets to their success. 

Thursday, October 10, 2013
Sculpture Garden: Evelyn Field Library
1:00 -2:20 pm
Hispanic Heritage Festival of Words: Latin@ Literary Celebration
Expand your knowledge of the literary works from Latin@ during Hispanic Heritage Month.  All members of the community are encouraged to participate.  Readers will need to sign-up prior to the event with the Office of Multicultural Affairs, L032.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013
1:00-2:20 pm
Grand Conference Center
Hispanic Heritage Taste of Latin Culture: This is my Homeland
Explore and celebrate the homelands of the RVCC’s  Latino students through cultural presentations.
 
Thursday, October 17, 2013
1:00-2:20 pm
Grand Conference Center
Multicultural Affairs Open House

Thursday, November 14, 2013
Atrium
12 noon - Diversity Fair
1:00 – 2:20 pm
“Creating A Culture of Inclusiveness” with Dr. Darla Spence Coffey, President/CEO, Council on Social Work Education
 
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Conference Center, Gym and Cafeteria
8:45 am – 1:15 pm
HBCU College and Transfer Fair
The Malcolm Bernard Historically Black College Universities Fair features over 40 HBCU Admissions Counselors, scholarships available, free application fee, on-site admissions, and college completion and transfer services workshops.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Grand Conference Center, Room A, B & C
1:00 – 2:20 pm
Kwanzaa Celebration: Food, Music and Dance Performances
Kwanzaa is an African American holiday which celebrates family, community and culture. Learn more about this celebration of community, culture and Raritan Valley Community College’s rich diverse community with the Sister to Sister and Brothers Helping Brothers Network. Please join us as we celebrate the seven principles of Kwanzaa. 
 
RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still need help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available
                        at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk
               Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide.
Browse the Collection
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files