Research Guides: Interior Design

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

ArtStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
  • Art
  • Images
  • Images from numerous collections including the American Folk Art Museum, J. Paul Getty Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art,  Rijksmuseum, and many more

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Reports,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Print Location: NK1165.D58 1988
Reference Collection
Great Lady Decorators: the Women who Defined Interior Design, 1870-1955
Print Location: NK2004.2.L49 2010
Circulating Books

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Interior Design
Print Location: NK1165.P4
Reference Collection
Visual Dictionary of Interior Architecture
E-book - Safari Books Online

Handbooks & Guides

American Vernacular Buildings and Interiors, 1870-1960
Print Location: NA710.G68 2009
Circulating Books
Apostles of Beauty: Arts and Crafts from Britain to Chicago
Print Location: NK1140.A64 2009
Circulating Books
Designing the Modern Interior
Print Location: NA 2850.D47 2009
Circulating Books
Drafting and Visual Presentation for Interior Designers
Print Location: NK2113.5 C59 2012
Circulating Books
Green Interior Design
Print Location: NK2113.D48 2010
Circulating Books
History of Design from the Victorian Era to the Present: a Survey of the Modern Style in Architecture
Print Location: NK1370.F47 2011
Circulating Books
Living Modern: the Sourcebook of Contemporary Interiors
Print Location: NK1990.P69 2010
Circulating Books
Poetic Home: Designing the 19th-century Domestic Interior
Print Location: NK1960.M88 2009
Circulating Books
Rematerial: from Waste to Architecture
Print Location: NA2542.36 B3413 2010
Circulating Books

Websites

Interiors & Sources
Source:  Interiors and Sources Magazine
Includes articles on corporate, government, educational, healthcare, and public space design, among others. Resources include organizational contacts, white papers, webinars, and events.

Organizations

American Society of Interior Designers
The American Society of Interior Designers is a community of people committed to excellence in design. Members include professional interior designers, interior design students, interior design educators and industry representatives.
Association of University Interior Designers
Association of University Interior Designers provides a network and resource for the sharing of information, discussion of issues, resolution of problems related to interior design work at Universities, and the management of interior design work at institutions of higher education
Interior Design Society
An independent national organization more than 3,000 members strong. One of the country's largest design organizations dedicated to serving the residential interior design industry, the Interior Design Society offers members community, education and business support. The IDS National headquarters is located in High Point, NC, the world's home furnishings capital. Founded in 1973.
International Interior Design Association
IIDA, with respect for past accomplishments of Interior Design leaders, strives to create a strong niche for the most talented and visionary Interior Design professionals, to elevate the profession to the level it warrants, and to lead the way for the next generation of Interior Design innovators.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
alyssa.valenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351

Book Search
Browse the Collection
NK 1-570 - General
NK 600-806 - History
NK 1135-1149.5 - Arts and Craft Movement
NK 1160-1590 - Decoration and ornament. Design
NK 1160-1174 - General
NK 1165 - Interior Design
NK 1175-1498 - History
NK 1505-1535 - General Works
NK 1548-1590 - Special Subjects for Design
NK 1648-1678 - Religious Art
NK 1700-2195 - Interior decoration. House decoration.
NK 1700-2138 - General. History, etc. incl. special rooms
NK 2140-2180 - Decorative painting
NK 2190-2192 - Church decoration
NK 2200-2750 - Furniture
NK 2775-2898 - Rugs and carpets
NK 2975-3049 - Tapestries
NK 3175-3296.3 - Upholstery; Drapery
NK 3375-3496.3 - Wallpapers
NK 3600-9900 - Other Arts and Art Industries
NK 3700-4695 - Ceramics
NK 4700-4890 - Costume
NK 5100-5440 - Glass
NK 5500-6060 - Glyptic arts
NK 6400-8459 - Metalwork
NK 8800-9505.5 - Textiles
NK 9600-9955 - Woodwork
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files