Research Guides: Information Literacy Learning Objects

Bookmark and Share
Information Creation
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to describe the process of information creation from news sources, through magazines, scholarly articles, and books.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/eee95561-8c0d-4f27-bfd6-31b986ca3b44/embed" height="480" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/aPrLKL7l3nXo



Creative Commons License
Information Creation by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

 
Selecting Keywords for Searching
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to identify the best combination of keywords to find sources on a specific topic.



 

​Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe allowfullscreen="" class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" frameborder="0" height="360" mozallowfullscreen="" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/b09681a2-3c41-414b-a46c-b0819f6a9d72/embed" style="overflow:hidden;" type="text/html" webkitallowfullscreen="" width="640"></iframe>



​Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/pKQSxOwckA



Creative Commons License
Selecting Keywords for Searching by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Search Tips for Databases
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to search a variety of database interfaces by understanding their common search features.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or website?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/English Composition II/media/3540c5f3-bab9-4793-828f-7558b248f7c2/embed" height="354" width="630" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/xG1UpTsCsqP



Creative Commons License
Selecting Keywords for Searching by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
 
Finding Research Articles for Nursing
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to use the database Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source to find peer-reviewed research articles.






Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/bd50b5d1-22ea-4929-bbbc-1ec56e16a257/embed" height="512" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/JrhuH1l5Je8S


Creative Commons License
Finding Research Articles for Nursing by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
 
Strategy for Reading Research Studies
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to distinguish the sections of a research study and develop a strategy to read studies for better understanding.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/2076d95b-7ebe-4686-8811-7241e736b94c/embed" height="360" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 




Want to link to this video?

http://www.screencast.com/t/qEBdrAVkR



Creative Commons License
Strategy for Reading Research Studies by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

 
Understanding Citation Styles
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to describe why citation styles are important in scholarly communication.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/2566203e-04b2-41a4-822e-ff1268544565/embed" height="360" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/RL403Lns


Creative Commons License
Understanding Citation Styles by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
 
Formatting an MLA Style Research Paper
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to format a research paper using MLA style for headings, in-text citations, and a Works Cited page.

 
 

​Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/12338fe5-9b3d-4e97-a71a-fd86eeec60eb/embed" height="360" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>​
 

​Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/V26pDTq3o



Creative Commons License
Advanced Database Searching by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


 
Formatting an APA Style Research Paper
Learnng Objective:
The learner will be able to format a research paper using APA style for the title page, running head and page numbers, in-text citations, and References page.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the code below and paste it into the html editor. 


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/1eda4e11-91ea-4fa3-be29-db9d4f3db0de/embed" height="512" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe> 




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/WtiDea0C



Creative Commons License
Formatting an APA Style Research Paper by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
 
Finding Citation Information for Websites
Learning Objective:
The learner will be able to identify the information on a website that is needed to write a citation.

 




Want to embed this video in your CMS or webpage?
Copy the embed code below and paste it into the html editor.


<iframe class="tscplayer_inline embeddedObject" name="tsc_player" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" type="text/html" style="overflow:hidden;" src="http://www.screencast.com/users/Megan_Dempsey/folders/Learning Objects Research Projects/media/255f09bf-790d-4709-98b6-669023e4de2e/embed" height="512" width="640" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>




Want to link to this video? Copy/paste the link below.

http://www.screencast.com/t/RoSyeuVhnfa



Creative Commons License
Finding Citation Information for Websites by Megan Dempsey is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
mdempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412
Office Hours / More Info

Adding Materials from the Webstorium
This video demonstrates how to add materials from the Webstorium to your WebStudy course.

Learning Objects from other libraries
Below are links to existing learning objects that I have reviewed and think are effective. 
 
Keywords and Refining Topics

How to Generate Keywords
(University of Texas Libraries)
http://lib.utexas.edu/keywords/index.php
Enter a research topic and follow the prompts to select keywords and synonyms. Shows how resulting keywords can be grouped using AND and OR.
 
Search Strategy Builder
(Georgia State University Library)
http://research.library.gsu.edu/content.php?pid=373187&sid=3057430#searchstrategybuilder
Enter concept keywords to build a search strategy using Boolean logic. After all terms are entered, a search strategy is created that can be copy/pasted into a database search box.
 
 
Source Types / Scholarly Articles
 
Identifying Scholarly Articles (RVCC)
http://library.raritanval.edu/research/idscholarlyart.asp
Webpage that reveals features of scholarly journals compared to magazines as you scroll over questions.
 
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
(NCSU Libraries)
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/
Example scholarly article that reveals explanations of parts of the article as you scroll over different sections.
 
                 
Search Techniques
 
Searching Effectively Using AND, OR, NOT (Colorado State University Libraries)
http://lib.colostate.edu/tutorials/boolean.html
Interactive multimedia teaching how AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine search terms in a database.
 
Searching Effectively Using Truncation (Colorado State University Libraries)
http://lib.colostate.edu/tutorials/truncation.html
Interactive multimedia teaching how truncation works when searching library databases.
 
 
Wikipedia: Beneath the Surface
(NCSU Libraries)
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/wikipedia/
Video explains what a wiki is and how Wikipedia entries are created.
 
 
Plagiarism

A Planet in Peril
http://plagiarism.davidpkeppel.com/internet/generic.htm
Video game in which a college student’s plagiarism could cause the end of the world. Game play gives players decisions to commit or avoid plagiarism (Requires Adobe Shockwave).
 
Plagiarism Quiz
(Z. Smith Reynolds Library)
http://zsr.wfu.edu/tutorials/plagiarism/q/1/
A 10 question quiz asking students to identify if a source is quoted/paraphrased and cited correctly. Requires a bit of reading, but a good, challenging exercise.
 
Goblin Threat Plagiarism Game
(Snowden Library, Lycoming College)
http://www.lycoming.edu/library/instruction/tutorials/plagiarismGame.aspx
Interactive game in which the player has to catch goblins and answer questions about plagiarism to eliminate all of the goblins.
 
Research Process
 
What is an Annotated Bibliography
(Kimbel Library)
http://vimeo.com/13016416#
Brief video describing annotated bibliographies in an “entertaining” way. (Requires a sense of humor or at least suspension of stuffy seriousness.)
 
Bibliobouts
(University of Michigan)
http://bibliobouts.org/
Process-oriented online game in which students collect sources, add them to a bibliography, and other students rate the quality of the resources. At the end of the game the class will have created a collaborative bibliography of high quality resources. Should be used in conjunction with a specific assignment.
 
The Information Cycle
(Penn State Libraries)
http://www.libraries.psu.edu/content/dam/psul/up/lls/audiovideo/infocycle_2008.swf
Video describing how information is created and disseminated from the moment an event occurs through the days, months and years following the event (more than 5 minutes long).
 
 
Citation
 
Referencing Tool
(Griffith University Information Services)
https://app.secure.griffith.edu.au/reference_tool/
Interactive tool that allows students to select a citation style (APA, MLA, AGPS Harvard or Vancouver), then select the media type, then select the format type to reveal proper format and examples of how to cite that source. Includes how to cite non-traditional web sources that are often not addressed in other guides.