Research Guides: Human Behavior and Social Environment

Bookmark and Share
First Looks -- Background Information
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers, Magazines, Multimedia, Pamphlets
  • All full-text

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text
Books and Media
Use RVOneSearch or the Library Catalog to find books or media.

Some keywords you might try are:
  • Affirmative Action            
  • Reverse Discrimination
  • Race Relations
  • Reparations
  • Abortion
  • Late Term Abortion
  • Pro Choice
  • Pro Life
  • Anti-abortion
  • Gay Marriage
  • Gender Equality
  • Marraige
  • Polygamy
  • Same-sex Marriage
  • Women's Equality
  • Women's Rights
Scholarly Journal Articles
To support your arguements you will need to find scholarly articles.

If you are unsure how to identify scholarly articles you can look at the Identifying Scholarly Articles webpage.

You can find scholarly articles in RVOneSearch or go directly to the RVCC Databases page.

Some good databases to try in this class are:

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Book Search
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info