Research Guides: Frederick Douglass

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Print Location: PS153.N5 O96 1997

Handbooks & Guides

Abraham Lincoln and the Second American Revolution
Print Location: E457.2.M4758 1991

Four Took Freedom: The Lives of Harriet Tubman, Frederick Douglass, Robert Smalls, and Blanche K. Bruce
Print Location: E185.96 .S78

Giants: The Parallel Lives of Federick Douglass & Abraham Lincoln
Print Location: E449.D75 S73 2008

Political Thought of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449.D75 B83 2012

There Was Once a Slave ... The Heroic Story of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D758

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.

Primary Sources

Classic Slave Narratives
Print Location: E444.C63 2002

In Memoriam: Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449.D753 1971

Life and Times of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D744 1966

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449 .D749

Reports

Frederick Douglass
Print Location: E449.D75M374 1990

Frederick Douglass: A Biography
Print Location: E449 .D755

DVD

Federick Douglass DVD
Print Location: E449.D75 F74 2005

Ebooks

Subject Specialist
Picture: Karen Thomas

Karen Thomas
kthomas@raritanval.edu
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: ext. 8350

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files