Research Guides: Film & Film Criticism

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Communication & Mass Media Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Communications, Mass Media
  • Scholarly Journals, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
  • Some full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Literature
  • Literary Criticism, Scholarly Journals, Biographies, Magazines, Encyclopedias, Book Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and many more

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television
Print Location: PN2012 .W51
Reference Collection
Multi-volume
Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings & Series
Print Location: PN1997.8 .A76 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
Print Location: PN1997.85 .T54 1998
Reference Collection
Film Encyclopedia
Print Location: PN1993.45 .K34 1998
Reference Collection
Film: An International History of the Medium
Print Location: PN1993.5 .A1 S55
Reference Collection
History of the American Cinema
Print Location: PN1993.5 .U6 H55
Reference Collection
10 vols.
Magill's Survey of Cinema (English Lang.-1st Series)
Print Location: PN1993.45.M3
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Magill's Survey of Cinema (English Lang.-2ndSeries)
Print Location: PN1993.45.M32
Reference Collection
6 vols.
Magill's Survey of Cinema (Silent Films)
Print Location: PN1995.75 .M33
Reference Collection
3 vols.
Oxford History of World Cinema
Print Location: PN1993.5 .A1 O96 1996
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers
Print Location: PN1997.8 .I58
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Oxford Companion to Film
Print Location: PN1993.45 O9
Reference Collection

Websites

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
American Film Institute Resource contains images Resource contains video
Source: American Film Institute
Internet's largest film and media directory. Links to actors, TV, cinema, video, organizations, production, research.
British Council Film
Source: Source: The British Council
Access to the British Film Catalog provides information on recent features, shorts, and documentaries. Also information on international film festivals.
Classic Movies
Source: About.com
Links to genre films, cult films and history of film.
Film Noir
Source: Tim Dirks
Explores the "film noir" style of film making, including details about specific films.
Greatest Films
Source: Tim Dirks, filmsite.org
A site concentrating on classic Hollywood/American film. Includes commentary, historical background, reference materials, reviews and extensive information about film genres.
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Source: Gary Johnson
A quarterly electronic journal about movies, TV, videos, and other popular visual arts. Includes current and past films.
IMDb -- Internet Movie Database
Source: IMDb is part of the Amazon.com companies
An international organization aiming to provide useful information on movies from around the world from the earliest cinema to the latest releases and including movies in production. Includes filmographies, plot summaries, character names, movie ratings, technical data, reviews, and box office grosses.
Metacritic Film
Source: Metacritic, Inc.
Reviews movies based on a survey of critics nationwide. Emphasizes movies since 1999, but has scores for some older releases.
MovieFlix.com Resource contains video
Source: MovieFlix.com
Movies that are in the public domain are available for free from this site. Viewing requires RealPlayer. 28 categories of film are available.
MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Source: Stewart M. Clamen
Wonderful site for finding movie reviews. It includes more than 37,000 titles.
Top 100 American Films of the 20th Century
Source: American Film Institute
Information about the top 100 films as well as the 100 funniest and the 100 top box office hits.
Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies Page
Source: Alan Liu, Professor of English, University of California, Santa Barbara
Select Film/Video to link to a rich selection of resources in this area.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Film Review Annual
Print Location: PN1995 .F465
Reference Collection
1986-2002
Magill's Cinema Annual
Print Location: PN1993.45 .M33
Reference Collection
1982-2009
VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever
Print Location: PN1992.95 .V554
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • PN1993-1999 -- Motion picture
  • PN1997-1997.85 -- Plays, scenarios, etc.
  • PN2000-3307 -- Dramatic representation. The theater
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files