Research Guides: Environmental Science

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

GreenFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Environmental Sciences, Agriculture
  • Scholarly Journals, Government Publications, Reports
  • Some full-text; links to full-text in other databases when available
  • EBSCOHost search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • U.S. & International Newspapers, Magazines, State & Federal Cases, Company Reports, Country Information
  • All Full-text
  • Publications include Business World, The Guardian, The Independent, New York Times, Moscow News, Wall Street Journal Abstracts, and many more
  • Coverage from 1980 to present

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

Encyclopedias

American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
Print Location: GE55.B43 2000
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Print Location: GE10.M66 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
Print Location: TD9.A84 2001
Reference Collection
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics
Print Location: HB61.E55 1994
Reference Collection
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
Print Location: GE10.M38 1993
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Economics
Print Location: HB61.B554 1997
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Environmental Economics
Print Location: HC79.E5 D53 2001
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Environmental Law
Print Location: K3584.6.G55 2000
Reference Collection
Environment and the Law: A Dictionary
Print Location: KF3775.A68P38
Reference Collection
Environment: A to Z
Print Location: GE10.H67 2001
Reference Collection
Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
Print Location: TD9. W95 2001
Reference Collection
2 volumes

Handbooks & Guides

Earth Science and the Environment
Print Location: QE33.T45 2006
Circulating Books
Environmental Hazards: Toxic Waste and Hazardous Material
Print Location: TD1030.M56 1991
Circulating books
Oceans
Print Location: GC11.2.D39 1999
Reference Collection
Recycling in America
Print Location: TD794.5.S77 1997
Circulating Books
World Energy Outlook
Print Location: HD9502.A2W6684 2004
Reference Collection

Websites

Endangered Species Home Page
Source: US Fish & Wildlife Service
Energy Consumption
Source: Energy Information Administration, US Department of Energy
Environmental Protection Agency
Source: Environmental Protection Agency
Leading the national environmental science efforts.
Population Topics
Source: U.S. Census Bureau

Organizations

Statistics

Agricultural Statistics
Print Location: HD1751.A43
Reference Collection

Government Information

Almanacs & Yearbooks

State of the World
Print Location: HC 59.S74
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
regan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300
Office Hours / More Info

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • GE -- Environmental Sciences
  • HC -- Economic history and conditions
  • QC -- Physics
  • TD -- Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
  • TJ -- Mechanical engineering and machinery
  • TL -- Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files