Research Guides: Environmental Field Studies

Bookmark and Share
First Looks - Background Information
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Science
  • Encyclopedias, Biographies, Diagrams, Dictionary, Experiments, Multimedia
  • Publications include Biomes of the EarthChronology of Science, Essential ChemistryFrontiers in SpaceScience and Society, and many more
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text
Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Computer Science, Mathematics
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Content from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & TechnologyMcGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and Science News
Books and Suggested Subjects
Forests
Forestry
Rainforests
Woodlands

Cronon, William. Changes in the Land: Indians, Colonists, and the Ecology of New England. NY: Hill and Wang, 2003.
     GF504.N45 C76 2003

Wacker, Peter O. and Paul G. E. Clemens. Land Use in Early New Jersey: A Historical Geography. Newark, NJ: New Jersey Historical Society, 1995.
    HD266.N5 W33 1995

Lurie, Maxine N. and Marc Mappen, eds. Encyclopedia of New Jersey. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2004.
Ref. F132.E52 2004

Lurie, Maxine N. and Peter O. Wacker, eds. Mapping New Jersey, New Brunswick, NJ: Rivergate, 2009.
Atlas Stand. G1255. S5 2009

Jukofsky, Diane. Encyclopedia of Rainforests. Westport, CT: Oryx, 2001.
Ref. QH86.J85 2001
Databases, Journals
Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
GreenFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Environmental Sciences, Agriculture
  • Scholarly Journals, Government Publications, Reports
  • Some full-text; links to full-text in other databases when available
  • EBSCOHost search interface
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface
Citation Style
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 7th ed.
Ref. T11.S386 2006

CSE Citation Style -- Quick Guide
    A useful cheat-sheet to the CSE Manual by the librarians of the Thompson Rivers University.
 http://www.tru.ca/library/pdf/csecitationstyle.pdf

All articles found in ProQuest Central have citation information available in CSE format
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Book Search
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
robert.egan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300