Research Guides: Criminal Justice

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Criminal Justice Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Legal Studies, Criminal Justice
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Dissertations & Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications include American Journal of Criminal Justice, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Women Police, and many more
  • ProQuest search interface

LexisNexis Legal Search Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Legal Studies
  • N.J. & Federal Court Decisions, Law Reviews, Shepard’s Citations, Statutes & Codes, Legal Reference
  • All full-text

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Crime
Print Location: HV6789 .S54 2001
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Print Location: HV6017.E524 2002
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System
Print Location: RA1057.55.P34 2004
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science
Print Location: HV8073 .B425 2004
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting
Print Location: HV6773.N48 2004
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Print Location: HV9104 .E58 2003
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Serial Killers
Print Location: HV6245 .N49 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Print Location: HV6046 .E56 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism
Print Location: HV6431 .E53 2003
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law
Print Location: HV7436 .G8783 2002
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Mafia Encyclopedia, 2nd ed
Print Location: HV6441 .S53 1999
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Criminal Justice and Criminology: Concepts and Terms
Print Location: HV7411 .C74 2002
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Print Location: HV7419.5 .C75 1998
Reference Collection
FBI: A Comprehensive Reference Guide
Print Location: HV8144 .F43 T48 1999
Reference Collection
Global Terrorism
Print Location: HV6431.H43 2004
Circulating Books
Handbook of Crisis and Emergency Management
Print Location: HV551.3 .H36 2001
Reference Collection
Mastering the Police Officer Exam
Print Location: HV8143.R34 2005
Circulating Books
Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook
Print Location: HV6556 .P78 1999
Reference Collection
Sourcebook on Violence Against Women
Print Location: HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001
Reference Collection

Websites

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Source: U.S. Department of Justice
Criminal justice statistics collected by the federal government.
Law, Law Enforcement, and Policing Sources
Source: McGraw-Hill Ryerson
Includes links to websites for Law Enforcement, Law and Technology, and Corrections.
Officer.com
Links to many law enforcement agencies around the world, lists of most wanted worldwide, special police operations links, employment and training opportunities.
Official Directory of State Patrol and State Police
Source: Senior Sergeant (Retired) Terrance D. Martin, Vermont State Police
Contains a directory of state trooper and sheriff-related Web sites for each of the fifty United States.
Racial Profiling Data Collection Resource Center
Source: Northeastern University
A central clearinghouse for police agencies, legislators, community leaders, social scientists, legal researchers, and journalists to access information about current data collection efforts, legislation and model policies, police-community initiatives, and methodological tools that can be used to collect and analyze data.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Source: Bureau of Justice Statistics
Brings together 600 tables of statistical information from over 100 sources. Includes information on the characteristics of the criminal justice system, public attitudes toward crime and criminal-justice related topics, nature and distribution of known offenses, characteristics and distribution of persons arrested, judicial processing of defendants, and persons under correctional supervision.
Uniform Crime Reports
Source: FBI
Statistics published annually. Includes Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Organizations

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • HV6001 - 7220.5 -- Criminology
  • HV7231 - 9960 -- Criminal Justice Administration
  • HV8031 - 8080 -- Police Duty
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files