Research Guides: Computer Science

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

ABI/Inform Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications include American Economic Review, Economist, Financial Times, Journal of Economic Literature, MIT Sloan Management Review, Wall Street Journal, and many more
  • ProQuest search interface

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Computer Science
  • Conference Proceedings, Journals, Magazines, Multimedia, Scholarly Journals
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications of the Association of Computing Machinery

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

Proquest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and many more
  • Coverage varies by title; earliest publications from 1977 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Computer Science.
Print Location: QA76.15.E48 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History
Print Location: QA76.15.E53 2001
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
Print Location: Z1006.E566 2005
Reference Collection
Internet Encyclopedia
Print Location: TK5105.875.I57 I5466 2004
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

1001 Computer Words You Need to Know
Print Location: QA76.5.A125 2004
Reference Collection
Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary
Print Location: QA76.15. F733 2001

Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms
Print Location: QA76.15.D667 2000
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Multimedia: Terms & Acronyms
Print Location: QA76.15.H318 2005
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Information Security
Print Location: TK5105.59.H35 2006
Reference Collection

Websites

Computerworld
Source: IDG Publishing Network
Up-to-the-minute news related to technology and information for IT users. Also has blogs, webcasts, podcasts, videos, and reports on advances in technology.
Digital Trends
Source: Digital Trends
Digital Trends helps people make the most of the hi-tech lifestyle by providing sneak peeks, one-of-a-kind product reviews, editorials and technology news about trendsetting consumer products and services. Read more.
Dr. Dobbs Portal
Source: Dr. Dobb’s Journal
Articles written by professional software developers and architects to explore new technologies, evaluate programming styles, and share tips about all languages, platforms and tools.
Ethics in Computing
Source: Dr. Edward Gehringer, North Carolina State University -- Covers topics such as computer abuse, commerce, privacy, and intellectual property.
Free Online Dictionary of Computing
Source: University of London, Imperial College Department of Computing
A guide to cyberbabble.
Help-Site Computer Manuals
Source: Nicholas Reynolds
Help-Site contains links to computer-related support documents and sites including FAQ lists, tutorials, manuals, and official or unofficial support sites.
Infoworld
Source: IDG Publishing Network
Enterprise and business technology news and product reviews. News on technology trends and solutions, comparative product reviews and buying information, IT product specs and user reviews.
JavaWorld
Source: Network World, Inc.
Written by Java programmers, this site is designed for developers, programmers, and enterprise managers who need information about Java programming language and related technologies.
Macworld
Source: Mac Publishing LLC
News, reviews, help, how-to's, videos, and podcasts related to Apple products, including Mac, Mac software, Mac OS X, the iPod and iTunes, and the iPhone. Provides reviews of Apple products and Mac-compatible hardware.
PC Magazine
Source: Ziff Davis Publishing Holdings, Inc.
Designed for technology buyers, this site offers in-depth, authoritative, lab tested comparative reviews of computing and Internet products.
PC World Website
Source: PC World Communications
Offers authoritative reviews of technology products, current pricing information, news updates, how-to articles, features and special reports, and interactive tools. The site also provides downloads of evaluated freeware and shareware.
Programmers Heaven
Source: Synchron Data
Online reference for programmers. Information on Pascal, COBOL, C, C++, Java and others. Provides downloads and links to programming-related Web pages.
SlashDot
Source: Geeknet, Inc.
Technology and social media website dedicated to science and technology related news.
Udemy- Computer Science Resources Online
Source: Udemy.com
Udemy offers many online courses in many different subject areas. Udemy has put together a page of courses geared towards students at Raritan Valley Community College, as well as other computer science courses which may be of use.
Java Tutorials for RVCC students
Other Java Tutorials
The Pong Project- build Pong using Java
 
W3 Schools
Source: W3Schools
At W3 Schools you will find all the Web-building tutorials you need, from basic HTML and XHTML to advanced XML, SQL, Database, Multimedia and WAP.
Wired Website
Source: CondeNet, Inc.
Focuses on how technology is changing the world in business, science, entertainment, education, culture, and politics. Provides commentaries, authoritative reviews, and practical hands-tutorials.

Organizations

Ebooks

Safari Computer Science E-Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Computer Science, Business
  • Ebooks
  • All full-text

Subject Specialist
Picture: Sheila Arakelian

Sheila Arakelian
sarakeli@raritanval.edu
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: ext. 8350

Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
alyssa.valenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Browse the Collection
  • E660-738 -- Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900
  • Q300-390 -- Cybernetics
  • Q350-390 -- Information Theory
  • QA75.5-76.95 -- Computer Science
  • TK5105 -- Internet and Networking
  • TK7885-7895 -- Computer Engineering, Computer Hardware
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files