Research Guides: Biographical Information

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Biography Reference Bank Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Literature, Popular Culture
  • Biographies, Book Reviews, Essays, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Content from Current Biography, Junior Authors & Illustrators, and World Authors Series
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Contemporary Authors Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Literature
  • Biographies
  • All full-text
  • Content from Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
  • Covers 20th & 21st century authors

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • U.S. & International Newspapers, Magazines, State & Federal Cases, Company Reports, Country Information
  • All Full-text
  • Publications include Business World, The Guardian, The Independent, New York Times, Moscow News, Wall Street Journal Abstracts, and many more
  • Coverage from 1980 to present

Proquest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and many more
  • Coverage varies by title; earliest publications from 1977 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
American National Biography
Print Location: CT213 .A68 1999
Reference Collection
24 vols.
Arab American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E184.A65 A48 2000
Reference Collection
Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists
Print Location: Q141 .B532
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia
Print Location: CT103 .C26 1998
Reference Collection
Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision
Print Location: Z1224 .C6
Reference Collection
Multi-volume
Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television
Print Location: PN2012 .W51
Reference Collection
Multi-volume
Dictionary of Hispanic Biography
Print Location: CT1343 .D53 1996
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Print Location: CT103 .E56
Reference Collection
19 vols.
Famous Actors and Actresses on the American Stage
Print Location: Famous Actors and Actresses on the American Stage
Reference Collection
2 vols.
National Cyclopedia of American Biography
Print Location: E176 .N27
Reference Collection
21 vols.
Notable Asian Americans
Print Location: E184 .O6 N67
Reference Collection
Notable Latino Americans
Print Location: E184 .S75 M435 1997
Reference Collection
Notable Twentieth Century Scientists
Print Location: Q141 .N73
Reference Collection
4 vols.
Outstanding Women Athletes
Print Location: GV697 .A1 W69 1998
Reference Collection
Scribner Encyclopedia Of American Lives
Print Location: CT213 .S374 2003
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Who Was Who in America
Print Location: E176 .W64
Reference Collection
Multi-volume
Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975
Print Location: N6536 .W56
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biography
Print Location: E176 .D563
Reference Collection
11 vols. + supplements
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Musicians
Print Location: ML105 .S612
Reference Collection
Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Print Location: CT103 .C4 1997
Reference Collection
Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Print Location: Q141 .C55 2000
Reference Collection
Dictionary of National Biography
Print Location: DA28 .D47
Reference Collection
24 vols.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Print Location: ML100 .N48
Reference Collections
29 vols.
Notable American Women, 1607-1950
Print Location: CT3260 .N57
Reference Collection
3 vols.
Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century
Print Location: CT3260.N5725 2004
Reference Collection
Who Was Who in Native American History
Print Location: E89 .W35
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Explorers and Discoverers of the World
Print Location: G200.E88
Reference Collection
Who's Who in America
Print Location: E176 .W642
Reference Collection
2 vols.

Websites

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Source: U.S. Congress
Brief reports on all members of Congress from 1774 on.
Biography.com Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Source: Biography.com
A site created by the A&E network and based on the popular show Biography. The site offers basic infor on more than 25,000 famous persons.
InfoPlease's Biography Resource contains images
Source: Infoplease
Over 30,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures. Search by name or by category.
IPL: Biographies
Source: Internet Public Library
Links to many webpages containing biographies of people in a variety of fields.
Who2
Source: R.F. Holznagel and Paul Hehn
Who2 provides basic facts about famous people, alive and deceased, and links to 4 more informative sites for information about the person. Information about “famous” fictional characters is also included. The For Students tab provides citation information for the website profiles.
Yahoo! Biography
Source: Yahoo!
Search within the directory for websites containing biographical information. Use the categories to narrow your search by time period or type of person.

Images

American Characters: Selections from the National Portrait Gallery
Print Location: CT215 .L49 1999
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • B108-5802 -- Individual philosophers, by period
  • BJ71-1185 -- Individual ethical philosophers
  • BL71.5-73 -- Religion, biography
  • BM750-755 -- Judaism, biography
  • BP70-80 -- Islam, biography (including Mohammed)
  • BQ840-899 -- Buddhism, biography
  • BR1690-1725 -- Christianity, biography
  • CT -- Biography (general)
  • E176 -- United States History, biography
  • JA92 -- Collective biography of political scientists
  • K170 -- Law, biography
  • LA2301-2396 -- Education, biography
  • ML385-429 -- Music, biography
  • PN451-497 -- Literature, biography
  • PS126-138 -- American literature, biography
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files