Research Guides: Art

Bookmark and Share
Table of Contents
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Art Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Art
  • Scholarly Journals, Images, Dissertations & Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Earliest publications from 1984 to present

ArtStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
  • Art
  • Images
  • Images from numerous collections including the American Folk Art Museum, J. Paul Getty Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art,  Rijksmuseum, and many more

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

Artcyclopedia Resource contains images
Source: John Malyon, web developer
Sometimes referred to as the Fine Art Search Engine. This site provides a database of over 7,500 artists, with references to sites on the World Wide Web where artists' works can be viewed online.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Print Location: N31 .E4833
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Art
Print Location: N31.D5
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art
Print Location: N6490.C5317 1999
Reference Collection
Dictionary of Women Artists
Print Location: N8354.D53 1997
Reference Collection
Harper Collins Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques
Print Location: N33 .M37 1992
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to Art
Print Location: N33.O93 2004
Reference Collection
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Print Location: N33.O93 2004
Reference Collection
Oxford History of Classical Art
Print Location: N5610.O84
Reference Collection
Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists of the 20th Century
Print Location: N33 .P74 2000
Reference Collection
Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975
Print Location: N6536 .W56
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Art Law: the Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers and Artists
Print Location: KF4288.Z9 L47 1998
Reference Collection
From Abacus to Zeus : A Handbook of Art History
Print Location: N33 .P5 1977
Reference Collection
Legal Guide for the Visual Artist
Print Location: KF390.A7 C73 1999
Reference Collection

Magazines

Art in America
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Artforum
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

ARTNews
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Websites

Art History Research Databases Resource contains images
Source: The Frick Collection
The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library publish unique databases for researchers in the history of art, including an array of archival finding aids. This site also includes the Frick image gallery.
Art History Resources on the Web Resource contains images
Source: Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College
Numerous links to art history sites ranging from prehistoric to twenty-first century art. Also includes non-European art. Links to worldwide museums and galleries
ArtLex-On-line Art Dictionary
Source: Michael Delahunt, MFA
Definitions of over 3,500 art terms along with numerous illustrations.
Getty Research Portal Some full text available
Source: J. Paul Getty Trust
The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts held at contributing institutions.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Resource contains images
Source: The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Provides a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. Created by the museum's staff, the timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
Louvre Resource contains images
Source: The Louvre
Comprehensive guide to the museum. Of most interest to the art historian is the Collections Section which is divided into Oriental and Islamic; Egyptian; Greek, Etruscan and Roman; Sculpture; Objets d'Art; paintings; and graphic arts.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Resource contains images
Source: Metropolitan Museum of Art
Provides an introduction to the largest art museum in the United States. Has links to the collections, special exhibitions, and educational resources. Great introduction to the collections and organization of the Met.
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages Resource contains images
Source: School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan
The title says it all. Numerous links to research resources, image collections, and worldwide art museums.
Museum of Modern Art Resource contains images
Source: Museum of Modern Art
Includes information on current and upcoming exhibits as well as links to helpful resources.
National Museum of American Illustration Resource contains images
Source: National Museum of American Illustration, Newport, RI
Provides a virtual tour of the collection, as well as in depth biographical information on certain artists.
National Museum of Women in the Arts Resource contains images
Source: National Museum of Women in the Arts
Covers women artists of all periods and is international in scope.
Smithsonian American Art Museum Some full text available Resource contains images
Source: Smithsonian Museum
Thumbnails of much of the museum's collection. Also includes links to the American Art journal with full text articles and access to the museum's library catalog.
Tate Gallery Resource contains images
Source: Tate Gallery
Provides access to the national collection of British art since 1500 and to international modern and contemporary art. Some 50,000 works of art are illustrated. The online catalog is also impressive and can be used by students to find information about individual artists.

Images

Art Images for College Teaching Resource contains images
Source: Allan T. Kohl, Minneapolis College of Art and Design
Royalty free images made available for the educational community. Many of the images are keyed to commonly used textbooks for undergraduate art history courses.
ArtStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
  • Art
  • Images
  • Images from numerous collections including the American Folk Art Museum, J. Paul Getty Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art,  Rijksmuseum, and many more

Landscape Prints and Drawings Resource contains images
Source: Online Archive of California and the Grunwald Center for the Graphic Arts -- An online collection of 40 landscape prints and drawings, searchable and able to be browsed.

Atlases

Cultural Atlas of the Renaissance
Print Location: N6370.C84 1993
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
alyssa.valenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • N -- Visual Arts (General)
  • NB -- Sculpture
  • NC -- Drawing. Design. Illustration
  • ND -- Painting
  • NK -- Decorative arts. Applied arts
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files