Database List: All

Bookmark and Share
Databases
ABCEFGHIJLMNPRSWNumAll

ABI/Inform Complete
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications include American Economic Review, Economist, Financial Times, Journal of Economic Literature, MIT Sloan Management Review, Wall Street Journal, and many more
  • ProQuest search interface

Academic Search Complete
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Access Science
  • Sciences, Computer Science, Mathematics
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Content from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and Science News

ACM Digital Library
  • Computer Science
  • Conference Proceedings, Journals, Magazines, Multimedia, Scholarly Journals
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications of the Association of Computing Machinery

African American History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Indian History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Women's History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years 
  • Facts on File Interface

Ancient and Medieval History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Battles that Changed the World, Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World, Mythology A to Z, World Leaders Past and Present, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from prehistory to 1500s
  • Facts on File search interface

Art Full Text
  • Art
  • Scholarly Journals, Images, Dissertations & Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Earliest publications from 1984 to present

ArtStor
  • Art
  • Images
  • Images from numerous collections including the American Folk Art Museum, J. Paul Getty Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art,  Rijksmuseum, and many more

Backstage
  • Music, Theater
  • Acting Resources, Casting Notices, Newspapers, Theater Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Contact your instructor for login information

Biography Reference Bank
  • Business, Literature, Popular Culture
  • Biographies, Book Reviews, Essays, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Content from Current Biography, Junior Authors & Illustrators, and World Authors Series
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Bloom's Literature
  • Literature
  • Encyclopedias, Reference Books, Magazines, Images, Multimedia, Biographies
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Facts on File's Companions to Literature, various literary encyclopedias, Harold Bloom's works of critical analysis and writing strategies, and many more
  • Facts on File search interface

Book Review Index Plus
  • Literature
  • Book Reviews
  • Mostly citation information; some full-text articles
  • Publications include American Journal of Education, Belles Lettres, Choice, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, New York Times Book Review, Publishers Weekly, World Literature Today, Yale Review, and many more
  • Coverage of publications from 1965 to present

Books in Print
  • Literature
  • Book Reviews
  • Citation information; not full-text
  • Publications include Booklist, Boston Book Review, Choice, Kirkus Review, Library Journal, Los Angeles Times, Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog, New York Times Book Review, School Library Journal, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and many more

Britannica Online
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedia, Dictionary, Biography,
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, and Britannica Book of the Year

Business Source Premier
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Reports,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

CINAHL Complete
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • 1981 to present; embargos on some publications
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Communication & Mass Media
  • Communications, Mass Media
  • Scholarly Journals, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
  • Some full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Contemporary Authors
  • Literature
  • Biographies
  • All full-text
  • Content from Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
  • Covers 20th & 21st century authors

CQ Researcher
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

Credo Reference
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • Legal Studies, Criminal Justice
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Dissertations & Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications include American Journal of Criminal Justice, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Journal of Forensic Sciences, Women Police, and many more
  • ProQuest search interface

Curriculum Resource Center
  • Education
  • Handouts, Lesson Plans
  • All full-text
  • Facts on File search interface

eBooks (from Ebsco)
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Ebooks
  • All full-text
  • Uses Ebscohost search interface

ebrary
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Ebooks
  • All full-text
  • Limited number of pages can be downloaded to PDF

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
  • Education
  • Scholarly Journals, Conference Proceedings, Government Publications, Reports, Dissertations & Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include Research in Education, Resources in Education, CIJE, and many more
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Facts on File History
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Searches six Facts on File databases: African-American History Online; American History Online; American Indian History Online; American Women's History Online; Ancient & Medieval History Online; Modern World History Online
  • Facts on File search interface

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
  • Careers
  • Encyclopedias
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
  • Facts on File search interface

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006
  • Sociology, Gender Studies, History
  • Primary Sources, Biographies, Essays, Images, Laws, Legal Documents
  • All full-text
  • E-book of Great Events from History: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender Events, 1848-2006 (Print copy available in library)

GenderWatch
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Great Events from History: The Nineteenth Century
  • History
  • Encyclopedia
  • All full-text
  • E-book of Great Events from History: The Nineteenth Century (Print copy available in library)

GreenFile
  • Environmental Sciences, Agriculture
  • Scholarly Journals, Government Publications, Reports
  • Some full-text; links to full-text in other databases when available
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Health and Wellness Resource Center
  • Medicine
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Magazines, Pamphlets, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Websites  
  • Mostly full-text; some citations to journal articles
  • Publications include Gale medical encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary, Medical Health Information Directory, and many more

Health Reference Center
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
  • Facts on File search interface

Health Reference Center Academic
  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Medicine
  • Scholarly Journals, Reports, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include CareNotesConsumer LabDrugNotesGale Encyclopedia of Medicine,Harvard Special Health Report, and many more

Hoover's Company Records
  • Business
  • Reports
  • Mostly full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Content from Hoover’s Company Records published within the last month
  • ProQuest search interface

Informe
  • Eventos de Actualidad, Cultura Popular; Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Revistas Hispanas, Articulos Académicos Latinoamericanos; Hispanic Magazines, Scholarly Journals
  • Varios articulos completos, algunos contienen solo referencias bibliográficas o resúmenes; Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Programa que permite hacer busquedas en español; Spanish search interface

JSTOR
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

Learning Express Library Test Prep
  • Education
  • Study Guides, E-books, Practice Tests
  • All full-text
  • Publications include test prep for CLEP, ACT, SAT, GRE, GMAT, ASVAB and other occupational and college-entry tests.

LexisNexis Academic
  • Multidisciplinary
  • U.S. & International Newspapers, Magazines, State & Federal Cases, Company Reports, Country Information
  • All Full-text
  • Publications include Business World, The Guardian, The Independent, New York Times, Moscow News, Wall Street Journal Abstracts, and many more
  • Coverage from 1980 to present

LexisNexis Business Search
  • Business
  • Company Reports, Magazines, Newspapers, Patents, Trademarks
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Hoover’s Company Records, Consumer Reports, Morningstar reports, SEC Filings, Zack’s Investment Research, and many more
  • Most current information available

LexisNexis Legal Search
  • Legal Studies
  • N.J. & Federal Court Decisions, Law Reviews, Shepard’s Citations, Statutes & Codes, Legal Reference
  • All full-text

LexisNexis People Search
  • Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Biographies, Newspapers
  • All full-text
  • Publications include the New York Times, Associated Press, Marquis Who’s Who, Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory, and many more
  • Coverage varies by title

LexisNexis Professional
  • Legal Studies
  • State & Federal Legal Cases, Shepard’s Citations, Patents, Public records, Trademarks, Law Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Publications include legal analysis from Collier, Nimmer, Chisum, Gilson, Moore, Larson, Appleman, Weinstein and many more
  • In-library use only; see Librarian for login 

Literary Reference Center
  • Literature
  • Biographies, Literacy Criticism, Book Reviews, Poems, Short Stories, E-books
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and many more
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Literature Critical Insights
  • Literature
  • Literary Criticism
  • All full-text
  • E-book versions of Salem Press Critical Insights series (Print copies available in the library)
  • See full-list of titles available 

Literature Resource Center
  • Literature
  • Literary Criticism, Scholarly Journals, Biographies, Magazines, Encyclopedias, Book Reviews
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and many more

Magill's Medical Guide
  • Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health
  • Encyclopedia
  • All full-text
  • Content from Magill's Medical Guide
  • Most recent edition

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Dictionary
  • All full-text
  • Content from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary
  • Most recent edition

Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Thesaurus
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Thesaurus
  • All full-text
  • Content from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Thesaurus
  • Most recent edition

Modern World History Online
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Biographical Dictionary of Modern World Leaders, Dictators & Tyrants: Absolute Rulers and Would-Be Rulers in World History, Encyclopedia of World War I, Speeches in World History, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from the 15th century to present

New York Times - Current
  • Current Events, Popular Culture, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Mostly full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Coverage includes articles from 2005 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

New York Times - Historical
  • History, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspaper, Images
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Coverage includes articles from September 18, 1851 to 2005
  • ProQuest search interface

NoodleTools (Citation Generator)
  • Citation, notetaking, and outlining tool
  • Use while writing research papers to help with recording sources and organizing your ideas and citations
  • New users must create a free account from on-campus
  • Contact the library with questions - reference@raritanval.edu

Nursing and Allied Health Source
  • Nursing, Allied Health
  • Scholarly Journals, Evidence-Based Research, Trade Journals, Dissertations and Theses
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract  information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Points of View Reference Center
  • Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers, Magazines, Multimedia, Pamphlets
  • All full-text

Proquest Central
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Proquest Newsstand
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and many more
  • Coverage varies by title; earliest publications from 1977 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

PsycArticles
  • Psychology
  • Scholarly Journals
  • All full-text
  • Content from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association)

PubMed
  • Medicine
  • Mostly citations; some citations link to full-text
  • Content from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) 

Reference USA
  • Business
  • Directories, Government Publications, Newspapers, Reports
  • All full-text
  • Most current information 

Referencia Latina
  • Multidisciplinario; Multidisciplinary
  • Publicaciones Académicas, Revistas, Periódicos, Diccionario Español – Inglés, Libros Electrónicos; Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Spanish-English Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, E-books
  • Varios articulos completos, algunos contienen solo referencias bibliográficas o resúmenes; Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Programa que permite hacer busquedas en español; Spanish search interface

Safari Computer Science E-Books
  • Computer Science, Business
  • Ebooks
  • All full-text

SAGE Journals Online
Health sciences
Life & Biomedical sciences
Materials science & Engineering
Social sciences & Humanities
Science Online
  • Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Science
  • Encyclopedias, Biographies, Diagrams, Dictionary, Experiments, Multimedia
  • Publications include Biomes of the Earth, Chronology of Science, Essential Chemistry, Frontiers in Space, Science and Society, and many more

ScienceDirect
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

SocIndex
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Springer eBooks
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Ebooks
  • All full-text

Wall Street Journal Online
  • Current Events
  • Newspaper, Images
  • All full-text
  • Coverage from 1984 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

Wiley Library Online
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, E-books, Manuals
  • Some full-text articles; some articles have citation information only

World Atlas
  • Geography
  • Maps, Images, Encyclopedia
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Most current information

World Data Analyst
  • Economics, Geography, History
  • Encyclopedia, Graphs, Statistics
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Current and historical information available for most countries

World Geography and Culture Online
  • Geography, History, Current Events, Cultural Studies
  • Maps, Statistics, Images, News
  • All full-text

WorldCat
  • Mutidisciplinary
  • Books, Periodicals, A/V Materials, Articles
  • Citations only
  • Provides library holdings information for materials throughout the world's libraries
  • Free public search interface available at http://www.worldcat.org

Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files