Controversial Subject Areas:
Here are some helpful subject headings to search for in our catalog and databases. These are just a starting point
| Abortion Affirmative Action Aids Alcohol Abuse Animal Rights Censorship Child Abuse Child Labor Children's Rights Cloning Cosmetic Surgery Crime Death Penalty Dress Codes/School Uniforms Drug Abuse Drunk Driving Economy |
Education Environment Euthanasia/Assisted Suicide Evolution vs. Creation Feminism Gambling Gay Rights Global Warming Gun Control Hate Crimes Homelessness Homosexuality Human Rights Immigrants & Immigration Informed Consent Juvenile Justice Mandatory Sentencing Mandatory Vaccination |
Marijuana, Legalization of Nanotechnology Napster Nuclear Disarmament Obesity Population Organ sales Prayer in School Race Relations Religion and Morality Separation: Church v. State Sex Education Smoking Stem Cell Research Student Rights Technology Terrorism Violence in Schools Welfare |
Debates About Critical Issues in Society:
Titles in the following series facilitate the exploration of many sides of a “hot topic.” Written by experts, each book contains a bibliography of periodical articles, books and organizations specific to the topic addressed.
| Current Controversies Series Issues in Focus Series Opposing Viewpoints Series Reference Shelf Series |
Social Institutions and Social Change Social Issues in Global Perspective Social Movements Past and Present Social Problems and Social Issue Series |
Don’t Miss:
CQ Researcher – found in print Ref H35.C67 or online (“Periodical Locator” on our homepage). The CQ Researcher is published in print and online 44 times a year. Each single-themed report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report includes a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher has won awards for journalism excellence.
Specialized Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, etc.
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information about Social Issues. Introductory information, statistics, trends, and key issues on each topic are readily available. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information about Social Issues.
Age Groups:
- Aging in America A to Z
REF HQ1064.U5 B379 2001 - Atlas of the Baby Boom Generation
REF E741.A88 2000 - American Generations: Who they are, how they live, what they think
REF HC110.C6 M545 1998 - The Millennials: Americans under age 25
REF HQ796 .M55 2001
Biotechnology or Animal Research:
- Animals and the Law: A Sourcebook
REF KF390.5.A5 C87 2001 - Animal Rights
REF HV4708.Y84 2004 - Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering
REF TP248.23.4684 2004 - Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology
REF TP248.16 .E539 2000 - The Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering
REF TP248.16.S84 2001
Crime and Criminals:
- Encyclopedia of American Prisons
REF HV9471.S54 2003 - Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
HV8694.P35 2001 - Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
REF HV6017.E524 2002 - Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System
REF RA1057.55.P34 2004 - Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights
REF KF3941 .A68 .U88 2000 - Encyclopedia of High-tech Crime and Crime-fighting
REF HV6773.N48 2004 - Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
REF HV9104 .E58 2003 - Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the U.S.
REF HV6446 .K43 2000 - Encyclopedia of Serial Killers Facts on File
REF HV6245 .N49 2000 - Encyclopedia of White-collar & Corporate Crime
REF HV6768.E63 2005 - Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
REF HV6046 .E56 2000 - Guns in American Society: An encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law
REF HV7436 .G8783 2002 - Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
REF HV6787.S68 2002
Drug Related Problems:
- Drug Abuse
REF HV5825.H435 2005 - Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior, 4 vols.
REF HV5804 .E53 2001 - Illegal Drugs: America's Anguish
REF HV5825 .I55 2002 - World Drug Report 2000
REF HV5801 .W73 2000
Environmental Issues:
- American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
REF GE55 .B43 2000 - Dictionary of Environmental Law
REF K3584.6 .G55 2000 - Eccoterrorism
REF GE197.L66 2004 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies Facts on File
REF. TD9.A84 2001 - Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human society
REF GE149 .E47 2002 - Environmental Law Handbook Government Institutes
REF KF3775 .E55 2001 - Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
REF TD9.W95 2001 - Historical Ecology Handbook Society for Ecological Restoration
REF GF13 .H58 2001 - State of the planet, a world transformed
RV MAP CASE map 182
Ethics:
- Encyclopedia of Ethics
REF BJ63.E45 2001
Health Related Issues:
- Death and the Afterlife
REF GT3150 .T25 2000 - Encyclopedia of Bioethics 5 vols.
REF QH332 .E52 2004 - Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
REF R857.M3.E63 2004 - Encyclopedia of Sexually Transmitted Diseases
REF RC200.1 .S525 2004 - Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS
REF RC606.6 .W385 2003 - International Handbook of Suicide and Attempted Suicide
REF HV6545 .I59 2000 - Social Studies in Health and Medicine
REF RA418 .H36 2000 - Supreme Court Drama: cases that changed America 4 vols.
REF KF4550.Z9 B73 2001
Immigration:
- Facts about American Immigration
REF JV6465.B73 2001 - International Migration: trends, policies, and economic impact
REF JV6217 .I59 2001 - Population Statistics / European Commission
REF HA1107.5.P678 2004
Military/Political Issues:
- Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups
REF HN49.R33 A85 2004 - Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment
REF UB800 .E53 2000 - Encyclopedia of Terrorism
REF HV6431.K883 2003 - Encyclopedia of World Terrorism
REF HV6431 .E53 2003 - Encyclopedia of Youth and War
REF HQ784 .W3 .S54 2000
Sociology:
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences
H41.D53 2002 - Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues
REF HN57 .K73 1997 - Handbook of Social Psychology
REF HM251.H224 1998 - Social Science Encyclopedia
REF H41.S63 1996 - State of the World:
REF HC59.S74 2005
Women's Issues:
- Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States
REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2002 - Encyclopedia of Birth Control
REF HQ766 .R442 2000 - Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
REF HV6046 .E56 2000 - Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
REF HQ1410 .C85 2000 - Handbook or American Women's History,
REF HQ1410 .H36 2000 - International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage
REF JF851 .H28 2000 - Sourcebook on Violence against Women
REF HV6250.4 .W65 .S68 2001 - Supreme Court Decisions and Women's Rights
REF KF4758 .A7 .S87 2000 - World's Women: Trends and Statistics
REF HQ1154 .W95 2000
Internet Resources:
- Data on the Net
http://odwin.ucsd.edu/idata/ - Electronic Journal of Sociology
http://www.sociology.org/electronicjournals.html - ICPSR Data Archive
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/index.html - Internet Public Library: Social Sciences
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/soc00.00.00/ - Poly-Cy: Public Policy
http://www.polsci.wvu.edu/polycy/pspubpol.html - SOSIG
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/ - Yahoo! Society & Culture: Issues of the Day
http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Issues_and_Causes/
Public Opinion on Current/Controversial Issues:
(Consider credibility, accuracy and bias when evaluating these sources!)
Books:
- American Attitudes, 3rd edition New Strategist Publications
REF HN90 .P8 .M58 2000 - The Gallup Poll: Public Opinion Scholarly Resources Inc.
REF HN90 .P8 .G35 (1992-2003)
Article Databases:
- Lexis/Nexis Academic: To find opinion/editorials on both sides of a current issue, go to the Guided News search form and select a news category and news source in steps 1 and 2. Type terms related to the issue in the Keyword box, such as television AND violence. In the next box, enter opinion OR editorial OR op-ed and change the pull-down list to Full Text. Please keep in mind that, since news sources have varying names for editorials, this search method is not guaranteed to retrieve every opinion piece written about a subject. You will also find Public Opinion Online in Lexis/Nexis Academic. The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the most comprehensive full-text collection of public opinion in the United States. It covers the full spectrum of public interest including politics and government, public institutions, international relations, business, social affairs and consumer behavior and preferences.
- Newspaper Database: allows you to limit your search by choosing Opinion and Editorial.
- ProQuest Newspapers: Go to Advanced Search and select Editorial as document type.
Internet Resources:
- Human Rights Watch
http://www.hrw.org - Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org/ - Urban Institute
http://www.urban.org
Research Databases
The following can all be found under ">Database Descriptions" from the library's homepage.
- Academic Search Premier offers information from many sources found in no other database and full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications. Indexing going back to 1984 and images are also provided for nearly all academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Facts on File Database
- JSTOR: is a collection of full-text journal information in the subjects of African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Philosophy, Political Science, Population, Science, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR chooses key journals in each discipline and provides full-text coverage going all the way back to the very first issue published by each journal. Recent information is not available in the JSTOR database.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Database
- Newspaper Database
- Proquest provides access to over 1800 periodicals, plus current coverage of articles from The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. This database is updated weekly and information is very current.
- Science Direct (Choose Social Sciences from “Select a Subject Area” pull down menu)
- WilsonOmnifile: This large index covers all of the sources you would find in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the Business Periodical Index, the Humanities Index, the General Science Index, the Education Index, and the Social Science Index. It also provides select indexing of the Library & Information Science Index, Applied Science and Technology Index, the Art Index, the Agricultural & Biological Index, and the Index to Legal Periodicals. To search for information from just one of these databases, go to the Subject choice and choose the Index you want to limit your search to.
Statistics to Back Up Your Research:
Books:
- Datapedia of the United States 1790-2005
REF HA202.K87 2004 - Statesman's Yearbook 2004
REF JA1 .S83 2004 - Statistical Abstract of the United States 2003
REF HA202.U57 2003 - World Almanac and Book of Facts 2005
REF AY67.N5 W7 2005
Websites:
- Child Stats
http://www.childstats.gov/ - Education Statistics at a Glance
http://nces.ed.gov/edstats/ - FED STATS
http://www.fedstats.gov/ - Guide to State Statistical Abstracts
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/stateabs.html - NJ State Data Center
http://www.state.nj.us/labor/lra/ - Social Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/ssbr.html - Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/ - Statistical resources on the Web: Sociology
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
Also, check search engines specifically for government information:
- FirstGov
http://www.firstgov.gov/ - Google's Uncle Sam
http://www.google.com/unclesam - SearchGov
http://www.searchgov.com/
Last Updated - June, 2005