Reference:
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information about the field of Psychology. These materials provide a general overview of the field, introductory information, statistics, trends, and definitions of key terms. Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and statistical reports also provide lists of additional sources and terms to use when searching for information. The Librarian at the Reference Desk can always help in locating an appropriate source. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information on Psychology.
Encyclopedias:
- Aggression and conflict: a cross-cultural encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO.
Ref HM136 .L46 1994 - Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology. Blackwell
Ref. HM251 .B476 1995 - Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology. Elsevier. 3 vols.
Ref. BF636.E52 2004 - Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. 2 vols. Macmillan
Ref BF531 .E55 1999 - Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence. MacMillan
Ref BF431 .E59 1994 - Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory. MacMillan
Ref. BF318 .E53 1992 - Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 3 vols. Academic Press
Ref RA790.5 E53 1998 - The Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis.Henry Holt Reference Book
Ref. RC437 .E49 1996 - Encyclopedia of Psychology. John Wiley & Sons
Ref. BF31 .E52 1994 - The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders. Facts on File.
Ref. RC514 .N63 2000 - Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming. MacMillan
Ref BF1078 .E63 1993 - Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia. Garland
Ref. HQ9 .H846 1994
Dictionaries:
- Dictionary of Cognitive Science. Psychology Press
Ref. BF311.V56713 2004 - The Dictionary of Psychology. Brunner/Mazel
Ref. BF31 .C72 1999 - Psychiatric Dictionary. Oxford
Ref. RC437 .H5 1989 - Psychoanalytic Terms & Concepts. American Psychoanalytic Association
Ref. RC501.4 P79 1990
Handbooks:
- Comparative Psychology: A Handbook. Garland
Ref. BF671 .C615 1998 - Forensic Psychology. (Handbook of Psychology, v.11) John Wiley & Sons
Ref. BF121.H1955 2003 v.11 - Handbook of Emotions, 2nd. ed. Guilford Press
Ref. BF561 .H35 2000 - The Handbook of Forensic Psychology. Wiley
Ref. RA1148 .H36 1999 - Handbook of Multicultural Counseling. Sage
Ref. BF637 .C6 H3174 1995 - Handbook of Obesity and Eating Disorders, 2nd ed. Facts on File
Ref. RC552 .E18 .C37 2000 - Handbook of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties, 2nd ed. Facts on File
Ref. RC535 .D63 2000 - Handbook of Sleep and Sleeping Disorders. Facts on File
Ref. RC547 .Y34 1991 - Handbook of social and clinical psychology: The health Perspective. Pergamon
Ref. RC467 .H29 1990 - Handbook of Stress, Coping, and Health. Sage
Ref. QP82.2 .S8 .H357 2000 - The Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook Greenwood
Ref. HV6556 .P78 1999 - Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles. Guilford
Ref. HM251 .S6743 1996
Biography:
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Routledge
Ref. BF109 .A1 B56 1997 - Great Psychologists and their Times. American Psychological Association
Ref. BF109.A1 S56 2002)
General Reference:
- The American Psychiatric Press Textbook of Psychiatry, 3rd. ed.
Ref. RC454 .A419 1999 - Child Maltreatment: Photographic Reference, 2nd ed. 2 vols. GW Medical Publishing
Ref. RA1122.5 .C49 1998 - Cross-cultural psychology: research and applications. Cambridge
Ref .GN502 .C76 1992 - The Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons Complete Home Guide to Mental Health. Henry Holt and Company
Ref. RC460 .C59 1992 - Current Psychiatric Therapy. W.B. Saunders
Ref. RC480 .C86 1997 - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV, 4th ed. American Psychiatric Association
Ref. RC455.2 .C4 D54 1994) - A Guide to Treatments that Work. Oxford
Ref. RC480.5 G85 1998) - Human Growth and Development. Cambridge
Ref. QP84 .C26 1998 - Mental Disorders of the New Millennium. 3 vols. Praeger
Ref. RC454 .M462 2006 - Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook. Omnigraphics
Ref. RC454.4 .M458 1996 - Tests in Print. 2 vols. University of Nebraska
Ref. BF698.5 .B878 1999 - Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, 2nd ed. American Psychiatric Press
Ref. RC564 .A525 1999
The RVCC Library Catalog
Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases:
The following are available through the library's website via our Database Page
- PsycArticles -- is a collection of all of the professional journals published by the American Psychological Association that are indexed in PsycINFO. Most titles are available in full-text dating back to 1988. PsycArticles uses the powerful searching tools found in PsycInfo to locate materials, and adds the full-text the PsycINFO database lacks.
- The Wilson Omnifile -- is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This large index covers all of the sources you would find in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the Business Periodical Index, the Humanities Index, the General Science Index, the Education Index, and the Social Science Index. It also provides select indexing of the Library & Information Science Index, Applied Science and Technology Index, the Art Index, the Agricultural & Biological Index, and the Index to Legal Periodicals. To search for information from just one of these databases, use the Subject choice and choose the Index you want to limit your search to. This index is partially available in full-text, and it is considered one of the best examples of indexing available.
- ProQuest's PA Research Library -- can also be used to find articles on psychological topics. Many of the articles in this database are in full-text. ProQuest provides access to over 1800 periodicals, plus current coverage of articles from The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. This database is updated weekly and information is very current.
- Academic Search Premier -- is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like PA Research Library, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines. Academic Search Premier offers information from many sources found in no other database and full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications. Indexing going back to 1984 and images are also provided for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Science Direct -- can also be used to find psychological information. Science Direct is a collection of professional journal information from Elsevier Publishers. Articles from over 700 professional scientific, medical, and psychological journals is available in full-text. This is a very specific and high level database, so it is not the best place to for introductory information.
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - January, 2007
