Reference
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information on Geography. These materials provide a general overview of several different topics including key terms and processes. The Librarian at the Reference Desk can always help in locating an appropriate source. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information relevant to the field of Physical Geography. They are available via the library's Database Page.
- World Atlas. AAA
REF G63 .W67 2001 - Place Names of the World: Origins and Meanings. McFarland
REF G105 .R66 1997 - Atlas of the World. Oxford
Atlas Table G1021 .A7545 2000 - The Times Atlas of the World. New York Times Books
Atlas Table G1021 .N57 1999 - The Atlas of Global Change. Macmillan
Atlas Table GE149 .G4813 1998 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Science. Oryx
REF GE10 .M66 2000 - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 6 vols. Gale
REF G63 .W67 2001 - Encyclopedia of Marine Sciences. Springer
REF GC9 .E56 1998 - The Environment A-Z. CQ Press
REF GE10 .H67 2001 - Oceans. Facts on File
REF GC11.2 .D39 1999 - Atlas of the Great Caves of the World. Cave Books
REF GB601. A8813 1989 - The Atlas of the Living World. Houghton Mifflin
REF G1046. C1 A7 1989 - Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Geography. Greenwood Press
REF GB10. H82 1988 - Environmental Encyclopedia. Gale
REF GE10 .E58 1994 - Explorers and Discoverers of the World. Gale
REF G200. E88 1993 - World Explorers and Discoverers. Macmillan
REF G200 .W67 1992 - Gale Environmental Almanac. Gale
REF GE80. H69 1993 - The History of Cartography. University of Chicago
REF GA201 .H53 1987 - A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford
REF G63 .M39 1997 - Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary. Webster
REF G103.5 .W42 1997 - The Cartographic Satellite Atlas of the World. Warwick
REF G1046 .A46 W6 1997 - Standard Encyclopedia of the World's Rivers and Lakes. G.P. Putnam & Sons
REF GB1203 .G73 1966 - Natural Disasters: from the Black Plague to the Eruption of Mr. Pinatubo. Facts on File
REF GB5014 .D38 1992 - The Weather Almanac. Gale
REF QC983 .R83 2001 - Weather America. Grey House
REF QC983 .W385 1996 - Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones. Checkmark Books
REF QC941 .L66 2000 - The Oxford Companion to the Earth. Oxford
REF QE5 .O94 2000 - The Magic of Minerals. Springer-Verlog
REF QE363.2 .M4313 1985 - Minerals of the World. Sterling
REF QE366.8 .S3813 1992 - Encyclopedia of Volcanoes. Academic Press
REF QE522 .E53 2000 - The Last Rain Forests: A World Conservation Atlas. Oxford
REF QH541.5 .R17 L38 1990 - Temperate Forests. Facts on File
REF QH541.5 .F6 .A46 1999 - The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ecology. Oxford
REF QH540.5 .C66 1994 - The Oxford Dictionary of Natural History. Oxford
REF QH13 .O9 1985 - Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2 vols. Oxford
REF QC854. E523 1996 - The Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes. Facts on File
REF QE521. R58 1994 - Glossary of Geology. American Geological Institute
REF QE5 .B38 1987 - Medical Geography. Guilford
REF RA792 .M42 2000
RVCC Library Catalog
Once you have looked at some introductory information on your topic, you will want to find books that go into more detail about a particular topic. Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases
Indexes, both electronic and print, provide access to articles in magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. This information is more current than material found in books. Some of the Research Databases helpful when researching geography are listed below.
- Wilson Omnifile -- is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This index is partially available in full-text, and it is considered one of the best examples of indexing available.
- ProQuest's PA Research II -- can also be used to find articles about geographical topics. Many of the articles in this database are in full-text. ProQuest provides access to over 1800 periodicals. This database is updated weekly and information is very current.
- Academic Search Premier -- is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like PA Research II, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - November, 2002
