- Codes.
- Reporters.
- Digests.
- Shepard's Citations.
- Legal encyclopedias.
- Texts, practice manuals, and form books in all areas of legal assistant instruction.
- Local and state bar journals and appropriate legal periodicals.
- Texts on the role of the legal assistant and materials on the legal assistant profession.
- Law dictionaries.
- Periodical Indexes.
- Professional Associations
- Useful Web Sites.
1. Codes
- Code of Federal Regulations, 1994
- Constitution of the State of New Jersey (1969)
- Federal Register, latest 3 months.
- Indian Treaties, 1778-1883 (1972)
- New Jersey Administrative Code, 2000 (online)
- New Jersey Statutes Annotated, 2000
- Uniform Commercial Code (v.1-v.2, 1988)
- United States Code Service; Lawyer's Ed., 2000
2. Reporters
- ALR Federal, 2000
- American Law Reports, Federal, Cases & Annotations (v.1-v.163, up to date)
- American Law Reports, Federal, Quick Index. A-Z (1993)
- American Law Reports Index, 2nd-5th, Federal (v.1-v.6)
- American Law Reports, 4th Cases & Annotations (v.1-v.90)
- New Jersey Tax Court Reports, (v.1-8, 1981-87)
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Superior Court of New Jersey (up-to-date)
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey (up to date)
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Tax Courts of New Jersey (v.1-v.8, 1980-87)
- Restatement of the Law Second, Contracts 2d (v.1-v.6, 1981)
- Selected Federal Taxation Statutes & Regulations (1995)
- United States Supreme Court Decisions: an Index (1983)
3. Digests
- Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition, (up-to-date)
- Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest (v.1-v.5,1999)
- West's Atlantic Digest, 2d,(v.1-v.37, up-to-date)
- West's New Jersey Digest (1954)
- West's New Jersey Digest 2d (up to date)
- West's New Jersey Digest 2nd Law Finder (1989)
4. Shepard's Citations
- Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name (1982)
- Shepard's Federal Citations (1995)
- Shepard's New Jersey Case Names Citator (pt. 1 & 2, up-to-date)
- Shepard's New Jersey Citations (v.1-v.9, & supplement, up-to-date)
5. Legal Encyclopedias
- American Jurisprudence (2d, Vols. 1-152). Rochester, NY: Lawyer's Co-operative Pub. Co. (up to date)
- Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law (1992). Rosemount, MN: Informational Research Systems.
- Bannan, John J. (1997) Encyclopedia of New Jersey Causes of Action. Newark, NJ: New Jersey Law Journal Books.
- Baxter, Mark, et. Al. (Eds.). Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights (1997). Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
- Hall, Timothy L. (2000) Magill's Legal Guide. (Vols. 1-4). Hackensack, NJ: Salem Press.
- Janosik, Robert J. (Ed.). (1987) Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System. (Vols. 1-3). NY: Scribner.
- Levy, Leonard W. (Ed.). (1986 & supplement,1992) Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. (V.1-4). NY: Macmillan.
- Newman, Roger K. (ed.). (1999) The Constitution and Its Amendments (Vols. 1-4). NY: Macmillan Reference.
- Speiser, Stuart M.,Krause, Charles F., & Gans, Alfred W. (1983) American Law of Torts (v.1-10). Rochester, NY: Lawyer's Co-operative Pub. Co. (up to date)
- Wasserman, Paul, McGann, Gary, & Tobin, Patricia. (Eds.) (1992) Encyclopedia of Legal Information Sources. Detroit, MI: Gale.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law. (1998) (Vols. 1-12). Minneapolis, MN: West Group.
6. Texts, Practice Manuals, and Form Books
- Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation (15th ed). (1991). Cambridge, MA: Harvard Law Review Assoc.
- Civil Rights Decisions of the United States Supreme Court: The 20th Century. (1994).Beverly Hills, Calif: Excellent Books.
- Bergman, Paul. (2002). The Criminal Law Handbook. (4th ed). Nolo Press.
- New Jersey Environmental Law Handbook. (6th ed.). (2001). Rockville, MD: Government Institutes.
- New Jersey Forms. (v.1-v.18, up-to-date). Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-Operative Pub. Co.
- New Jersey Lawyers Diary & Manual: NJ Bar Directory. (2000). Newark, NJ: New Jersey Law Journal Pub. Co.
- New Jersey Pleading and Practice Forms. (v.1-v.11, up-to-date). Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-operative Pub. Co.
- New Jersey Rules of Court: State and Federal. (2000). St. Paul, Minn.: West Group.
- New Jersey Rules of Evidence. (1997). Newark, NJ: Gann Law Books.
- Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions. (1999). New York: Oxford University Press
- Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey.(1997). St. Paul: West Pub. Co.
- West's Analysis of American Law. (2000). St. Paul, Minn.: West Pub. Co.
- West's Law Finder. (1991). St. Paul, Minn.: West Pub. Co.
- Will and Trust Form Manual. (2 v., 1987). Chicago,: Schiff, Hardin & Waite
- Fawcett, Marcy Davis. (1995) Paralegal Litigation: Forms and Procedures. (2nd Ed.) Frederick, MD: Aspen Law & Business.
- Garner, Bryan A. (1991). Elements of Legal Style. New York: Oxford University Press.
- Knowlton, Robert E. (up-to-date). New Jersey Criminal Procedure. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-Operative Pub. Co.Lite, Allyn Z. (1997). New Jersey Federal Practice Rules. Newark, NJ: Gann Law Books.
- Lively, Donald E. (1999). Landmark Supreme court Cases. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
- Mierzwa, J. (1994). The 21st Century Family Legal Guide. Highlands Ranch, CO: ProSe Associates.
- Nunes, M. (1990). Basic Legal Forms for Business. NY: John Wiley & Sons
- Robinson, J. (1978). American Legal Almanac. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications.
- Snyder, Edward S. (1994). Forms for New Jersey Divorce. Practice (1 v. 1994). New Brunswick, NJ: New Jersey Institute for Continuing Legal Education.
- State of New Jersey. Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (1986). . Trenton, NJ: Author.
- Talab, R.S. (1999). Commonsense Copyright: a guide for educators and librarians. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co.
- Talbott, James N. (looseleaf, up-to-date)(1997-). New Media: Intellectual Property, Entertainment and Technology Law. New York: West Group.
- Tribe, L. (1988). American Constitutional Law. (2nd ed.). Mineola, NY: Foundation Press.
- Williams, Robert F. (1990). New Jersey State Constitution: a Reference Guide. New York: Greenwood Press.
7. Local and State Bar Journals
- ABA Journal: The Lawyer's Magazine. 1995- (MF 2000- )
- British Journal of Criminology. 1977-1999, (MF 2000- )
- Corrections Today. (MF 1991- )
- Crime and Delinquency. (MF 1979- )
- Criminal Justice Abstracts. 1990-
- Criminal Justice and Behavior. 1985-1989 (MF 1990- )
- Criminal Justice Ethics. Summer 1994- (MF Winter, 1987 - Fall, 1996)
- Criminal Justice Newsletter. 1995-
- Criminology (MF 1974- )
- FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin. 1992- (MF 1985-1991)
- Federal Register. Latest three months
- Journal of Criminal Justice. 11/1982-
- Journal of Interpersonal Violence (MF 1996- )
- Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology. 1969-
- Journal of Research in Crime & Delinquency
- Law & Society Review. 1997-
- Legal Assistant Today (formerly Legal Professional). 1993-
- National Paralegal Reporter. Spring, 1989-
- New Jersey Law Journal. 1998-
- New Jersey Lawyer (magazine)(holdings incomplete) July/August 1991-
- New Jersey Lawyer: The Weekly Newspaper (holdings incomplete) 1998-
- New Jersey Municipalities. 1998-
- New Jersey Register. 1998-
- Paralegal Educator. 1994-
- Police Chief. 1997- (MF 1979- )
- Police Chronicle. 1996-
8. Texts on the Role of the Legal Assistant and Materials on the Legal Assistant Profession.
- Albrecht, Steve. (1993). Paralegal's Desk Reference. New York: Prentice Hall.
- Axel-Lute, Paul. (1997). New Jersey Legal Research Handbook. New Brunswick, N.J.: New Jersey Institute for Continuing Education. Reference KFN 1875 .A97 1997
- Barron's Guide to Law Schools. (1990). Woodbury, NY: Barron's Educational Series, Inc.
- Bernardo, Barbara. (1990). Paralegal: an Insider's Guide. Princeton, N.J.: Peterson's Guides
- Biehl, Kathy & Calishain, Tara. (2000). The Lawyers guide to the Internet. Latham, ML: Scarecrow Press.
- Bogen, Deborah. (2000) Paralegal Success. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
- Brophy, Maureen. (1993). Paralegal Management Handbook. New York: Wiley Law Publications.
- Chandler, Yvonne J. (1998). Guide to Finding Legal and Regulatory Information on the Internet. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers.
- Cohen, Morris L. (1989). How to Find the Law. St. Paul, Minn.: West.KF 240.C538 1989
- Corbin, John. (1989). Find the Law in the Library. Chicago: Cooper,
- k2. Cynthia L. (1990). Insider's Guide to the Top Fifteen Law Schools. New York: Doubleday.
- Echaore-McDavid, Susan. (2002). Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry. New York: Checkmark Books, 2002.
- Elias, Stephen. (1992). Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law. Berkeley: Nolo Press.
- Estrin, Chere B. (1992). Paralegal Career Guide. New York: Wiley Law Publications.
- Fawcett, Marcy Davis. (1992). Paralegal Litigation: Forms and Procedure. (new ed. on order). Frederick, MD: Aspen Law & Business.
- Goodrich, David Lee. (2001). The Basics of Paralegal Studies. 3rd. ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
- Greenberg, Bruce D & Wolinetz, Gary K. (2000) Civil Trial Preparation: Practical Skills Series. New Brunswick, NJ: New Jersey Institute for Continuing Legal Education.
- Hames, Joanne Banker & Ekern, Yvonne. (2000) Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing: An Integrated Approach. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
- Kisiel, Marie, (1991). How to Find a Job as a Paralegal. St. Paul: West Pub. Co.
- Larbalestrier, Deborah E. (1994). Paralegal Practice and Procedure. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall.
- The Legal Pages: Directory of Goods and Services for Legal Professionals. (2000). Newark, NJ: Lawyers Diary & Manual.
- Lewis, Adele Beatrice. (1986). Better Resumes for Attorneys & Paralegals. Woodbury, NY: Barron's Educational Series.
- LSAT-LSDAS Information Book.(1995-96). Newton, Pa.: Law School Admission Services.
- MacLeod, Don. (1995). Internet Guide for the Legal Researcher. Teaneck, NJ: Infosources Pub.
- Medina, Pat. (1994). Paralegal Discovery: Procedures & Forms 2d. New York: J. Wiley & Sons.
- NALA Manual for Legal Assistants. (1992). St. Paul: West Pub. Co.
- Nemeth, Charles P. (1989). Paralegal Resource Manual. Cincinnati, OH: Anderson Pub. Co.
- Official Guide to U.S. Law Schools. (1996). Newton, PA: Law School Admission Council/Law School Admission Services in cooperation with the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools.
- Olson, Kent C. (1999). Legal Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press.
- Orlik, Deborah K. (1992). Ethics for the Legal Assistant, 2nd. La Canada, CA.: Marlen Hill.
- PLI Continuing Legal Assistant Training: Litigation Case Management for Legal Assistants 1993 A Satellite Program. (1993). New York, N.Y. Practicing Law Institute.
- PLI Continuing Legal Assistant Training: Workshop for Legal Assistants 1992: Litigation; Legal Research & Writing. (1992). New York, N.Y.: Practicing Law Institute.
- Resumes for Law Careers (2002). 2nd ed. NY: VGM Career Books.
- Schneeman, Angela. (2000) Paralegal Ethics. Albany, NY: West Legal Studies.
- Sheehy-Hussey, Katherine. (1994). Legal & Paralegal Services on Your Home-Based PC. Blue Ridge Summit, PA: Windcrest/McGraw-Hill.
- Statsky, William P. (1993). Essentials of Paralegalism 2d. St. Paul: West Pub. Co.
- Statsky, William P. (1993). Paralegal Employment. Minneapolis: West Pub. Co.
- Statsky, William P. (1993). Paralegal Ethics & Regulation, 2d. Minneapolis/St. Paul: West Pub. Co.
- Wagner, Andrea. (2001). How to Land Your First Paralegal Job. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
- Wernick, Allan. (1992). International Student Handbook: a Legal Guide. Washington, DC: American Immigration Law Foundation.
9. Dictionaries
- Arnest, Lauren Krohn. (Ed.). (1998) Children, Young Adults, and the Law: A Dictionary. Santa Barbara: CA: ABC-CLIO.
- Burton, Willaim C. (Ed.). (1998). Burton's Legal Thesaurus (3rd Ed.). NY: Macmillan.
- Burton, William C. (Ed.). (1980). Legal Thesaurus. NY: Macmillan.
- Chandler, Ralph, C. (Ed.). (1985- ) Constitutional Law Dictionary. Santa Barbara: CA: ABC-CLIO.
- Garner, Bryan A. (Ed.). (1999). Black's Law Dictionary (7th. Ed.). St. Paul, MN: West Group.
- Garner, Bryan A. (Ed.). (1987) Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage. NY: Oxford University Press.
- Gilpin, Alan (Ed.). (2000) Dictionary of Environmental Law. Northhampton, MA: Edward Elgar Publishing.
- Hill, Gerald N. (Ed.). (1995). Real Life Dictionary of the Law. Los Angeles, CA: General Pubs. Group.
- Hopkins, Bruce R. (Ed.). (1994). Nonprofit Law Dictionary. NY: Wiley.
- Renstrom, Peter G. (1999) Constitutional Rights Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
- Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey (1997) St. Paul MN: West Group.
10. Useful Periodical Indexes.
The library subscribes to many useful periodical databases that offer full-text as well as citation information. You can get to the list by clicking here. Lexis/Nexis is particularly useful.
11. Professional Associations.
- National Association of Legal Assistants -- The National Association of Legal Assistants is the leading professional association for legal assistants, providing continuing education and professional certification programs for paralegals. Incorporated in 1975, NALA is an integral part of the legal community, working to improve the quality and effectiveness of the delivery of legal services.
http://www.nala.org - Paralegals.org -- by the National Federation of Paralegal Associations
http://www.paralegals.org - American Association for Paralegal Education
http://www.aafpe.org/ - National Paralegal Association
http://www.nationalparalegal.org/
12. Useful Web Sites.
- TOPS -- The Online Paralegal Source
http://www.raritanval.edu/departments/busadmin/full-time/Defilippis/tops/index.html - FindLaw Constitutional Law Center
http://supreme.findlaw.com - NOLO PRESS
http://www.nolo.com - Internet Law Library
http://www.priweb.com/internetlawlib/1.htm - Lexis-Nexis Lawschool
http://lawschool.lexis.com - LegalEngine
http://legalengine.com - American Law Sources Online
http://lawsource.com/also - Guide to the Law Online
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/index.html - The New Jersey Judiciary
http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/ - Supreme Court of the United States
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/ - Cornell University Legal Information Institute
http://www.law.cornell.edu/
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - December, 2002
