Reference Books
- American Dietetic Association's Complete Food & Nutrition Guide
Ref RA784.D89 1996 - The Cambridge World History of Food (2 volumes)
Ref TX353.C255 2000 - The Complete Book of Food Counts
Ref TX551.N399 1997 - A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives
Ref TX553.A3W55 1994 - Delmar's Integrative Herb Guide for Nurses
Ref RM666.H33L634 2002 - Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook
Ref RA784.D534 1999 - Dietary Reference Intakes: Applications in Dietary Planning
Ref QP141.D527 2003 - The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets: Issues and Applications. 2nd ed.
Ref RM236.M444 2004 - Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements.
Ref RM258.5 .E53 2005 - Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3 volumes)
Ref QP141.E526 1999 - Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
Ref RA784.R646 2003 - Encyclopedia of Sports & Fitness Nutrition
Ref RA784.A659 2002 - The Essential Guide to Vitamins and Minerals
Ref QP771.S66 1992 - The Food Chronology
Ref TX355.T72 1995 - Foods and Nutrition Encyclopedia
Ref TX349.F575 1994 - The Healing Herbs
Ref RM666.H33 1991 - Magill's Medical Guide: Health and Illness (3 volumes)
Ref RC41.M34 1995 - Merck Manual of Medical Information. 2nd Home ed.
Ref RC81.M535 2003 - Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease
Ref QP141.M64 1999 - Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
Ref RM666.H33S58 2001 - The Nutribase Nutrition Facts Desk Reference
Ref TX551.U43 1995 - Nutrition Almanac
Ref RA784.N837 1996 - Nutrition & Well-Being A to Z
Ref RA784.N838 2004 - Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary (5th ed.)
Ref RM217.L34 2004 - Nutrition Practice
Ref RM217.2.M38 1994 - PDR for Nutritional Supplements
Ref RM258.5.P37 2001 - Pediatric Nutrition Handbook
Ref RJ206.A49 2004 - Quick Check Food Facts
Ref TX551.B525 1999

Online Catalog
Use the online catalog to find books located at RVCC and other automated libraries in Somerset County. For books in Hunterdon County libraries, visit our Additional Catalogs Page
Examples of Subject Headings:
Nutrition
Malnutrition
Diet
Fiber in human nutrition
Dietary supplements
Vegetarianism
Food
Caffeine
Food - composition - Tables
Cancer--Nutritional aspects
Online Databases and Indexes
- AccessScience -- 7,000 articles, 115,000 definitions, and biographies of more than 1,200 key scientists
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences -- 3,300 entries written by scholars supplemented by bibliographic references for further reading; 6,000 illustrations. Includes a dictionary.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center -- Access to 700 medical journals and 2,200 health-related articles from general interest publications
- Proquest Research Library -- This database contains articles on many subjects in popular magazines and peer-reviewed journals.
- PubMed (Medline) -- This database contains bibliographic information about medical research (not full-text)
- ScienceDirect -- This databases contains peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles in all the sciences, including food science and nutrition
- USDA Nutrient Database - search the nutrient content of over 6,000 foods. The database may also be downloaded to your computer.
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/Data/SR14/sr14.html - Wilson Omnifile - This database contains articles on many subjects in popular magazines and peer-reviewed journals
These databases may be accessed from our database page.
Journals(An asterisk indicates a peer reviewed journal)
- Better Nutrition for Today's Living
- FDA Consumer (Final issue - March/April, 2007)
http://www.fda.gov/fdac/fdacindex.html - Journal of Nutrition by the American Society for Nutritional Sciences*
http://www.nutrition.org - Journal of the American Dietetic Association - one of the best sources*
http://www.adajournal.org
Source: The American Dietetic Association - http://www.eatright.org - Nutrition Close-Up (located in the Vertical File under the heading of Nutrition)
- Nutrition Reviews
- Nutrition Today
RVCC's medical, health, and nursing journals may also include nutrition information.
Course-related Web Sites
- American Dietetic Association - Look for their Nutrition Fact Sheets
http://www.eatright.org/ - Food Nutritional Information Center. - Portal to nutrition and food safety sites.
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic - Health, United States, 2002. - Statistics form the National Center for Health Statistics.
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm#spreadsheet - Health Finder - (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
http://www.healthfinder.gov/ - New Jersey Health Statistics from 1877 to 2000 - An Historical Electronic Compendium of Published Reports
http://www.umdnj.edu/librweb/speccoll/njhs/ - Healthy New Jersey - Maintained by UMDMJ. Provides links to many U.S. and N.J. health-related sites, including nutrition. Some info in Spanish.
http://www.healthynj.org - Steps to a Healthier You - The new Pyramid from the USDA
http://www.mypyramid.gov - Nutrition.Gov - federal government information on nutrition
http://www.nutrition.gov - National Council Against Health Fraud, Inc. - a private, nonprofit health agency that focuses its attention upon health fraud, misinformation, and quackery as public health problems.
http://www.ncahf.org/ - WebMD - This is a peer-reviewed site of medical information for consumers - including nutrition info which is reviewed by the American Dietetic Association.
http://www.webmd.com
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - June, 2006
