Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Reference Collection

The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Nursing. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Nursing books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.

Dictionaries

Illustrated Dictionary of ImmunologyREF QR180.4.C78 2003
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyREF RC55.M4 2006
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health DictionaryREF R121.M89 2005
Stedman's Medical Dictionary. 27th ed.REF R121.S8 2005
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionaryREF R121.T18 2005
Williams ObstetricsREF RG524.W7 2005

Encyclopedias

The American Medical Association Family Medical GuideREF RC81.A543 2004
Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 volumes)REF QH332.E52 2004
Encyclopedia of Clinical ToxicologyREF RA1193.R67 2002
Encyclopedia of Infectious DiseasesREF RC112.T87 2003
Encyclopedia of Mental Health (3 volumes)REF RA790.5.E53 1998
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (4 volumes)REF R733.G34 2001
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer (2 volumes)REF RC254.5.G353 2002
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. (5 volumes)REF RC41.G35 1999
Magill's Medical Guide - Health and Illness (5 Volumes)REF RC41.M34 2008
Mayo Clinic Family Health BookREF RC81.M473 2003
Merck Manual of Medical Information: Home Ed.REF RC81.M535 2003
Mosby's Handbook of DiseasesREF RT65.L37 2005
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine REF R121.O884 2001
Physicians' Guide to Rare DiseasesREF RC55.P69 1995

Drugs, Diet and Therapy

American Drug IndexREF RS355.A48 2005
Martindale: The Complete Drug ReferenceREF RS141.3.M3 2005
Conn's Current TherapyREF RM101.C87 2004
Intravenous Medications (17th ed.)REF RM170.G33 2001
Mosby's Nursing Drug ReferenceREF RM138.S59 2001
Mayo Clinic Diet Manual: A Handbook of Nutrition PracticeREF RM217.2.M38 1994
Nursing... Drug HandbookREF RM301.12.N87 2006
PDR for Herbal MedicinesREF RM666.H33 P37 2004
Physician's Desk Reference (PDR)REF RS75.P5 2007
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary SupplementsREF RS75.P51 2007
The People's PharmacyREF RM301.G72 1996

Nursing Review

Cracking the NCLEX-RN (Princeton Review)REF RT55.M49 2003
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Nursing for NCLEX-RNREF RT55.M64 2006
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for NCLEX-PNREF RT62.M62 2008

Nursing Education and Careers

Exploring Health Care Careers (2 Volumes)REF R690.E97 2006
Health Care Job ExplosionREF R690.D36 2001
Health Professions: Career and Education DirectoryREF R847.A1 D57 2008
Official Guide to Undergraduate and Graduate Nursing SchoolsREF RT73 .O34 2000
The Pfizer Guide: Nursing Careeer OpportunitiesREF RT82.P44 1994
Resumes and Personal Statements for Health ProfessionalsREF R690.T96 1994
Scholarships and Loans for Nursing Education 1997-1998REF RT1.N37
State-Approved Schools of Nursing: RNREF RT81.U6N3 1998
State-Approved Schools of Nursing: LPN/LVN 1998 REF RT81.U6N297
State Medical Licensure Requirements and StatisticsREF R745.A43 S726 2006

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Nursing:

  • Communication in nursing
  • Community health nursing
  • Emergency nursing
  • Family nursing
  • Geriatric nursing
  • Maternity nursing
  • Minorities in nursing
  • Nursing
  • Nursing assessment
  • Nursing care plans
  • Nursing diagnosis
  • Nursing ethics
  • Pediatric nursing
  • Rehabilitation nursing
  • Surgical nursing

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Nursing using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help


For further information about this guide, please contact Julie Maginn
Last Updated - May, 2008