Reference
Sources to Consult at the Start:
- Encyclopedia of Small Business. 2nd edition
REF HD62.7 .H553 2002 v.1-2 - The Directory of Business Information Resources
HD2421.B875 2005 - Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
REF HF5353.E9 2005 - Business information: how to find it, how to use it
REF HF5356.L36 1992
Standard Industrial Classification System (SICS) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are two methods used in North America to provide uniformity and comparability in statistics about business activity. They permit owners to classify their business establishments by their primary economic activities, (i.e., agriculture, forestry, and fisheries; mining; construction; manufacturing; wholesale and retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; transportation, communication, electric, gas, and sanitary services; and services), and are flexible in that a business may fall under more than one code. This way, establishments that use the same or similar processes to produce goods or services are grouped together so that statistics on productivity, labor costs, and the like are consistent and meaningful. While SICS codes are being replaced by the more encompassing NAICS codes, both are still needed for business research. To find SICS codes, click here. To find NAICS codes, click here.
- 1101 Businesses You Can Start from Home
REF HD2333.H35 1995 - The Work-at-home Sourcebook
REF HD2336.U5A73 1999 - Franchise and Business Opportunities
REF HF5429.235.U5F38 2001
Small Business Planning:
- Business Plans Handbook
REF HD62.7.B865 v. 1-11 - Mancuso's Small Business Resource Guide
REF HD62.7.M367 1996 - How to write a great business plan for your small business in 60 minutes or less
eBook - See also Entrepreneur Magazine's "How to start..." planning guides
To see a cumulative index of business plans go to http://www.gale.com/pdf/Indices/BusPlansHandbook11Index.pdf
Small Business Planning - NJ Specific:
- Official New Jersey Manufacturers Directory
REF HC107.N5N45 2002 - How to Start a Business in the State of New Jersey
HD62.5.N68 2005 - Starting and Managing your own Business in New Jersey
REF HD62.7.S72 2003 - Doing Business in New Jersey
REF HD2346.U52 N523 1998 - The Guide: New Jersey's Business Resource Guide
REF HD2798.N5G84 1999 - New Jersey Licensed Occupations
REF HD3630.U7L535 1997 - New Jersey Manufacturers' Directory
REF HF5065.N5 H37 2006 - Dun's Regional Business Directory: Northern New Jersey area
REF HG4057.N5 D86 1999 v.1-3
Small Business Marketing - Statistics and Demographics:
- NJ Almanac
REF F131.N42 1999 - Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202.U57 2006 - The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
REF HA203 .S66 1997 - The Sourcebook of County Demographics
REF HA203.S672 1997 - The American Marketplace: demographics and spending patterns
REF HA214.A6 2001 - Regional Markets: the demographics of growth and decline
REF HA214 .E94 1999 v.1-2 - A Statistical Portrait of the United States: social conditions and trends
REF HA214.S73 2002 - New Jersey Snapshots
REF HA521.N587 2006 - Demographics of the U.S.: trends and projections
REF HB849.49.R875 2000 - Business Statistics of the United States
REF HC101.A13122 2006 - MSA Profile
REF HC106.8 .M47 2000 - U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook
REF HC106.82.U16 2000 - County Business Patterns, New Jersey
REF HC107.N5 U57 2003 - Household Spending: who spends how much on what
REF HC110.C6 A666 2003 - American Incomes: demographics of who has money
REF HC110.I5 R87 2005 - Market Share Reporter
REF HF1040.9.G2 2006 v.1-2 - The Lifestyle Market Analyst
REF HF5415.33.U6L54 1998 - Data Sources for Business and Market Analysis
REF HF5415.124 .F7 1994 - Directory of International Direct and e-Marketing
REF HF5415.126 .H36 2003 - NJ Municipal Data Book
REF HT123.5.N5 N53 2007 - Rand McNally and Company: Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
RVCC ATLAS STAND G1019.R22 2006 v.1-2
See also the Demographics Research Guide
Small Business Financing:
- Raising Capital: how to write a financing proposal
HG4751.F59 1994 - Obtaining Venture Financing: principles and practices
HG4963.H44 1988 - Encyclopedia of Associations
REF HS17.G334 2008
Small Business Management:
- Encyclopedia of Management
REF HD30.15.E49 2000 - Effective Small Business Management: an entrepreneurial approach
HD62.7 .S27 2000 - American Salaries and Wages Survey
REF HD4973.A67 2005 - Employment, Hours, and Earnings, States and Areas
REF HD8051.A62 2005 - Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics:
REF HD8051.A63 2006 - The Directory of Executive Recruiters
REF HF5549.5.R44 D58 2002
More Practical Tools:
- Keeping the Books: basic recordkeeping and accounting for the successful small business
HF5635.P649 2004

Finding Books
You can also search for books using the Online Catalog. You may wish to use the following terms as subject searches:
Entrepreneurship
Home-based businesses
New business enterprises
Small business
Finding Articles
Article Databases:
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) -- Coverage: 1971 - current, Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Now includes: The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition - Full-text access to the premier business newspaper in North America, with backfile coverage to 1984. - Business Source Premier (Academic Search Premier) -- Coverage: 1965 - current
This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials. Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost - Regional Business News (Academic Search Premier)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. - Business (LexisNexis Academic)
News, business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts, industry & market news from over 25 industries, accounting literature, accounting journals & literature, company information including executives, revenue and competitors, and detailed financial data about companies. -- Find information on small, specialized industries; contact information for individual businesses and who their parent companies or subsidiaries are; financial details of a recent merger/acquisition; what information businesses are required by law to report to the Federal Government; population statistics and trends - Wilson Business Full Text (Wilson OmniFile)
Accounting, Acquisitions & Mergers, Advertising, Banking, Building & Construction, Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals, Communications, Computers, Cosmetics Industry, Economics, Electronics, Entertainment Industry, Finance, Financial Services, Government Regulations, Health Care, High Technology, Hospitality and Tourism, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, Insurance, International Business, Investments, Management, Marketing, Mass Media, Occupational Health & Safety, Oil & Gas, Paper & Pulp Industries, Public Utilities, Publishing, Purchasing, Real Estate, Retail Trade, Small Business, Taxation, Technology, Transportation
Internet Resources
Small Business Websites - NJ Specific
- New Jersey Small Business Development Center
http://www.njsbdc.com
Offers free counseling, affordable training and information services to assist small businesses and prospective entrepreneurs. - New Jersey Business Sources
http://www.state.nj.us/nj/business/
Extensive information on financial assistance, technical support, state demographics and statistics, county economic development, and local chambers of commerce - NJBIZ
http://www.njbiz.com
Designed to be a one stop portal for NJ business news, it also has a directory of New Jersey businesses. - NJ Small Business Development Centers
http://www.state.nj.us/njbiz/y_smallbus_devcenters.shtml
Offers a wide range of services to the state's small business owners and to those considering starting their own businesses. These centers specialize in Business Planning, Growth Strategy, Management Strategy, and Loan Packaging. - New Jersey On-line Business Filing and Registration Service
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/dcr/filing/leadpg.htm
File new corporations, limited liability companies and limited partnerships, as well as obtain authorizations for foreign (out of state) businesses to conduct operations in New Jersey. Register any business for taxes and employer contributions for unemployment and disability and obtain temporary certificates of authority for sales tax on-line. - State of New Jersey Business Website
http://www.state.nj.us/nj/business
Learn how to start a business, relocate a business to NJ, and maintain or close a business - Legal Language Services - NJ Corporate Forms
http://www.legallanguage.com/Corp/NJ/NJcorpforms.html
Legal Language helps individuals and organizations who are faced with a need to form New Jersey corporations, by providing easy access to forms, attorneys, and information - New Jersey Chamber of Commerce
http://www.njchamber.com
Promotes a vibrant business environment and economic prosperity through vision, expertise and innovative solutions - Better Business Bureau of New Jersey
http://www.trenton.bbb.org
The BBB's Core Services include- Business Reliability Reports - http://search.bbb.org
- Dispute Resolution - http://www.dr.bbb.org/
- Truth-in-Advertising - http://www.bbb.org/advertising.asp
- Consumer and Business Education - http://www.bbbonline.org/education/
- Charity Review - http://www.give.org
- New Jersey - Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE)
http://www.score.org/index.html
SCORE is a nonprofit organization that provides a public service to America by offering small business advice and training by 10,500 working/retired business owners, executives and corporate leaders with more than 600 business skills.
Small Business Websites -- General
- CCH Business Owner's Toolkit
http://www.toolkit.cch.com
Answers to business, tax, and legal questions and practical tips to help you stay in compliance with the law - Small Business Knowledge Base
http://www.bizmove.com
Guides and worksheets on starting a business, small business marketing, and Internet-based business - Entrepreneur Magazine's Start-up Kits
http://www.entrepreneur.com/toolkit
These are excerpts from the business start up guides published by Entrepreneur Magazine. If you see one that is of interest to you, please be aware that we have a large collection of these guides here in the RVCC Library. There is no need to purchase the "full" guide from this web site. - Wall Street Journal Center for Entrepreneurs
startup.wsj.com
Information and resources on starting a business from the Wall Street Journal - Yahoo! Small Business
http://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/
Portal to many useful small business related sites with a wide variety of topics. - New York Public Library Classes on Business and Industry, including patents
http://www.nypl.org/research/calendar/curricdesc.cfm?id=3 - SCORE - Service Core of Retired Executives
http://www.score.org/ - Google Small Business Resources
http://directory.google.com/Top/Business/Small_Business/Resources/ - Small Business Development Center
http://sbdcnet.utsa.edu/ - Business Week Online - Small Business
http://www.businessweek.com/smallbiz/index.html - Entrepreneur Magazine Online
http://www.entrepreneur.com/Magazines/MA_FrontDoor/0,4430,,00.html - Edward Lowe Peerspectives
http://www.peerspectives.org/ - The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information - 3rd ed.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/guide/guide2/ - Kauffman eVenturing is the trusted guide for entrepreneurs on the path to high growth
http://www.eventuring.org/eShip/appmanager/eVenturing/eVenturingDesktop - Resource for Family Business Executives & Owners
http://fambiz.com/home.cfm - Business Owners' Idea Café
http://www.businessownersideacafe.com/ - Patent Cafe: World's Gateway to Inventor's Resources
http://www.patentcafe.com/ - The Riley Guide: Steps in Starting Your Own Business
http://www.rileyguide.com/steps.html
US Federal Websites:
- Official Link to the US Business Advisor
http://www.business.gov/ - U.S. Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov- U.S. SBA Forms link - http://www.sba.gov/library/forms.html
- U.S. SBA Regulatory Alerts for Small Business - http://www.sba.gov/advo/laws/law_regalerts.html
- U.S. SBA Office of Women's Business Ownership - http://www.onlinewbc.gov/
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
http://www.uscis.gov- Form I-9 - Employment eligibility verification form. - http://uscis.gov/graphics/formsfee/forms/i-9.htm
- Employer Information Bulletins - http://uscis.gov/graphics/services/employerinfo/eibulletin.htm
- U.S. Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov- Forms Online - http://www.dol.gov/libraryforms/index.asp
- Compliance Assistance - Fair Labor Standards Act link - http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/flsa/#form
- First Step Employment Law Advisor - http://www.dol.gov/elaws/FirstStep/
- U.S. Internal Revenue Service
http://www.irs.gov- Employer Identification Numbers - http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98350,00.html
- Business Structures Chart - http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98191,00.html
- Forms - http://www.irs.gov/formspubs/index.html
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
http://www.sec.gov- Resources for small businesses - http://www.sec.gov/info/smallbus.shtml
- U.S. Trademark Electronic Application System
http://www.uspto.gov- "Where do I start?" - http://www.uspto.gov/web/trademarks/workflow/start.htm
- Trademark Electronic Application System - http://www.uspto.gov/teas/index.html
- Forms - http://www.uspto.gov/web/forms/index.html
- FAQ - http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/doc/general/faq.htm
- U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov- County Business Patterns - http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html
Last Updated - September, 2006

