Reference Books
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information about United States or New Jersey Government. Introductory information, statistics, trends, and key issues on each topic are readily available. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information about United States or New Jersey Government.
- Almanac of American Politics National Journal Group
Ref JK271.B343 2004 - Washington Information Directory, 2004-2005 Congressional Quarterly
Ref F192.3.W33 2005 - Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System, 3 volumes. Scribner's
Ref JF501 .E53 1994 - State Legislative Elections Congressional Quarterly
Ref JK1967 .B36 1998 - New Jersey Public Sector Public Sector Publications
Ref JK3516 .N475 2002 - Spotlight on New Jersey Government Rutgers University Press
Ref JK3516 .N48 1992 - The Government of New Jersey: An Introduction University Press of America
Ref JK3516 .C66 1993 - The State and Local Government Political Dictionary ABC-CLIO
Ref JK2408 .E44 1988 - The Book of the States Council of State Governments
Ref JK2403 .B6 2004 - The Sourcebook To Public Record Information BRB Publications
Ref JK468 .P76 S693 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Government, 4 vols. Salem Press, Inc.
Ref JK9 .E52 1998 - The New Jersey Municipal Data Book Information Publications
Ref HT123.5 .N5 N53 2004 - 2001 New Jersey Legislative District Book Rutgers University
Ref JK3568 .N428 2001 - State Rankings Morgan Quitno Press
Ref HA203 .U17 2001 - 2004 County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book Bernan Press
Ref HA 203 .C68 2004 - You and the Law in New Jersey Rutgers University Press
Ref KFN1881 .M55 1998 - The Encyclopedia of New Jersey Rutgers University Press
Ref F132.E52 2004 - The New Jersey State Constitution: A Reference Guide Greenwood Press
Ref KFN2201 1947 .A6 W55 1990 - State of New Jersey Manual of the Legislature of New Jersey Skinder-Strauss Associates
Ref JK3531 .N37 2004 - The New Jersey Almanac Public Affairs Research Institute of New Jersey
Ref F131 .N42 1999 - New Jersey Facts Clements Research
Ref F134 .N57 1988 - New Jersey Firsts Camino Books
Ref F134.6 .A76 1999 - New Jersey Reports West Group
Ref KFN1845 .A2 - New Jersey Superior Court Reports West Group
Ref KFN1848 .A21 - New Jersey Statutes Annotated West Publishing
Ref KFN1830 1937 .A42 58.16A - Somerset County Directory, 2002
Ref F142.S604 2002
The RVCC Library Catalog
Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases
The resources listed below are available via our Database Page
- The Wilson Omnifile - is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This large index covers all of the sources you would find in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the Business Periodical Index, the Humanities Index, the General Science Index, the Education Index, and the Social Science Index. It also provides select indexing of the Library & Information Science Index, Applied Science and Technology Index, the Art Index, the Agricultural & Biological Index, and the Index to Legal Periodicals. To search for information from just one of these databases, go to the Subject choice and choose the Index you want to limit your search to. This index is partially available in full-text, and it is considered one of the best examples of indexing available.
- ProQuest Research Library - can also be used to find articles about government related topics. Many of the articles in this database are in full-text. ProQuest provides access to over 1800 periodicals, plus current coverage of articles from The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. This database is updated weekly and information is very current.
- Academic Search Premier - is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like ProQuest Research Library, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines. Academic Search Premier offers information from many sources found in no other database and full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications. Indexing going back to 1984 and images are also provided for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Lexis-Nexis Universe - is our general legal/news database. It provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including news from over 18,000 newspapers, magazines and newswires and company financial information.
- For more local information you can use also our subscription to the Star Ledger. This includes the full-text of the daily paper from 1989 on. We also carry the Custom Newspapers Collection which indexes national and local newspapers.
Star Ledger: http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/researchguides/starledger_star047.html
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - February, 2005

