Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Reference Collection
The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Music. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Music books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.
Books
| Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Musicians | REF ML105.S612 1997 |
| Baker's Dictionary of Opera | REF ML102.O6 B26 2000 |
| Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music (3 volumes) | REF ML100.B26 1999 |
| Cambridge Companion to the Orchestra | REF ML1200.C25 2003 |
| Early Broadway Sheet Music | REF ML128.M78 S79 |
| Encyclopedia of Jazz & Blues | REF ML102.J3 S5 2001 |
| Excellence in Singing: Multilevel Learning and Multilevel Teaching | REF MT825.C35 2001 |
| Green Book of Songs by Subject | REF ML156.4.P6 G73 2002 |
| Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music (6 volumes) | REF ML102.P66 G84 1995 |
| Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music & Musicians | REF ML100.H36 1999 |
| Harvard Dictionary of Music | REF ML100.A64 2003 |
| Heritage of Music (4 volumes) | REF ML160.H527 1990 |
| Index to Poetry in Music | REF ML128.S3 B68 2003 |
| International Dictionary of Black Composers (2 volumes) | REF ML105.I5 1999 |
| New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (29 volumes) | REF ML100.N48 2001 |
| Performing Times of Orchestral Works | REF ML128.O5 A75 |
| Recording Industry Sourcebook | REF ML18.R4 2002 |
| Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock-n-Roll | REF ML102.R6 R64 2001 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Music:
- Blues musicians -- Biography
- Jazz musicians -- Biography
- Music
- Music -- History and criticism
- Music -- Performance
- Music and Literature
- Music and Technolog
- Music theory
- Musical instruments
- Musicals
- Opera
- Orchestra
- Orchestral music
- Popular music
- Singing
- Songs
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- ML -- Literature on music
- ML159 - 3785 -- History and criticism
- ML3795 -- Music as a profession
- MT -- Instruction and study
- MT170 - 810 -- Instrumental techniques
- MT820 - 915 -- Singing and vocal technique
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Internet Resources
- Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics
http://ccrma.stanford.edu
Source: Department of Music, Stanford University -- The Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics is affiliated with the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities at Stanford which conducts research on constructing computer databases for music and on creating programs that allow researchers to access, analyze, print, and electronically perform the music. - Classical Net
http://www.classical.net
Source: Dave Lampson -- Features reviews of more than 2,500 CDs, as well as 5,800 files and over 4,000 links to a wide array of classical music sites. A composer search is available. - Harmony Central
http://www.harmony-central.com
Source: Harmony Central, Inc. -- An Internet Resource for musicians. Includes links to departments for guitar, bass, MIDI, keyboards, drums, and percussion, computers and music. - Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/ncdhtml/hasmhome.html
Source: Library of Congress, American Memory Prpject -- Sheet music is accessed by browsing subject or name indexes or by keyword. Images of the cover and the sheet music are available. - Instrument Encyclopedia
http://www.si.umich.edu/chico/instrument/
Source: University of Michigan -- Information on 140 musical instruments. It is a combination of text, images and selected sounds. Search by class of instrument or geographic region. - Internet Resources for Music Scholars
http://hcl.harvard.edu/libraries/#loebmusic
Source: Loeb Music Library, Harvard University -- Provides links to music databases, online music journals, scholarly societies, music departments and libraries, publishers. - Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
http://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/
Source: Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University -- 29,000 pieces of American sheet music published between 1780 -1980. Includes songs about presidents, military conflicts, etc. Music printed before 1923 (in the public domain) may be retrieved and downloaded. The sire provides an index to the entire collection. - Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/mussmhtml/
Source: Library of Congress, American Memory Project -- Contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright between 1820 - 1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra. - Music History 102
http://www.ipl.org/div/mushist/
Source: Internet Public Library -- A guide to Western composers and their music from the Middle Ages to the present. - National Sound Archive
http://www.bl.uk/collections/sound-archive/cat.html
Source: British Library -- Catalog includes entries for almost two-and-a-half million recordings held in the British Library National Sound Archive (NSA) and is updated daily. It is one of the largest catalogs of its kind, covering both published and unpublished recordings in all genres from pop, jazz, classical and world music, to oral history, drama and literature, dialect, language and wildlife sounds. - Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
http://digital.nypl.org/lpa/nypl/lpa_home4.html
Source: New York Public Library for the Performing Arts -- A searchable database of 16,000 objects representing archival materials, including newspaper clippings, promotional and production photographs, sheet music, publicity posters, lobby cards, moving images, and recorded sound. - Public Domain Music
http://www.pdinfo.com
Source: Haven Sound, Inc. -- Lists music that is old enough to be in the public domain, meaning that it can be performed without the payment of royalties. - Worldwide Internet Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/
Source: William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University School of Music -- Links to musicians, composers, musical genres, journals and magazines.
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
For further information about this guide, please contact Julie Maginn
Last Updated - December, 2007