Reference Books
- World Directory of Marketing Information Sources
Reference HF 5414.124 .W67 2000 - Dictionary of Marketing Terms
Reference HF 5415.D4874 1995 - Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising
Reference HF 5415. R577 1995 - The International Dictionary of Marketing
Reference HF 5415.Y32 2002 - The Lifestyle Market Analyst
Reference HF 5415.33 .U6L54 1998 - Fundamentals of Selling: customers for life through service
Reference HF 5438.25 .F87 2004 - The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Reference HF 5803 .A38 2003 - Introduction to Advertising and Promotion
Reference HF 5823.B387 1995 - Dartnell's Advertising Manager's Handbook
Reference HF5823.D37 1997 - Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations
Reference HF 5828.4 .F54 2002
Online Catalog
RVCC has collected broadly in the area of Marketing, and the subtopic of Advertising. Try some of the following subject headings to find out what is in the online catalog on your topic.
Advertising
Marketing (try a WORD search on Marketing)
Mass Media
television Advertising
Sex in Advertising
Sex role in Advertising
Women in Advertising
Internet Advertising
Selling
Consumers
Research Databases
The following databases are available via our Database Page
- ABI-Inform Global -- This is a major business database. An excellent place to start.
Try limiting using at least 2 keywords in your search. A search in ABI-Inform on Advertising came up with a set of over 436,000 articles.
Ask the Reference Librarian on duty for help with limiting your search. - Wilson Omnifile -- If you are having trouble picking a topic within Marketing or Advertising, try a Thesaurus search in this database. The outcome is a diagram that nicely illustrates some of the possibilities.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe -- Select Business News. Try limiting one word to Headline.
- Science Direct -- This database is a good source of scholarly articles. Select Business, Management and Accounting as the subject area to be searched.
- Academic Search Premier -- The same strategies and techniques that work in ABI INFORM will work here as well. This is one of our largest general databases and has a lot of material on marketing and advertising.
Recommended Web Sites
- Ad*Access
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
Source: John W. Harman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History, Duke University - Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/
A unique collection of advertising history drawn from over a dozen collections from the Hartman Center and Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke Univesity.
Source: John W. Harman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History, Duke University - AdFlip
http://www.adflip.com/
An archive of classic print ads from every decade from the 1940's to the present. Search by decade, topic or keyword. - Advertising World
http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/
The site claims to be the "most extensive collection of advertising related links on the Web." Index includes links to broadcast and print media, consumer psychology, and advertising ethics. Site is so large that it has its own search engine.
Source: Department of Advertising at the University of Texas at Austin. - FTC Trade Regulation Rules
http://www.arentfox.com/quickGuide/businessLines/advert/advertisingLaw/adLawLawsRegs/trr/trr.html
This site contains full texts of many trade regulation rules issued and enformced by the US Trade Commission.
Source: Arent Fox Kintner Plotkin & Kahn, PLLC- Attorneys at Law - FTC Advertising Guidelines
http://www.arentfox.com/quickGuide/businessLines/advert/advertisingLaw/adLawLawsRegs/guides/guides.html
Located here are full texts of Advertising Guidelines and Enforcement Policy statements issued by the United States Federal Trade Commission.Guides and policy statements for a wide variety of advertising practices are included.
Source:Arent Fox Kintner Plotkin & Kahn, PLLC- Attorneys at Law - Knowthis.com: Marketing Virtual Library
http://www.knowthis.com/
An annotated, classified collection of links discussing all aspects of marketing.
Source: Know this - Marketingpower.com
http://www.marketingpower.com
Topics include information on advertising, direct marketing, business to business marketing, consumer marketing, Internet marketing and marketing research.
Source: American Marketing Association
Last Updated - May, 2005
