Databases
Frequently Asked Questions
- What information do I need to log in to the various databases?
On Campus you should be taken directly to the database. Off Campus you will be asked to provide your College ID# (ex. G00012345) and password. The password is the same one you use for Lion’s Den.
- What should I do if I am having trouble logging into a database?
If you are having trouble with your G-Number and password you will need to contact the
MIS Helpdesk
- Who has access to the databases?
Due to licensing issues the databases are only available for use by the students, staff and faculty.
- How do I know which database I should be using?
The
Research Guides can aide you in selecting a database that has information pertaining to your topic. You may also contact a librarian at the Reference Desk either in person, via our
Ask-A-Librarian form or by calling (908) 526-1200 x8350.
- How can I tell if the Library has full text coverage of a periodical?
The
Periodical Locator can assist you in finding full text coverage for a specific periodical.
Databases by Subject
Databases by Title
A
|
B
|
C
|
D |
E
|
F
|
G
|
H
|
I
|
J
|
K |
L
|
M
|
N
|
O
|
P
|
Q |
R
|
S
|
T | U | V |
W
- A
- ABI/Inform Global - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
"Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing,economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies." Drawn from the vendor's website. |
- Academic Search Premier (NJKI) - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: - Music
- General - All
- Communications & Mass Media
|
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals, Academic Search Premier offers critical information from many sources. This resource contains full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications. Academic Search Premier includes full-page images as well as color embedded images. |
- Access Science - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: McGraw-Hill Subjects: - Biology, Chemistry & Physics
- Sciences
- Math & Computers - All
- Reference - All
|
The core of this database is a continually updated online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It is a good place to start a science research project. The browse function should help if you are having trouble deciding on a topic. It also includes a science dictionary. |
- ACM Digital Library - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: ACM Subjects: |
The ACM Digital Library holds the publications of The Association of Computing Machinery, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and ACM oral history interviews. |
- ArtStor - Description
Fulltext: N/A Source: JSTOR Subjects: |
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. Users can either browse or conduct specific searches of over 500,000 digital images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture. |
- B
- Backstage - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Backstage Subjects: |
Backstage is an online performing arts resource. It includes weekly casting notices for shows in the United States, artists' toolbox and feature articles. Please contact your instructor for the login information. |
- Biography Reference Bank - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: WilsonWeb Subjects: |
This biography database covers over 550,000 authors, artists, composers, political figures, scientists, influential women and more. Biographical information is provided through full-text biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries. There are also over 36,000 images available. The database covers historical and contemporary people of the United States, Britain and Europe. |
- Book Review Index Plus - Description
Fulltext: Yes Over 700,000 full-text articles. The rest is citations. Source: Gale Subjects: |
Book Review Index Plus indexes more than 5.2 million reviews from more than 5,800 journals and general interest publications |
- Books in Print - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Books in Print Subjects: |
Books in Print is a database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video/DVD titles and more than 200.000 publishers. Many records include reviews from publications such as Choice, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and Booklist. |
- Britannica Online - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Britannica Subjects: - Reference - All
- General - All
|
Britannica Online contains the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Like any general encyclopedia, it is a good place to begin research and understand the basic facts of your topic. The "World" link provides a particularly valuable collection of maps, linked to geographical data in the encyclopedia. There is also a dictionary available at the same site. "The Encyclopedia Britannica database includes more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles and year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching." Drawn from the vendor's website. |
- C
- Communication & Mass Media - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: - Communications & Mass Media
|
CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals. |
- Contemporary Authors - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Gale Subjects: |
"Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors." Drawn from the vendor's website. |
- CQ Researcher - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: CQ Press Subjects: - Legal Studies - All
- Social Sciences
- Nursing/Medicine - All
- General - All
- Education
|
The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in depth each week. The issues are chosen based on current news. This database is easy to check. If there is a relevant report, it's a great way to jump start your research. There are 44 reports each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro/con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts. |
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index - Description
Fulltext: Yes 50 of 140 titles Source: Proquest Subjects: |
"CJPI can provide information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law."Drawn from the vendor's website. |
- E
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) - Description
Fulltext: Yes ERIC reports in full text available from 1993. Citations for education journals and ERIC reports available from 1966. Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: |
ERIC is a nationwide information network sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,000,000 citations. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database (or 430,000 citations) relate to education documents. Identified by unique ED numbers, ERIC documents include a wide variety of resources such as teaching guides, research reports, bibliographies, issue papers, instructional materials, and test and evaluation instruments. ERIC also contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals and full text of more than 2,200 Eric Digests. |
- F
- Facts on File - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: InfoBase Subjects: - Geography
- History
- Business
- Education
|
Provides general information on academic and career-related collections. This is an excellent source of graphics and encyclopedia length articles on general topics. Because it does not have a single interface, however, finding information may take some digging. |
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - Description
Fulltext: Source: Infobase Subjects: |
This database is the online equivalent of the 4-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance published by Ferguson. It contains detailed information on more than 2,000 jobs in 93 industries. |
- Films on Demand - Description
Fulltext: N/A Source: Films Media Group Subjects: |
A collection of on-line streaming movies from the Films Media Group (also available for checkout on DVD) |
- G
- GreenFile - Description
Fulltext: No Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: |
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. |
- H
- Health and Wellness Resources Center - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Gale Subjects: |
Health & Wellness Resource Center (version 1.1) is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information through an intuitive web interface. Including the respected Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness. Drawn from the vendor's website.
Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only. |
- Health Reference Center - Description
Fulltext: Yes with the exception of older articles Source: Gale Subjects: |
Articles from a variety of health periodicals, plus excerpts from health-related reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary; medical directories and reference books; consumer-oriented and professional health periodicals; and pamphlets issued by leading health organizations. The periodical material is augmented by specially selected health articles from general-interest, business and specialty publications. |
- Hoover's Company Records - Description
Fulltext: Source: Proquest Subjects: |
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. |
- I
- Informe! - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Gale Subjects: - Spanish Interface Databases
|
Infotrac's informe is the first electronic database in Spanish. Specifically designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users-allowing researchers to think about a topic and conduct searches in Spanish. Fifty Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals-including popular titles such as Actual, Latin and Siempre. Full text of the El Nuevo Herald (Miami, Fl.) Spanish-language newspaper. |
- J
- Jersey Cat - Description
Fulltext: No Source: JerseyCat Subjects: |
This web site makes it possible to do a wide ranging search of multiple academic and public library catalogs. It may also provide access to the catalog of your local library. |
- JSTOR - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: JSTOR Subjects: - Humanities
- Art
- Music
- Legal Studies - All
- Social Sciences
- Sciences
- Math & Computers - All
|
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. JSTOR is important if you are doing a research project that needs older information in the arts and sciences. Due to its very nature as a retrospective journal archive, JSTOR does not contain current journal articles. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete back files of core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Over 4 million pages are available. |
- L
- LexisNexis (Paralegal Program) - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: LexisNexis Subjects: |
LexisNexis is a comprehensive tool for legal research. It presents many of the standard legal research tools in a web-based interface. Please note that access is restricted. Most general research needs can be met by LexisNexis Academic Universe. |
- LexisNexis Academic Universe Knowledge Base - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: LexisNexis Subjects: - Legal Studies - All
- Biography
- Business
- Nursing/Medicine - All
|
LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including news from over 18,000 newspapers, magazines and news wires and company financial information. |
- Literature Online (LION) - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Chadwyck Subjects: |
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism. |
- Literature Resource Center - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Gale Subjects: |
"The Literature Resource Center on GaleNet is a complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more." |
- M
- Magill's Medical Guide - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Salem Press Subjects: |
This is the online version of Magill's Medical Guide which provides access to over 1,000 entries describing major diseases and disorders of the human body, the basics of human anatomy and physiology, specializations in medical practice, and common surgical and nonsurgical procedures. Print version is available in the Reference Section: RC41.M34. |
- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Britannica Subjects: |
Part of the subscription to Encyclopedia Britannica Online. |
- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Britannica Subjects: |
Part of the subscription to Encyclopedia Britannica Online. |
- N
- National Newspapers - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
Coverage of 10 major US newspapers: The Atlanta Journal - Constitution (1990-Current), Boston Globe (1980-Current), Chicago Tribune (1985-Current), The Christian Science Monitor (1988-Current), Los Angeles Times (1985-Current), New York Times (1980-Current), Seattle Post - Intelligencer (1990-Current), USA Today (1987-Current), Wall Street Journal (1985-Current), The Washington Post (1987-Current) |
- NetLibrary - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: NetLibrary Subjects: |
This is a collection of more than 4000 e-books. The collection may be accessed through the library catalog. When viewing an eBook in the online reader, besides being able to navigate through the content page by page, the reader has the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents or to search the full text of the eBook. |
- New York Times (Current) - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
New York Times is part of the Proquest Newspapers database. It includes the complete text of NYT from 2005 - current. |
- New York Times (Historical) - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
The Historical New York Times covers 1851-2005 |
- Newpaper Database - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Gale Subjects: |
Current events and other topics included in newspapers. Includes New York Times (1 year), The Newark Star Ledger (from 2/01), The Record (from 1/96), The Los Angeles Times (from 1/96) and The Times of London (from 1997) |
- O
- Oxford English Dictionary - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Oxford Subjects: |
OED online is the equivalent of the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary in print. The dictionary provides meaning, history and pronunciation to over half a million words from across the English-speaking world. It is updated quarterly with at least 2,500 new and revised entries. |
- P
- Patron Books in Print - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Books in Print Subjects: |
Use this database to search for book, e-book, DVD, and audiobook titles. Users can search over 100 years of bestsellers or browse book award winners and nominees. Also browse the “Fiction Room”, titles by your favorite author, fiction titles featuring your favorite character, or books by genre. |
- Points of View Reference Center - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: - Social Sciences
- General - All
|
Provides a balanced series of articles representing multiple viewpoints to help understand the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. The database offers an overiew of an issue and it's points and counterpoints, as well as a guide to Critical Analysis. |
- Proquest Newspapers - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
Proquest Newspapers includes the full text of The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post. |
- Proquest Research Library - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: - General - All
- Communications & Mass Media
- Music
|
Proquest Research Library is a large multi-disciplinary database, with an effective search engine. |
- PsycArticles - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: |
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 55 journals - published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and from allied organizations. Here is a list of the journals. |
- PubMed - Description
Fulltext: No Source: NCBI Subjects: |
PubMed provides access to Medline, The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It is also a gateway, providing access to other sources of medical information from the federal government.
Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only |
- R
- ReferenceUSA - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: ReferenceUSA Subjects: |
Database not currently available due to lack of state funding. We recommend Hoover's Company Records. |
- RVCC Catalog - Description
Fulltext: No Except for E-Book Collection Source: RVCC Subjects: |
The catalog describes and gives call numbers for the books and media owned by the library. Because this is a shared system, the catalog also reflects the books and other materials that are held by the libraries in the Somerset County Library System. |
- S
- Safari Books Online - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
Safari Books Online is a collection of over 5,200 electronic books in the field of computer science. Publishers include O’Reilly, Addison-Wesley, Sams, Que, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall, John Wiley & Sons and many more. |
- ScienceDirect - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Elesiver Subjects: - Sciences
- Nursing/Medicine - All
- Math & Computers - All
- Economics
- Psychology
|
Our current subscription includes the "Social & Behavioral Sciences" and the "Health & Life Sciences." Here is the list of the journals.
Be sure to select "group-wide login. |
- SocINDEX - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: EBSCOHost Subjects: |
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers. |
- Star-Ledger/Trenton Times - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: StarLedger Subjects: |
This is a web based archive for The Star Ledger, The Times of Trenton and The Jersey Journal. |
- Stat-USA - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Stat-USA Subjects: |
Stat-USA delivers vital economic, business, and international trade information produced by the U.S. Government. Links to federal and state export/ import resources. |
- W
- Wall Street Journal - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Proquest Subjects: |
Wall Street Journal is part of the Proquest Newspapers database. It includes the complete text of WSJ from 1984 - current. |
- Wiley InterScience Journals - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Wiley Subjects: |
This database brings together a collection of journals from Wiley InterScience. Disciplines covered include the physical sciences, education, technology, social sciences and psychology, mathematics and statistics. |
- Wilson OmniFile - Description
Fulltext: Yes From 1994 for select publications Source: WilsonWeb Subjects: - General - All
- Business
- Humanities
- Music
- History
- Social Sciences
- Education
- Communications & Mass Media
- Sciences
|
Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text of articles from some 1,800 publications and abstracts and indexing from over 3,700 publications - all from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. In addition, Wilson Omnifile presents full text titles indexed in these specialized databases: Art Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index Plus |
- World Atlas - Description
Fulltext: Yes Source: Britannica Subjects: |
The World Atlas is part of the Britannica Online subscription. It provides political and physical maps. It includes brief information about each country, such as population, size in sq miles and sq km, head of state and more. |
- WorldCat - Description
Fulltext: No Source: OCLC Subjects: |
A catalog of over 61 million bibliographic records for materials held in libraries worldwide. |