LOCATING STATUTES
- STATUTES - laws made by legislative bodies like the U.S. Congress and state legislatures.
- Slip laws - individual copies of laws published as soon as they are enacted.
Definition -- http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=define%3A+slip+law - Session laws - sequential collection of the laws passed by a particular legislature within each session. They are subsequently determined to be public or private law at the federal level and published in Statutes At Large.
Definition -- http://http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=define%3A+session+law+
Resource -- http://www.bc.edu/schools/law/library/research/researchguides/statutes/ - Code – statues arranged by subject, (called titles) and published in a set of books. Each title is further divided into numbered sections (abbreviated §). The U.S. Code has fifty titles, which are referred to by number. Every code contains the Constitution, or Constitution of the U.S.A., Analysis & Interpretation. [Excerpted from http://www.ll.georgetown.edu/tutorials/stat/5a_parts.html]
Definition -- http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=define%3A+us+code&btnG=Search - ORDINANCES - laws made at the local level by borough and city councils
FEDERAL CODE in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- United States Code Service; Lawyer's Ed., 1972+
REF KF62.l38 1972 - United States Code Service; Lawyer’s Ed., Cumulative Later Case
REF KF65.B65 2002 - Code of Federal Regulations
REF KF70.A3 (to Title 50) - Uniform Commercial Code (v.1-v.2, 1988)
REF KF890.W45 1988 - Indian Treaties, 1778-1883
REF KF8203 1972B
NEW JERSEY CODE in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- New Jersey session law service, (Supplement to NJ Statues Annotated)
REF KFN1825.N3 - New Jersey session law service, (Supplement to NJ Statues Annotated)
REF KFN1830.A42 1937
FEDERAL CODE in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
- Code of Federal Regulations
LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page) - Federal Register
LexisNexis Academic (7/80+) (Databases Page)
NEW JERSEY CODE in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
- Constitution of the State of New Jersey
LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page) - New Jersey Statutes Annotated
LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page)
FEDERAL CODE available on the Internet
- Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html - Federal Register
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html - Indian Treaties, 1778-1883
http://digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/ - Uniform Commercial Code
http://www.law.cornell.edu/uniform/ucc.html - United States Code Service
http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/ - United States Code - Law Revision Council
http://uscode.house.gov/
NEW JERSEY CODE available on the Internet
- Constitution of the State of New Jersey
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/llawsconstitution/consearch.asp - New Jersey Statutes (Note: Select "statutes.")
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/
LOCATING CASE LAW
CASE LAW -– or common law1, is law derived from the written decree of a judge (opinion)2 , giving the verdict and reasoning behind the decision, including citations3 and precedents4
1http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=define%3A+common+law
2http://usinfo.state.gov/dhr/democracy/u.s._legal_system/legal_glossary.html
3http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=define%3Alegal+citation
4http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=define%3Aprecedent+
Reporters
REPORTERS -- The sets of books where cases/opinions are published are called reporters. Reporters print cases in the order they are received from the courts, and provide the names of the parties involved, volume number, name of the reporter, number of the first page of the case, and the year when the case was decided. Reporters may generally be grouped into four kinds:
- Federal reporters (report federal cases)
- Regional reporters (report cases from the state appellate courts - several states are reported in each set)
- State reporters (report cases from a specific state)
- Subject oriented reporters (report cases from various jurisdictions which deal a certain area of law, e.g., environment or patents
REPORTERS in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- United States Supreme Court Reports
REF KF101.U57 - American Law Reports, ALR Federal, Cases & Annotations (v.1-200)
REF KF132.A45 1985 - American Law Reports, ALR Federal, Index, 2d-3d-4th-5th (v.1-6)
REF KF132.A47 - American Law Reports, ALR Federal, Table of laws, rules & regulations
REF KF132.A47 Index - American Law Reports, ALR Federal 2d: annotations and cases. (V. 1-5)
REF KF132.A472 v. 1-5 - American Law Reports, ALR 4th Cases & Annotations (vs. 1-90)
REF KF132.A481980 - Restatement of the Law Second, Contracts 2d (v.1-v.6, 1981)
REF KF801.A842
NEW JERSEY REPORTERS in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of NJ
REF KFN1845.A2 - Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Superior Court of NJ
REF KFN2270.A517 - Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Tax Courts of NJ
REF KFN1848.A21
REPORTERS in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey(under NJ State Case Law)
Lexis Nexis Academic (Databases Page)
REPORTERS available on the Internet
- Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey
http://lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/search.shtml
Digests
DIGESTS – A digest is a topical arrangement of very brief summaries of the points of law found in a case. They are beneficial in that they are arranged alphabetically by broad subject areas rather than chronologically like reporters. The digests organize summaries of cases by topic and key number rather than page number.
DIGESTS in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer’s Edition
REF KF101.D56 - The Supreme Court Yearbook
REF KF101.6.S8 1994 - West’s Atlantic Digest, 2d, (v. 1-37)
REF KF135.A71 W4 - Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest
REF KF190.M3 1999 - West's New Jersey Digest; NJ legal authorities, State & Federal (v.1-35)
REF KFN1857.W4 1954 - West’s New Jersey Digest, 2d, (v. 1-28)
REF KFN1857.W4 1999 - West's New Jersey Digest, 2d, Law Finder
REF KFN1857.W41 1989
DIGESTS in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
(Please note: Several digests offer an alphabetical list of cases by name, often termed “Table of Cases,’ that provide citations to the case law. LexisNexis Academic offers the “Get a Case” feature that essentially does the same thing.)
- Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports – Case Law
LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page)
FEDERAL CASE LAW available on the Internet
- Supreme Court of the United States Opinions
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/opinions/opinions.html - US Circuit Court of Appeal
http://www.lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/links/fedapp.shtml - US District Court /District of NJ
http://www.lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/fed/search.shtml - Federal Courts Home Page
http://www.uscourts.gov/ - Federal Court Locator
http://www.law.villanova.edu/library/researchandstudyguides/federalcourtlocator.asp
NEW JERSEY CASE LAW available on the Internet
- New Jersey Court Opinions
http://lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/search.shtml - New Jersey Current Reported Opinions
http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/opinions/index.htm - Decisions of the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey
http://lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/fed/search.shtml
CITATORS
- Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name
REF KF80.S55 1982
- Shepard's Federal Citations
REF KF80.S55 1982 - Shepard's New Jersey Citations
REF KFN1859.S5 2003 - Shepard's New Jersey Case Names Citator
REF KFN1859.S54 1991
(Shepardizing is available on Lexis/Nexis; can be done for the Supreme Court in Lexis/ Nexis Academic Universe)
LOCATING ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES REGULATIONS
Federal Regulations1 -- are issued by executive departments and administrative agencies of the U.S. Government, like the Department of Transportation or the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, once the legislature passes general law and policy in the statutes. It is the administrative agencies task to implement the law and policy through legal notices and regulations. Federal Regulations are published in the daily newspaper, the Federal Register (F.R.), and then codified in the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R) by subjects or “titles.
1http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&oi=definer&q=define:code+of+federal+regulations&defl=en
FEDERAL REGULATIONS in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- Code of Federal Regulations
REF KF70.A3 Title 45
FEDERAL REGULATIONS in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
- Code of Federal Regulations
LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page)
FEDERAL REGULATIONS available on the Internet
- US Government Departments & Agencies
http://www.firstgov.gov/Agencies/Federal/All_Agencies/index.shtml - Legal Information Institute – Cornell University Law School
http://cfr.law.cornell.edu/cfr/ - Code of Federal Regulations (GPO Access)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html - Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&tpl=%2Findex.tpl - List of CFR Sections Affected
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/lsa/about.html - Federal Register (1995--)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html - Regulations.gov, site allows public to find and submit comments on proposed federal regulations.
http://www.regulations.gov/fdmspublic/component/main
Executive Agencies
- Department of Agriculture Department of Labor
http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/!ut/p/_s.7_0_A/7_0_1OB?navtype=SU&navid=LAWS_REGS - Department of Commerce Department of State
http://www.commerce.gov/ - Department of Defense
http://www.defenselink.mil/pubs/ - Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/policy/landing.jhtml?src=rt - Department of Energy
http://www.directives.doe.gov/regulations/index.html - Department of Health & Human Services
http://www.hhs.gov/policies/index.shtml - Department of Homeland Security
http://www.dhs.gov/index.shtm - Department of Housing & Urban Development
http://www.hud.gov/ - Department of Justice
http://www.usdoj.gov/02organizations/02_1.html - Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov/dol/organization.htm - Department of State
http://foia.state.gov/REGS/Search.asp - Department of Transportation
http://www.dot.gov/citizen_services/regulations/index.html - Dept of the Treasury
http://www.ustreas.gov/topics/law-enforcement/ - Department of Veterans Affairs
http://www.va.gov/oca/fed_reg_index.asp - Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/lawregs.htm - Federal Communications Commission
http://www.fcc.gov/searchtools.html#rules - Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
http://www.ferc.gov/legal/maj-ord-reg.asp - Federal Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/legal.htm
Independent Agencies and Government Corporations
- Central Intelligence Agency
https://www.cia.gov/ - Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/ - Federal Trade Commission
http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/legal.htm
NJ REGULATIONS in online databases at the Evelyn Field Library
- New Jersey Administrative Code
LexisNexis Paralegal (requires password) (Databases Page)
NJ REGULATIONS available on the Internet
- Certain NJ Agencies make sections available
http://law-library.rutgers.edu/ilg/njlaw.html#njregs - New Jersey Government Departments/Agencies
http://www.state.nj.us/nj/deptserv.html - Executive Orders of the Governor
http://www.state.nj.us/infobank/circular/eoindex.htm - New Jersey Administrative Law Decisions
http://lawlibrary.rutgers.edu/oal/search.html/
LEGAL RESEARCH TOOLS
LEGAL DICTIONARIES at the Evelyn Field Library
- Dictionary of Environmental Law
REF K3584.6.G55 2000 - 1001 Legal Words You Need to Know
REF KF156.A113 2005 - Black's Law Dictionary
REF KF156.B55 2004 - Burton's Legal Thesaurus (3rd Ed)
REF KF156.B856 1998 - Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage
REF KF156.G367 1987 - Real Life Dictionary of the Law
REF KF156.H55 1995 - Children, Young Adults, and the Law: A Dictionary
REF KF479.A68 A76 1998 - Nonprofit Law Dictionary
REF KF1388.A68H66 1994 - Constitutional Law Dictionary
REF KF4548.5.C47 1985 - Understanding constitutional issues
REF KF4550.Z9 U537 2004 - Human rights in the United States: a dictionary and documents (v.1&2)
REF KF4747.5.C37 2000 - Homosexuality and the law: a dictionary
REF KF4754.5.A68 S74 2001 - Immigration and the Law: a dictionary
REF KF4817.H56 1999 - Religion and the Law: a dictionary
REF KF4865.A68 A54 1999 - Native Americans and the Law: a dictionary
REF KF8203.6 .S66 2000
LEGAL DICTIONARIES available on the Internet
- Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Law
http://dictionary.lp.findlaw.com/ - WWLIA Legal Dictionary
http://www.duhaime.org/dictionary/diction.aspx - Nolo’s Legal Dictionary
http://www.nolo.com/glossary.cfm
LEGAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS at the Evelyn Field Library
- Encyclopedia of Legal Information Sources
REF KF1.E53 1992 - American Jurisprudence
REF KF154.A42 1962+ - Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System (v. 1-3)
REF KF154.E53 1987 - The Oxford Companion to American Law
REF KF154.O96 2002 - West's Encyclopedia of American Law (v. 1-12)
REF KF154.W47 2005 - Historic U.S. Court Cases: an encyclopedia
REF KF352.Z9 H57 2001 - Historic U.S. Court Cases, 1690-1990: an encyclopedia
REF KF385.A4 J64 1992 - Magill's Legal Guide (v. 1-4).
REF KF385.M35 2000 - International Encyclopedia of Laws
REF KF564.C6 C93 1992 - American Law of Torts (v.1-10)
REF KF1250.S568 1983+ - Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law
REF KF4114.D46 1992 - Encyclopedia of the American Constitution (v.1-4)
REF KF4548.E53 1986 - The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court decisions
REF KF4548.O97 1999 - The Constitution and Its Amendments (v. 1-4)
REF KF4557.C66 1999 - Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
REF KF8210.C5 E53 1997 - The Oxford companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
REF KF8742.A35 O93 2005 - Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court
REF KF8742.A35 S54 2005 - Encyclopedia of New Jersey Causes of Action
REF KFN2333.A68 B36 2004
BASIC LEGAL TEXTS at the Evelyn Field Library
- How to Find the Law
REF KF240.C538 1989 - Find the Law in the Library
REF KF240.C63 1989 - Legal Research: how to find & understand the law
REF KF240.E35 2004 - Legal Information: how to find it, how to use it
REF KF240.O365 1999 - Basic Legal Research: tools and strategies
REF KF240.S585 2003 - A Student's Guide to Am Jur 2d, ALR and USCS
REF KF240.S87 1990 - West's Analysis of American Law
REF KF240.W454 2005 - The Essential Guide to the Best (and worst) Legal Sites on the Web
REF KF242.A1 A45 2004 - Guide to Finding Legal and Regulatory Information on the Internet
REF KF242.A1 C48 1998 - The Lawyer's Guide to Internet Research
REF KF242.A1 L353 2000 - The Lawyer's Guide to Fact Finding on the Internet
REF KF242.A1 L48 2006 - Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers
REF KF250.B68 2005 - Ethics and professional responsibility for legal assistants
REF KF320.L4 C37 1992 - The 21st Century Family Legal Guide
REF KF387.M54 1994 - Animals and the Law: a sourcebook
REF KF390.5.A5 C87 - The GigaLaw Guide to Internet Law Women's Legal Guide
REF KF390.5.C6 I84 2002 - Women's legal guide
REF KF478.W674 1996 - West's Business Law: text, cases, legal, ethical, etc.
REF KF888.C55 2001 - Basic Legal Forms for Business
REF KF1411.N86 1990 - New Media: intellectual property, entertainment, technology law
REF KF2750 .T35 1997 - Landmark Supreme Court Cases: a reference guide
REF KF4549.L58 1999 - Constitutional Rights Sourcebook
REF KF4550.Z9 R463 1999 - Congressional Quarterly's guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
REF KF8742 .W567 2004 - Civil Rights Decisions of the United States Supreme Court
REF KF4748.C57 1994 - Supreme Court decisions and women's rights
REF KF4758.A7 S87 2000 - The Legal Researcher's Desk Reference
REF Z675.L2 L3832 2001
NJ LEGAL RESEARCH TOOLS at the Evelyn Field Library
- Lawyer’s Diary and Manual including Bar Directory of NJ
REF KF192.N4 L35 2006 - Legal Research for Paralegals
REF KF240.J88 2000 - Civil Litigation Fundamentals
REF KF241.C58 M57 2002 - Environmental Law for Paralegals
REF KF277.E5 M33 2002 - Best Practices for Legal Assistants
REF KF320.L4 B478 2001 - Ethics for Paralegals
REF KF320.L4 S83 2002 - Elder Law for Paralegals
REF KF390.A4 M37 2002 - Family Law for Paralegals
REF KF505.A2 2002 - Corporate Law for Paralegals
REF KF6495.L4 K66 2001 - New Jersey Federal Practice Rules: with comments and annotations
REF KF8821.N4 L4 1997 - Will and Trust Form Manual
REF KFN1800.N37W5 1987 - The Legal Pages: a directory of goods/services…legal professionals
REF KFN1877 .L44 2006 - New Jersey Practice Civil Practice Forms
REF KFN1880.N4 1998 - You and the law in New Jersey: a resource guide
REF KFN1881.M55 1998 - Forms for New Jersey Divorce Practice
REF KFN1900.A65 S69 1994 - Family law: the basic guide to New Jersey divorce, with forms, etc
REF KFN1900.S69 2000 - New Jersey domestic partners: a legal guide
REF KFN1902.H95 2005 - Commercial Real Estate & Leasing for Paralegals
REF KFN1926.C65 2001 - Residential real estate law and practice in New Jersey
REF KFN1926 .H67 1998 - Probate Practice for Paralegals
REF KFN1944.B37 2000 - New Jersey Environmental Law Handbook
REF KFN2154.N49 2001 - The New Jersey state constitution : a reference guide
REF KFN2201.A6 W55 1990 - The Paralegal's Guide to Tax Returns/Financial Statements
REF KFN2270.A73 B37 2000 - New Jersey Rules of Court, Federal: including amendments
REF KFN2329.A198 2006 - New Jersey Rules of Court, State: including amendments
REF KFN2329.A199 2006 - New Jersey Pleading and Practice Forms
REF KFN2330.A65 N49 - Civil Trial Preparation
REF KFN2337.C5 2004 - New Jersey Rules of Evidence with Annotations
REF KFN2340.A39 N48 2005 - ABCs of Foreclosure Practice for Legal Support Staff
REF KFN5177.F6E43 2001 - Medical Records for Paralegals
REF KFN5619.5 .R43 L461998
NJ LEGAL RESEARCH available on the Internet
- New Jersey State Law
http://www.washlaw.edu/uslaw/states/NewJersey/ - New Jersey State Court Forms
http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/forms.htm
PARALEGAL/ LEGAL ASSISTANT MATERIALS at the Evelyn Field Library
- Sample Pages: organization/ research techniques in West's Key number Digests, National reporter system, U.S.C.A., and other West statutes, etc.
REF KF283.S3 1986 - The Paralegal's Desk Reference
REF KF320.L4 A33 1993 - Paralegal Management Handbook
REF KF320.L4 B76 1993 - Ethics and professional responsibility for legal assistants
REF KF320.L4 C37 1992 - The Paralegal Professional: essentials
REF KF320.L4 C445 2004 - Paralegal Practice and Procedure: practical guide…legal assistant
REF KF320.L4 L36 1994 - Manual for Legal Assistants
REF KF320.L4 N34 1992 - The Paralegal Resource Manual
REF KF320.L4 N465 1989 - Ethics for the Legal Assistant
REF KF320 L4 O75 1992 - Essentials of Paralegalism
REF KF320.L4 S72 1993 - Paralegal Ethics and Regulation
REF KF320.L4 S745 1993 - Paralegal Discovery: procedures and formsForms
REF KF8900.M39 1994
LEGAL CITATION FORMAT in print at the Evelyn Field Library
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
REF KF245.B58 2000 - The Elements of Legal Style
REF KF250.G37 2002 - The Elements of Legal Writing
[electronic book]
LEGAL CITATION FORMAT available on the Internet
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (LII 2006 ed.)
http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/ - Citation of Legal and Non-Legal Electronic Database Information
http://www.michbar.org/publications/citation.cfm - The American Association of Law Libraries Universal Citation Guide v2.1
http://www.aallnet.org/committee/citation/ucg/ - Legal Citations
http://www.lib.msu.edu/harris23/law/citation.htm - How to Read a Legal Citation
http://www.law.csuohio.edu/lawlibrary/lawpubs/citation.html - Basic Legal Citation Starting Points
http://www.asl.edu/library/pubs/lrg_alwcit.pdf - Common Legal Citation Abbreviations
http://www.lehigh.edu/~inref/guides/leglcite.html - New Jersey Manual on Style for Judicial Opinions
http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/appdiv/manualonstyle.pdf
ONLINE LEGAL DATABASES at the Evelyn Field Library
- LexisNexis Academic (Databases Page)
- LexisNexis Paralegal (Databases Page)
USEFUL LEGAL INTERNET RESOURCES
- Internet Law Library
http://www.lawguru.com/ilawlib/ - Federal and State Court Rules, Forms and Dockets
http://www.llrx.com/courtrules/ - Findlaw
http://lawcrawler.findlaw.com/index.html - Findlaw Legal Forms
http://forms.lp.findlaw.com/ - Villanova Legal Express
http://vls.law.villanova.edu/library/express/ - LII Eye on the Courts
http://www.law.cornell.edu/focus/liieye.htm - The Virtual Chase: Legal Research on the Internet
http://www.virtualchase.com/ - Legal Engine
http://legalengine.com/ - LexisOne (free but requires registration)
http://www.lexisone.com/
Government Sites
- Federal Rules of Practice, Procedure, and Evidence
http://www.uscourts.gov/rules/ - Bills in the News
http://thomas.loc.gov/home/textonly.html - Law Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/index.html
New Jersey Sites
- New Jersey Law Network
http://www.njlawnet.com/index.html - New Jersey Law Librarians Association
http://www.njlla.org/ - State and Local Government on the Net
http://www.statelocalgov.net/index.cfm
RVCC Paralegal Site
- TOPS – Online Paralegal Source
http://www.raritanval.edu/departments/busadmin/full-tme/defilippis/tops/index.html
Legal Journals /Magazines/News
- Law.com
http://www.law.com/ - Findlaw Legal News
http://news.findlaw.com/ - Lawyer’s Weekly
http://www.lawyersweekly.com/ - Legal Intelligencer
http://www.law.com/jsp/pa/index.jsp - University Law Review Project
http://www.lawreview.org/ - New Jersey Law Journal
http://www.law.com/jsp/nj/index.jsp
Professional Organizations
- America Bar Association Law link
http://www.abanet.org/tech/ltrc/lawlink/home.html - New Jersey Law Librarians Association
http://www.njlla.org/
Last Updated - September, 2006