Reference
When looking for background information on a topic, the Reference Collection is often a good place to begin. The Reference books remain in the library and are found on the main level. Listed below are some reference books and their call numbers that may help you to find information on Italy, its government, economy, and culture.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
REF G63 .W67 2001 v.5 - Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook
REF G122 .C67 2002 v.1 - Europa World Year Book 2001
REF JN1 .E85 2001 v.1 - Culturgrams
REF GT1 .C85 2000 - Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World
REF GT3925 .T46 1994 - New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
REF ML100 N48 1980 - New Grove Dictionary of Opera
REF ML102.O6 N5 1992 - Dictionary of Art
REF N31 .D5 1996 - European Writers
REF PN501 .E9 - Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism*
REF PN 761 .N5 - Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism*
REF PN 771 .G27 - Contemporary Literature Criticism*
REF PN771 .C59 - Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
REF E184 A1 H35 - Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
REF E184 .A1 G14 1995 v.2 - Webster's New World Italian Dictionary
REF PC1640 .L58 1992
* Check the Nationality Index in the last volume of each set to determine which volumes in that set include Italian authors
Online Catalog
For additional information you may consult the online catalog. It will lead you to books in the RVCC collection and in other libraries in Somerset County. To locate books in Hunterdon County, consult their catalog, available on our Catalogs Page.
If you are looking for a book with a specific title, do an Exact Title search.
If you are looking for a book by a specific author, do an Author search using the format last name, first name.
If you are looking for a book on a subject do an Exact Subect search using the terms you find in the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). A few of the many possible subject headings are listed below:
- Italy -- History
- Italy -- Politics and govenrment
- Italy -- Social life and customs
- Italians
- Painting, Italian
Periodicals and Periodical Indexes
The RVCC Library subscribes to Bell'Italia, a monthly magazine in Italian that can be found at the Periodicals Desk.
To find very current English language information on a subject use a periodical index to locate articles in periodicals-- magazines, journals, and newspapers. Online periodical indexes may be accessed both on and off campus. When using the online periodical indexes from off campus, you will be asked to provide your network login. For assistance call the Reference Desk at 908-526-1200 X8350 or use the Ask a Librarian service.
Among the online periodical indexes that may be helpful are:
- Proquest Research Library -- This is a broad based multidisciplinary periodical index covering a wide variety of subject areas and containing a significant number of full-text articles.
- Academic Search Premier -- is another multidisciplinary periodical index including numerous full-text articles.
- WilsonOmnifile -- is another multidisciplinary database. However, it is possible to search its components separately if searching for information in the humanities, social sciences, business or education. Limited full-text articles.
- Historical Abstracts -- covers the history of the word (excluding U.S. and Canada). Includes the key historical journals from almost every country. This is a citation only database; does not contain full-text of any articles.
- JSTOR -- is a retrospective full-text archive of older scholarly journals in history, literature, languages, philosophy, political science, sociology, and the sciences. Does not contain current journal articles.
The above are available online via our database page.
Internet Resources
- English-Italian and Italian English Dictionary
http://www.freedict.com/onldict/ita.html - Italian Studies Program Resources at UC-Berkeley
http://ies.berkeley.edu/isp/links.html - Italian Resources
http://polyglot.lss.wisc.edu/lss/lang/italian.html - Yahoo!Italia
http://www.yahoo.it/ - World Factbook 2003
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
For further information about this guide, please contact Julie Maginn
Last Updated - February, 2004
