Reference
Although materials in the Reference Collection do no circulate, they are a good place to begin research because they often give you a brief overview of a topic. Within the span of a brief introductory article they enable you to familiarize yourself with the topic and with the terminology, chronology, and names associated with the topic. Such articles are often written by subject experts and may end with a recommended bibliograpy. Reference materials thereby familiarize you with your topic.
The Hirsch Holocaust Collection is located in the Institute for Holocaust and Genocide Studies Resource Center in the Evelyn S. Field Library. It contains a small but growing collection of reference materials. All items found in the Hirsch Collection will have Hirsch at the start of the call number as seen below. Titles which are in the regular RVCC library collection will not start with the Hirsch designation.
- Encyclopedia of Genocide
Hirsch REF HV6322.7 .E53 1999 - Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Hirsch REF D804.3 .E53 1990b - Historical Atlas of the Holocuast
Hirsch REF G1797.21 .E29 H5 1996 - Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature
Hirsch REF PN56 .H55 R43 2000
Online Catalog
In order to find additional information in books you will need to use the library catalog. From the Evelyn S. Field Library Web Page you should select the RVCC Online Catalog.
If you are looking for a book with a specific title, do an Exact Title search.
If you are looking for a book by a specific author, do an Author, composer, editor search.
If you are looking for a book on a particular subject, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes and do an Exact Subject Heading search.
Some typical Library of Congress Headings and Subheadings include:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)--History
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)--Personal narratives
Holocaust survivors
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in art
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in literature
Gypsies--Nazi persecution
Jehovah's Witnesses--Nazi persecution
Jewish children in the Holocaust
Jewish women in the Holocaust
National Socialism
Righteous Gentiles in the Holocaust
Armenian massacres--1915-1923
Cambodia--History--1975
Ireland--History--Famine,1845-1852
Periodical Indexes
Periodical indexes are used to locate current articles in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. The best periodical indexes for locating articles on Holocaust and Genocide related topics are:
- ProQuest Research Library -- This is a general or multidisciplinary database that will provide magazine, journal and newspaper articles on a wide variety of topics.
- Academic Search Premier -- Another multidisciplinary database.
- JSTOR -- is a searchable archive of important scholarly journal literature. Does not include the most recent years of archived journals.
Access to these databases is available via our Databases Page. Use of these databases is restricted to RVCC students, faculty and staff. If you are using these databases from a location off campus, you will be asked to identify yourself by supplying your userid and password that you normally use to access computers on campus.
Internet Resources
- Cybrary of the Holocaust
http://www.remember.org - Simon Wiesenthal Center
http://www.wiesenthal.com/ - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
http://www.ushmm.org/ - Roma in the Holocaust--O Porrajamos
http://www.geocities.com/Paris/5121/holcaust.htm - Holocaust and Genocide Studies
http://www.webster.edu/~woolflm/holocaust.html - Internet Resources on Genocide and Mass Killings
http://www.ess.uwe.ac.uk/genocide.htm - Prevent Genocide International
http://www.preventgenocide.org - Armenian National Institute
http://www.armenian-genocide.org/ - Cambodian Genocide Program
http://www.yale.edu/cgp/ - CyberCambodia
http://www.cybercambodia.com/dachs/ - The Great Irish Famine Curriculum
http://www.nde.state.ne.us/SS/irish_famine.html - Rape of Nanking
http://www.historyplace.com/worldhistory/genocide/nanking.htm - Nanking Massacre
http://www.unitedhumanrights.org/Genocide/nanking_massacre.htm - Hate Crime Report
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/hatecm.htm - Sudan: Darfur Overview (USHMM)
http://www.ushmm.org/conscience/alert/darfur/ - Darfur: A Genocide We Can Stop
http://darfurgenocide.org - Anti-Defamation League
http://www.adl.org/ - Stop Hate
http://www.adl.org/hate-patrol/1.asp
For further information about this guide, please contact Bob Egan
Last Updated - October, 2006

