Reference
The reference collection has a variety of books which provide a good place to begin your research. Reference books often give you background information on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of a representative sampling of foreign language books in the RVCC reference collection.
French
- 201 French Verbs Fully Conjugated in all the Tenses
REF PC2271.K4 - Cassell's French Dictionary: French-English, English-French
REF PC2640.C3 1997 - Dictionary of French and American Slang
REF PC3741.L58 - Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise
REF PC2625.R553 1983 - Firefly French/English Visual Dictionary
REF AG250.C66373 - French-English Dictionary for Chemists
REF GD5.P25 1954 - Larousse Trois Volumes en Couleurs...
REF AG25.L26 (3 vols.) - Merriam-Websters French-English Dictionary
REF PC2640.M48 2000 - Webster's New World French Dictionary
REF PC2640.C688
German
- Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary
REF PF3640.C68 1990 - German-American Names
REF CS2487.J66 1990 - German-English Dictionary for Chemists
REF QD5.P3 1950 - Langenscheidt's New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages
REF PF3640.L257 - Pocket Oxford Duden German Dictionary
REF PF3640.P6 2000
Italian
- Collins Mondadori Nuovo Dizionario Inglese: Inglese-Italiano - Italiano-Inglese
REF PC1640.C624 1995 - DII Dizionario : Inglese-Italiano, Italiano-Inglese
REF PC1640.D28 2001 - Dizionario Dei Sinonimi e Dei Contrari
REF PC1591.C49d 1995 - Dizionario Visuale : Italiano/Inglese
REF PC1640.Z36 1993 - Italian Idioms
REF PC1460.A17 1996 - I Verbi Italiani : Regolari e Irregolari
REF PC1271.C47 1983 - Oxford Italian Desk Dictionary: Italian-English, English-Italian
REF PC1640.O93 1997
Spanish
- 501 Spanish Verbs
REF PC4271.K38 2003 - American Heritage Spanish Dictionary : Spanish/English, Ingles/Español
REF PC4640.A47 2001 - Appleton's new Cuyas English-Spanish and Spanish-English dictionary
REF PC4640.C8 1972 - Business Spanish Dictionary : Spanish-English, English-Spanish ; Español-Ingles, Ingles-Espanol
REF HF1002.B873 1998 - Enciclopedia del Idioma; Diccionario Historico y Moderno de la Lengua Español (siglos XII al XX) Etimologico, Tecnologico, Regional e Hispanoamericano (3 volumes)
REF PC4667.A4 - Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary
REF AG250.C66378 2004 - Harrap's Spanish Business Management Terms
REF HD30.15.A39 1994 - Spanish-English, English-Spanish Medical Dictionary = Diccionario Médico Español-Inglés, Inglés-Español
REF R121.M488 2005 - Webster's New World Spanish Dictionary. English-Spanish/Spanish-English
REF PC4640.C53 1992 - Wiley dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction : English-Spanish, Spanish-English
REF TA9.K46 1996
Finding Books
The Online Catalog is used to find books located at RVCC and other libraries in Somerset County. For books located in Hunterdon County libraries consult the reference librarian. The following are examples of useful subject headings:
| French | German |
|
|
| Italian | Spanish |
|
|
Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library subscribes to almost three hundred journals and magazines. In addition, we have access to thousands of additional periodicals through our full-text periodical data bases. Search for periodical articles using any of the following databases. They all can be found on the Library Database Page.
- Academic Search Premieris a large general/multidisciplinary index designed for academic institutions, covering social science, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language, linguistics, art, literature, medical science, and ethnic issues. Contains many articles in full-text.
- ProQuest Research Library is an excellent general-purpose periodical database. Indexes and summarizes articles from over 1,800 periodicals and newspapers. Many articles are available in full text.
- WilsonWeb OmniFile contains many scholarly journal articles, some of which are in full text. Especially good for the medical, chemical, genetic, social and psychological aspects of AIDS.
Journals at RVCC
The following list includes journals specifically related to music that are available in one of the databases listed above. Consult the Periodical Locator for a complete list and for availability.
- Stern
- Hola
Internet Resources
French
- ClicNet
http://www.swarthmore.edu/Humanities/clicnet
A Web page entirely in French and linking to online texts, dictionaries, news, art, and information about French life and social issues.
Source: Swarthmore University - Dictionary
http://www.freedict.com/onldict/fre.html
English-French and French-English Dictionary.
Source:Freedict.com