Choosing a Topic
The book Environmental Viewpoints: Selected Essays and excerpts on Issues in Environmental Protection (REF TD169.E656) contains magazine articles that might guide you in your selection of a topic.
Reference
The reference collection contains numerous books in the environmental sciences. Most of the books are found in the following classes of the Library of Congress Classification:
- GE - General works in environmental sciences, for example: GE10.M38
- HC - Environmental policy, for example: HC110.A4M55
- TD - Environmental technology, for example: TD180.U57
Encyclopedias:
- AccessScience
(online) - Britannica Online
(online) - Business and the Environment: A Resource Guide
REF HD69.P6P46 1992 - The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
REF GE10.M66 2000 - The Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
REF TD9.A84 2001 - The Green Encyclopedia
REF GE10.F73 1992 - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics
REF HB61.E55 1994 - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
REF GE10.M38 1993 - The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment
REF TJ163.235.W55 1997 vol.1-2
Dictionaries:
- The Environment: A to Z
REF GE10.H67 2001 - Dictionary of Environmental Economics
REF HC79.E5 D53 2001 - A Dictionary of Economics
REF HB61.B554 1997
Statistical Information:
- Agricultural Statistics
REF HD1751.A43 - Gale Book of Averages
REF HA155.G34 1994 - Household Vehicles Energy Consumption 1991
REF TL151.6.H68 1993 - State of the World
REF HC59.S73 2001
Special Topics:
- American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present, 2 vols.
REF GE55.B43 2000 - 1997 Air Quality Report (NJ)
REF TD883.5.N5A56 1998 - The Almanac of Renewable Energy
REF TJ808.3.G65 1993 - Business and the Environment
REF HD69.P6P46 1992 - Dictionary of Environmental Law
REF K3584.6.G55 2000 - Environment and the Law: A Dictionary
REF KF3775.A68P38 1995 - Environmental Hazards: Toxic Waste and Hazardous Material
REF TD1030.M56 1991 - Handbook of Solid Waste
REF TD791.K74 1994 - Oceans
REF GC11.2.D39 1999 - Recycling in America
REF TD794.5.S77 1997 - World Energy Outlook
REF HD9502.A1W67 1996
Online Catalog
Fore more in-depth information, consult the catalog, which provides access to books located here at RVCC and other libraries in Somerset County. For books in Hunterdon County, consult the catalogs page.
Useful subject headings:
- Environmental policy
- Environmental policy - Economic aspects
- Environmental policy - United States
- Energy policy
- Recycling
- Radon
- Animal industry -- Environmental aspects
Periodical Indexes
The Evelyn S. Field Library subscribes to over four hundred journals and magazines. In addition, we have access to thousands to additional periodicals through our full-text periodical data bases. Search for periodical articles about ecology or environmental science using any of the following databases. They all can be found on the Library Research Database Page.
- Academic Search Premiere
- Applied Science and Technology Index
- Biological and Agricultural Index
- General Science Database
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
- Proquest Research Library
- Public Affairs Information Service (Worldcat)
- Science Direct
Professional Organizations
- Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
http://www.ecu.edu/econ/aere/ - Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Study Group
http://socserv2.socsci.mcmaster.ca/~cree/ - European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
http://www.feem.it/eaere/ - Institute for a Sustainable Future
http://www.isfusa.org/ - International Society for Ecological Economics
http://isee.aibs.org/
Online Journals
- Environment and Development Economics
http://www.cup.cam.ac.uk/journals/jnlscat/ede/ede.html - Environmental and Resource Economics
http://www.wkap.nl/kapis/CGI-BIN/WORLD/journalhome.htm?0924-6460 - ERN Environmental Economics Abstracts
http://www.ssrn.com/update/ern/ernissues/ENVIROAPSVol3No14.html
Internet Resources
- Environmental Guide to the Internet
REF HC79.E5S293 1995 - National Energy Information Center
http://www.eia.doe.gov/ - U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.doc.gov/ - U.S. Department of Energy
http://www.doe.gov/ - Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN)
http://www.eren.doe.gov/ - Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/ - Environment and Nature
http://www.yahoo.com/text/Society_and_Culture/Environment_and_Nature/
Source: Yahoo - Environmental Management Science Program (ESMP)
http://esn.osti.gov/ESNpublic/esn.shtml - Global Warming (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/globalwarming/ - Population Topics
http://www.census.gov/population/www/
Source: (US Census Bureau) - US and international population statistics - Endangered Species Home Page
http://www.fws.gov/~r9endspp/endspp.html
Source: (US Fish & Wildlife Service) - Energy Consumption
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/consumption/index.html
Source: Energy Information Administration, US Department of Energy) - H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment
http://www.heinzctr.org/ - Sustainable Development/Economics
http://www.colby.edu/personal/thtieten/sustain.html - Duke University - Center for Environmental and Resource Economics
http://www.econ.duke.edu/~kerrys/ - Resources for Economists on the Internet - Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics
http://rfe.wustl.edu/MailingLists/Q/index.html
Vertical File
Use the vertical file to find government documents, New Jersey information, pamphlets, newsletters, and reports.
Useful headings:
- Recycling
- New Jersey - Air quality
- Indoor air pollution
- Plastics
- Environmental policy
- Hazardous Waste Sites -- New Jersey.
- Wetlands - Economic aspects
- Nature Conservation - Economic aspects
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - November, 2001