Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Reference Collection

The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Engineering & Technology. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Engineering & Technology books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.

Books

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technologyREF Q121.M3 1997
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopediaREF Q121.V269 2002
Dictionary of scientific literacyREF Q123.B68 1991
Chambers dictionary of science and technologyREF Q123.C42 1999
McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical termsREF Q123.M15 2003
Milestones in computer science and information technologyREF QA76.R434 2003
Encyclopedia of computers and computer historyREF QA76.15.E53 2001
Conversion factorsREF QC94.C67 1991
CRC handbook of chemistry and physicsREF QD65.C88 1990
Dictionary of architecture & constructionREF NA31.H32 1993
Encyclopedia of 20th-century technologyREF T9 .E462 2005
How to write & publish a scientific paperREF T11 .D33 1998
Oxford illustrated encyclopedia of invention & technologyREF T9 .O94 1992
The Wiley dictionary of civil engineering and constructionREF TA9.K46 1996
Dictionary of civil engineeringREF TA9.K88 2004
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of engineeringREF TA9.M36 1993
Encyclopedia of engineering signs and symbolsREF TA11.E5 1965
Great engineers and pioneers in technologyREF TA139 .G7 1981
Magill's survey of science. Applied science seriesREF TA145 .M298
The Civil engineering handbookREF TA151.C57 1995
The engineering handbookREF TA151.E424 1996
The Wiley engineer's desk referenceREF TA151.H424 1998
Handbook of applied mathematics for engineers/scientistsREF TA332 .K87 1991
ASM handbook of engineering mathematicsREF TA332.A79 1983
Machinery's handbookREF TJ151.M3 1992
Standard handbook for electrical engineersREF TK151.S8 1993
Desktop encyclopedia of telecommunicationsREF TK5102 .M85 2000
Dictionary of acronyms and technical abbreviationsREF TK5102 .V55 2001
Encyclopedia of networking, electronic editionREF TK5105.5.S428 1998
The electronics handbookREF TK7867.E4244 1996
Troubleshooting, maintaining & repairing PCsREF TK7887 .B5528 2001
The Beaulieu encyclopedia of the automobileREF TL9.B43 2000
Used car & truckREF TL162.U83 1999
The CAD/CAM handbookREF TS155.6.M316 1996
Encyclopedia of military technology and innovationREF U24.B85 2004
Encyclopedia of information science and technologyREF Z1006.E566 2005
Construction[electronic book] 2001
Civil engineering formulas[electronic book] c2002

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Engineering & Technology:

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Engineering & Technology using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help


For further information about this guide, please contact Nanette Peterson
Last Updated - January, 2007