Reference
- Dictionary of Economics. 1997 Oxford University Press
REF HB 61 .B554 1997 - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics, Second Edition. 1994 McGraw-Hill
REF HB 61 .E55 1994 - Survey of Social Science, Economics Series. 1991. Salem Press
REF HB 61 .S94 1991 - Dictionary of Econometrics. 1994. Edward Elgar
REF HB 139 .D358 1994 - The Dow Jones-Irwin Guide to Using the Wall Street Journal. 1990. Dow Jones-Irwin
REF HB 3743 .L44 1990 - Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies. 2002. Worldmark
REF HC 15 .W67 2002 - Dictionary of Environmental Economics. 2001. Earthscan
REF HC 79.E5 D53 2001 - Dictionary of United States Economic History. 1992. Greenwood
REF HC 102 .O57 1992 - Guide to Economic Indicators. 1994. M.E. Sharpe
REF HC 103.F9 1994 - Economic Report of the President. 2003. Government Printing Office
REF HC 106.5 .A217 2003 - Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators. 2000. Greenwood Press
REF HC 106.8 .O47 2000
Online Catalog
The most efficient way to search the RVCC Library Catalog for material on economics is to begin with the "subject" search. A search on Economics as a subject highlights many different subject headings that contain the word "economic." An examination of a range of subject headings will give you, perhaps, fresh ideas for additional keywords to search
Research Databases
One of the requirements for several classes at RVCC is consistent reading of the Wall Street Journal. The WSJ is available in full text from ABI Inform. Do a publications search for Wall Street Journal. This will bring up the issues that can be read in full text. It is then possible to tailor a search, exclusively searching the topic of interest within that publication.
Most of the databases listed below are available via our Database Page
- ABI Inform
- Academic Search Premiere
- Science Direct -- specializing in journals from Elsevier Publishing.
- Wilson Omnifile -- from the publishers of the Business Index presents some unique indexing, and therefore, a different set of articles. Wilson does not have as much full text, but often the articles can be obtained from a different database.
- JSTOR -- is a retrospective database, and it does have a historial collection of economic journals. If you are doing historical economic research, JSTOR is an important tool.
Each one of these databases has a lot of material on economics in it. The key to finding what you are looking for is brainstorming a detailed enough search that you can find what you need. Don't hesitate to ask for help.
Not Full Text?!
Print out any abstract that is interesting. The key to discovering which journals we have full text access to is the Periodical Locator. This is a list of all the journals we have access to. It can be searched by journal title. If you find this process confusing, don't hesitate to speak to a librarian.
The World Wide Web
The web has a very important role in the study of economics. It has become one of the best possible ways to get truly current statistics. The Federal Government, and other agencies, have embraced the web as a tool for the public dissemination of information. What follows is small list of sites with important information.
- American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/java_prod/dads.ui.homePage.HomePage - AmeriStat
http://www.ameristat.org/ - Economic Indicators
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/browse.html - Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov/ - Census Economic Briefing Rooms
http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm - Economic Statistics Briefing Room
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html - Economics for Decision Makers
http://www.conference-board.org/economics/index.cfm - A Profile of the Working Poor, 2000
http://www.bls.gov/cps/cpswp2000.htm
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - February, 2004
