Reference Books
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information about education. These materials provide a general overview of the field, biographical information, introductory information, statistics, trends, new developments, and definitions of key terms. Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and statistical reports also provide lists of additional sources and terms to use when searching for information. The Librarian at the Reference Desk can always help in locating an appropriate source. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information on Early Childhood Education.
- Almanac of American Education. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 2006.
REF LA217.2.A45 2006 - Biographical Dictionary of Modern American Educators. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
REF LA2311 .O55 1997 - Complete Learning Disabilities Handbook. Paramus, NJ: Center for Applied Research in Education, 2001.
REF LC4704.H378 2001 - Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education. 2nd ed. NY: Wiley & Sons, 2002
REF LC4007.E53 2002 - A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1986.
REF LB15.B29 1986 - Directory for Exceptional children: A Comprehensive Listing of Special-Needs Schools, Programs, and Facilities. Boston: Porter Sargent, 2004.
REF LC4007.D5 2005 - Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx, 1997.
REF LC1099 .D53 1997 - Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation. Denver, CO: Love Publishing, 1997
REF LC3957.V47 1997 - The Directory for Exceptional Children. Boston, MA: Porter Sargent, 2002.
REF LC4007.D5 2002 - Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia. NY: RoutledgeFalmer, 2002.
REF LC189.95.E38 2002 - Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004.
REF LB1028.3.E17 2004 - Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators 2004. Paris, France: OECD, 2004
LB2846.E247 2002 - Education Statistics of the United States. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 2003.
REF LB2846.E37 2003 - Educational Adequacy and the Courts. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
REF KF4155.W35 2005 - Elementary Education: a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
REF LB1555.H297 2005 - Encyclopedia of American Education. 2nd. ed. 3 vols. NY: Facts On File.
REF LB17.U54 2001 - Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed., 8 vols. NY: Thompson-Gale, 2003.
REF LB15.E47 2003 - Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 4 vols. NY: Macmillan, 1992.
REF LB15.E48 1992 - Encyclopedia of human intelligence. NY: MacMillan, 1994.
REF BF431.E59 1994 - Encyclopedia of learning and memory. NY: MacMillan, 1992.
REF BF318.E53 1992 - Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities. NY: Facts on File, 2002.
REF LC4704.5.T86 2002 - Encyclopedia of psychology, 4 vols. NY: Wiley & Sons, 1994.
REF BF31.E52 1994 - Greenwood Dictionary of Education. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
REF LB15.G68 2003 - Handbook of Research in Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. NY: Guilford Press, 2004.
REF LC4801.H35 2004 - Learning Disabilities Sourcebook. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1998.
REF LC4705 .L434 1998 - Learning for Tomorrow's World: First Results from PISA, 2003. Paris, France: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2004
REF LB1060.L39 2004 - Learning Theories. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
REFLB15.L4695 2002 - Measuring Up: The State-by-State Report Card for Higher Education. San Jose, CA: National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education, 2002.
REF LB2846.M5 2002 - Pioneers of Early Childhood Education. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1998.
REF LB1139.23 .P45 1998 - Special Education Almanac. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2006.
REF LC3981.S577 2006 - Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Santa barbara, CA: ABC CLIO, 2001.
REF LB2822.82.S82 2001

The RVCC Library Catalog
Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases
Most of the databases below are available via our Database Page
- ERIC (Direct)
http://www.eric.ed.gov - ERIC (Ebsco) -- is the world's largest source of education information. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it has nearly 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on educational research and practice.
- The Wilson Omnifile -- is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This large index covers all of the sources you would find in the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the Business Periodical Index, the Humanities Index, the General Science Index, the Education Index, and the Social Science Index. It also provides select indexing of the Library & Information Science Index, Applied Science and Technology Index, the Art Index, the Agricultural & Biological Index, and the Index to Legal Periodicals. To search for information from just one of these databases, use the Subject box to choose the Index you want to limit your search to.
- ProQuest Research Library -- can also be used to find articles about topics in psychology. Periodical Abstracts II is the definitive database of U.S. magazines and journals. With its unique mix of more than 2,050 academic publications, business journals, and popular magazines, Periodical Abstracts II meets the information needs of academic, corporate, government, and public research needs. Journals selected for inclusion in the database match those listed in such sources as Katz's Magazine for Libraries and Magazines for School Libraries. Journal coverage also is designed to correspond to the most popular college majors. It covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.
- Academic Search Premier -- is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like PA Research II, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines. Academic Search Premier offers information from many sources found in no other database and full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications. Indexing going back to 1984 and images are also provided for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- JSTOR -- is a collection of full-text journal information in the subjects of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population, Science, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR chooses key journals in each discipline and provides full-text coverage going all the way back to the very first issue published by each journal. Recent information is not available in the JSTOR database.
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - November, 2006

