Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Reference Collection

The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Demographics. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Demographics books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.

International

Demographic Yearbook. Annuaire DemographiqueREF HA17.D45 2001
Europa World Year Book (2 volumes)REF JN1.E85 2001
Illustrated Book of World RankingsREF HA155.K87 2001
OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social StatisticsREF HC10.O34 2005
Population StatisticsREF HA1107.5.P678 2004
World Development Report, 2005; World Development IndicatorsREF HC59.7.W659 2005
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies (4 volumes)REF HC15.W67 2002
Worldmark Yearbook (3 volumes)REF G1.W655 2001

United States

American Attitudes: What Americans Think About the Issues that Shape Their LivesREF HN90.P8 A527 2005
Business Statistics of the United StatesREF HC101.A13122 2005
Datapedia of the United States: American History in NumbersREF HA202.K87 2004
Demographics: a guide to methods and data sources for media, business, and governmentREF HB849.4.D447 2006
Demographics of the U.S.REF HB849.49.R875 2000
Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusREF HA.U55 E52 2000
MSA ProfileREF HC106.8.M47 2000
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing GuideREF G1019.R22 2002 (most current on Atlas Stand)
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesREF HA202.U57 (most current at the Reference Desk)
A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and TrendsREF HA214.S73 2002
Vital Statistics of the United States. Births, Life Expectancy, Deaths and Selected Health DataREF HA203.V587 2004
The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the Census ResultsREF HA201.122.W48 2003
World Almanac and Book of FactsREF AY67.N5W7

Regional

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data BookREF HA203.C68
County Business Patterns: New JerseyREF HC107.N5 U57 2002
County Business Patterns: United StatesREF HC101.A184 2002
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. StateREF HA203.S734 2002
State Rankings 2001: A Statistical View of the Fifty United StatesREF HA203.U17 2001

By Age

American Generations: Who They Are, How They Live, What They ThinkREF HC110.C6M545 1998
Atlas of the Baby Boom GenerationREF E741.A88 2000
The Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964REF HF5415.33.U6 R877 2004
The Millennials: Americans Under Age 25REF HQ796.M55 2001

Social, Ethnic, and Cultural Demographics

American Immigrant Cultures (2 volumes)REF E184.A1A63448 1997
The Asian American AlmanacREF E184.O6 A824 1995
Atlas of American MigrationREF G1201. E27F5 1998
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2 volumes)REF E184.A1 G14 1995
Hispanic-American AlmanacREF E184.S75 H557 1993
St. James Press Gay and Lesbian AlmanacREF HQ76.3.U5 S75 1998
Statistical Record of Black AmericaREF E185.5.S7 1990

Income and Economic Data

American Cost of Living SurveyREF HD6983.A67 2002
American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has MoneyREF HC110.I5 A447 2005
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending PatternsREF HA214.A6
American Salaries and Wages SurveyREF HD4973.A67 2005

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Demographics:

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Demographics using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Internet Resources


Additional Help


For further information about this guide, please contact Julie Maginn
Last Updated - November, 2007