Reference
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information on Cultural Geograpy. These materials provide a general overview of several different topics and describe key terms and processes. Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and almanacs provide introductory information, lists of additional sources and terms to use when searching for information. The Librarian at the Reference Desk can always help in locating an appropriate source. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information on Cultural Geography.
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers. Cambridge
REF GN388 .C35 1999 - Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. Routledge
REF GN307 .E525 1998 - Encyclopedia of Taboos. ABC-CLIO
REF GN471.4 .H65 2000 - Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology. ABC-CLIO
REF GR498 .A53 2000 - American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Garland
REF GR101 .A54 1998 - Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO
REF GR35 .M43 2000 - Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO
REF GR35 .F63 1997 - African Ceremonies. 2 vols. Abrams.
REF GN645 .B4 1999 - Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Univ. of North Carolina Press.
- Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature. Sage
REF. G1046 .E1 P7 1989 - Countries of the World and their Leaders Yearbook 2000. 2 vols. Gale Group
REF G122 .C67 2000 - Cross-Cultural Psychology: Research and Applications. Cambridge University
REF GN502 .C76 1992 - The Dictionary of Human Geography, 3rd ed. Blackwell
REF GF4 .D52 1994 - National Geographic Index 1888-1988.
REF G1 .N274 1989 - Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia of Peoples and Cultures. Oxford
REF GN11 .O94 1992 - Oxford Illustrated Prehistory of Europe. Oxford
REF GN803 .O94 1994 - The Penguin Atlas of the Diasporas. Viking
REF GN370 .C43 1995 - Peoples of the Earth. Danbury
REF GN315 .P417 - Ethnic Groups Worldwide. Oryx
REF GN325 .L46 1998 - Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO
REF GN496 .L48 1994 - Marriage, Family, and Relationship: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO
REF GN480 .B76 1994 - The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Cambridge
REF GN281 .C345 1992 - Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory. Garland
REF GN 281 .E53 1988 - Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. Routledge
REF GN307 .E525 1998 - Peoples of the World: Latin Americans. Gale Research
REF F1408.3 .M84 1989 - Place Names of the World: Origins and Meanings. McFarland
REF G105 .R66 1997 - The Times Atlas of the World. New York Times Books
Atlas Table G1021 .N57 1999 - The Atlas of Global Change. Macmillan
Atlas Table GE149 .G4813 1998 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Science. Oryx
REF GE10 .M66 2000 - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 6 vols. Gale
REF G63 .W67 2001 - The Atlas of the Living World. Houghton Mifflin
REF. G1046. C1 A7 1989 - A Dictionary of Geography. Oxford
REF. G63 .M39 1997 - Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary. Webster
REF. G103.5 .W42 1997 - Standard Encyclopedia of the World's Rivers and Lakes. G.P. Putnam & Sons
REF. GB1203 .G73 1966 - Natural Disasters: from the Black Plague to the Eruption of Mr. Pinatubo. Facts on File
REF. GB5014 .D38 1992 - The Oxford Companion to the Earth. Oxford
REF QE5 .O94 2000 - The Last Rain Forests: A World Conservation Atlas. Oxford
REF. QH541.5 .R17 L38 1990 - Temperate Forests. Facts on File
REF QH541.5 .F6 .A46 1999 - The Oxford Dictionary of Natural History. Oxford
REF QH13 .O9 1985 - Medical Geography. Guilford
REF RA792 .M42 2000 - Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology. Greenwood
REF GN307 .W56 1991
RVCC Online Catalog
Once you have looked at some introductory information on your topic, you will want to find books that go into more detail about a particular topic. Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures on CD-ROM is available for use in the library.
The following databases are available via our Database Page.
The Wilson Omnifile is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This index is partially available in full-text, and it is considered one of the best examples of indexing available.
JSTOR is a collection of full-text journal information in the subjects of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population, Science, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR chooses key journals in each discipline and provides full-text coverage going all the way back to the very first issue published by each journal. Recent information is not available in the JSTOR database.
ProQuest's PA Research II can also be used to find articles about topics in psychology. Many of the articles in this database are in full-text. PA Research II provides access to over 1800 periodicals. This database is updated daily and information is very current.
Academic Search Premier is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like PA Research II, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - November, 2002
