Reference
The Reference Collection provides an excellent starting point for information on Cultural Anthropology. These materials provide a general overview of several different topics and describe key terms and processes. Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and almanacs provide introductory information, lists of additional sources and terms to use when searching for information. The Librarian at the Reference Desk can always help in locating an appropriate source. These are some of the titles that may be helpful when looking for information on Cultural Anthropology.
- Mendelian Inheritance of man, 3 vols. Johns Hopkins
Ref QH442.4 .M35 1998 - Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature. Sage
Ref. G1046 .E1 P7 1989 - Countries of the World and their Leaders Yearbook 2000. 2 vols. Gale Group
Ref G122 .C67 2000 - Cross-Cultural Psychology: Research and Applications. Cambridge University
Ref GN502 .C76 1992 - Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology. Greenwood
Ref GN307 .W56 1991 - The Dictionary of Human Geography, 3rd ed. Blackwell
Ref GF4 .D52 1994 - National Geographic Index 1888-1988.
Ref G1 .N274 1989 - Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia of Peoples and Cultures. Oxford
Ref GN11 .O94 1992 - Oxford Illustrated Prehistory of Europe. Oxford
Ref GN803 .O94 1994 - The Penguin Atlas of the Diasporas. Viking
Ref GN370 .C43 1995 - Peoples of the Earth. Danbury
Ref GN315 .P417 - Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary. Greenwood
Ref GN20 .W63 1988 - Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. 5 vols.
Ref G63 .W67 1984 - International Dictionary of Anthropologists. Garland
Ref GN20 .I52 1991 - Ethnic Groups Worldwide. Oryx
Ref GN325 .L46 1998 - Dictionary of Anthropology. Blackwell
Ref GN307 .D485 1997 - Ethnic Relations: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO
Ref GN496 .L48 1994 - Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO
Ref GN480 .B76 1994 - The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. Cambridge
Ref GN281 .C345 1992 - Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory. Garland
Ref GN 281 .E53 2000 - The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers. Cambridge
Ref GN388 .c35 1999 - Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. Routledge
Ref GN307 .E525 1998 - Encyclopedia of Taboos. ABC-CLIO
Ref GN471.4 .H65 2000 - Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology. ABC-CLIO
Ref GR498 .A53 2000 - American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Garland
Ref GR101 .A54 1998 - Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO
Ref GR35 .M43 2000 - Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. 2 vols. ABC-CLIO
Ref GR35 .F63 1997 - African Ceremonies. 2 vols. Abrams.
Ref GN645 .B4 1999 - Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Univ. of North Carolina Press.
Ref. F209.E53 1989 - Peoples of the World: Latin Americans. Gale Research
Ref F1408.3 .M84 1989
RVCC Library Catalog
Once you have looked at some introductory information on your topic, you will want to find books that go into more detail about a particular topic. Use the RVCC Library Catalog to locate books at this library and at libraries in the Somerset County Library System.
Research Databases
The databases listed below are all available through our Database Page
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures on CD-ROM. -- Available for use in the library.
- The Wilson Omnifile -- is published by H.W. Wilson and is available from the library's database page. This index is partially available in full-text, and it is considered one of the best examples of indexing available.
- Proquest Research Library -- can also be used to find articles. Many of the articles in this database are in full-text. This database is updated weekly and information is very current.
- Academic Search Premier -- is a database produced by Ebsco. This database, like PA Research II, is a general index covering many subjects and disciplines including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- JSTOR -- is an archive of fulltext, scholarly articles in the social sciences and humanities. Most materials at least two years old.
- CountryWatch -- provides current and historical information about all the countries of the world. Maps. Flags. Demographics. Even a handy section on cultural etiquette.
For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - April, 2005
