Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Reference Collection

The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Criminal Justice. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Criminal Justice books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Criminal Justice and Criminology: Concepts and Terms REF HV7411 .C74 2002
The Encyclopedia of American CrimeREF HV6789 .S54 2001
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (4 vols)REF HV6017 .E52 1983
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (4 vols)REF HV6017.E524 2002
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice SystemREF RA1057.55.P34 2004
Encyclopedia of Forensic ScienceREF HV8073 .B425 2004
Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-FightingREF HV6773.N48 2004
Encyclopedia of Juvenile JusticeREF HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of Police ScienceREF HV7901 .E53 1989
Encyclopedia of Serial KillersREF HV6245 .N49 2000
Encyclopedia of Women and CrimeREF HV6046 .E56 2000
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism (2 vols)REF HV6431 .E53 2003
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law (2 vols)REF HV7436 .G8783 2002
Historical Dictionary of TerrorismREF HV6431 .A537 1995
Mafia Encyclopedia, 2nd edREF HV6441 .S53 1999

Guides for Research

Crime and Crime Control: A Global ViewREF HV7431 .C686 2000
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find it, How to use ItREF HV7419.5 .C75 1998
The FBI: A Comprehensive Reference GuideREF HV8144 .F43 T48 1999
Global TerrorismREF HV6431.H43 2004
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsREF HV6787 .S68 2002 Also Online, See Internet Sources
Sourcebook on Violence Against WomenREF HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001

Handbooks

Handbook of Crisis and Emergency ManagementREF HV551.3 .H36 2001
Police Officer ExamREF HV8143 .P635 1999
Police Officer Exam New JerseyREF HV8145 .N5 .C66 1996
Psychology of Sexual VictimizationREF HV6556 .P78 1999

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Criminal Justice:

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Criminal Justice using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

The following print index can also be used to find article citations. Use the Periodical Locator described above to find these articles in one of our full-text databases.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help


For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - April, 2008