Reference
The reference collection contains books about basic concepts, computer operating systems, and general handbooks. Most of the books will be found under the following call numbers:
- Q334 - Artificial Intelligence
- QA76 - Computer Science
- TK5102 - Telecommunications
- TK5105 - Internet and Networking
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:
- 1001 Computer Words You Need to Know. Ed. by Jerry Pournelle. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004).
Ref QA76.5.A125 2004 - The Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary. Ed. by Alan Freedman. (New York: AMACOM, 2001).
Ref QA76.15. F733 2001 - Computer Sciences. Ed by Roger R. Flynn. (New York: Macmillan, 2002). 4 vols
Ref QA76.C572 2002 - Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms. Ed. by Douglas A. Downing, Michael A. Covington, Melody Mauldin Covington. (Hauppauge, NY: Barron's, 2000).
Ref QA76.15.D667 2000 - The Dictionary of Multimedia: Terms & Acronyms. Ed. by Brad Hansen. (Wilsonville, Or.: Franklin, Beedle & Associates, 2005).
Ref QA76.15.H318 2005 - Dictionary of the Internet. Ed. by Darrel Ince. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001).
Ref TK5105.875.I57I48 2001 - Encyclopedia of Computer Science. (London: Nature Pub. Group, 2000).
Ref QA76.15.E48 2000 - Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History Ed. by Raul Rojas. (Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.)
Ref QA76.15.E53 2001 - Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology. Ed. by Mehdi Khosrow-Pour. (Hershey, PA: Idea Group Reference, 2005). 5 vols.
Ref Z1006.E566 2005 - The Handbook of Information Security. Ed. by Hossein Bidgoli. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2006). 3 vols.
- The Internet Encyclopedia. Ed. by Hossein Bidgoli. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2004). 3 vols.
Ref TK5105.875.I57 I5466 2004
Guides for Computer Programs and Software:
Microsoft Office books have the call number HF5548.4.M525
Microsoft Word books have the call number Z52.5.M52
Finding Books
To find books on your topic, use our catalog, available on the library's homepage. Try searching by Subject, using the following terms:
C++ (Computer program language)
C# (Computer program language)
Computer networks
Computer science
Computer security
Computer viruses
Data warehousing
Data structures
Expert systems
HTML (Document markup language)
Microsoft Windows (Computer file)
Object-oriented programming
Oracle (Computer file)
UNIX
World Wide Web
XML (Document markup language)
Internet (Computer network)
Java (Computer Program language)
Microsoft Excel (Computer file}
Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of articles through our online databases. Search for articles about computer science using any of the following databases.
- ABI/Inform Global
Primarily a business database, ABI/Inform contains information about computer science, computers and more. - ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is a collection of both citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. - Proquest Research Library
Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including computer science, business, education, literature, political science, psychology, history, and more.
- Byte
http://www.byte.com - Computerworld
http://www.computerworld.com - Infoworld
http://www.infoworld.com - Dr. Dobbs Journal
http://www.ddj.com - JavaWorld
http://www.javaworld.com - Macworld
http://www.macworld.com - PC Magazine
http://www.pcmag.com - PC World
http://www.pcworld.com - Searcher: The Magazine for Database Professionals
http://www.infotoday.com/searcher/default.htm - THE Journal
http://www.thejournal.com (Technological Horizons in Education) - Wired
http://www.wired.com
Internet Resources
- Ethics in Computing
http://ethics.csc.ncsu.edu
Source: Dr. Edward Gehringer, North Carolina State University
Covers topics such as computer abuse, commerce, privacy, and intellectual property. - Free Online Dictionary of Computing
http://foldoc.doc.ic.ac.uk/foldoc/
Source: University of London, Imperial College Department of Computing
A guide to cyberbabble. - Help-Site Computer Manuals
http://help-site.com
Source: Nicholas Reynolds
Help-Site contains links to computer-related support documents and sites including FAQ lists, tutorials, manuals, and official or unofficial support sites. - Programmers Heaven
http://www.programmersheaven.com
Source:Synchron Data
Online reference for programmers. Information on Pascal, COBOL, C, C++, Java and others. Provides downloads and links to programming-related Web pages. - W3 Schools
http://www.w3schools.com
Source: W3Schools
At W3 Schools you will find all the Web-building tutorials you need, from basic HTML and XHTML to advanced XML, SQL, Database, Multimedia and WAP.
For further information about this guide, please contact Creating Librarian
Last Updated - February, 2006
